We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maine and Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maine Harvest

Maine Harvest
Ranked #15 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Maine and Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Harraseeket Inn is a perfect place to stay and especially to eat in the tavern. The luncheon buffet included lobster, and wonderful clam chowda( chowder) . Many of the places in Freeport and quick and overpriced. The Inn is charming, quiet and worth a few extra dollars.. The staff was very attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy-Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    33
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
168 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Broad Arrow Tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great service, good food, nice atmosphere. The Tavern is cosy and with low-lighting and our server was excellent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CathieS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“an awful disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stop in at the Harraseeket Inn every summer on our way up to Mt Desert Island, it had been an enjoyable family tradition. Usually the food is good, a bit over priced, but of a consistently good standard. However after our visit this summer, we are never going back - the food and the service were awful.
The clam chowder arrived at our table, cold and solid. We asked for this to be heated up, and the waitress took the bowls away, with her fingers in them! The chowder arrived back, cold - again. The main courses arrived and only 2 out of the 3 dishes were edible as the scallops were burnt. There was a small embarassed apologie from our waitress, but nothing was really done to try and rectify our evening. The combination of disgusting food and an inadequate response was really upsetting - particuarly as we had always looked forward to our visits there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,602 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,294 helpful votes
“Harraseeket Inn- expensive but nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This Inn is the class act for Freeport and thus can command some high prices for it's fare. knowing that our expectations were high as we planned our dinner in the main ding room. With a reservation we were seated at a nice table in front of the fireplace. the wait staff was prompt with the wine and we selected our dinners which were delivered in a reasonable time period for a 6:00 pm time slot. It doesn't get busy until after 7. It was not an issue because we enjoyed the atmosphere and not in any hurry to eat and run; we came there to dine. This is our 5th or 6th visit over the years and we find it consistently a great place to dine. In the afternoon they serve tea in the main waiting room off the registration area and it is quite cozy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beyond Believable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Never realized a hotel like this existed! Organic and homemade bread served with incredibly delicious and healthy foods. .. real eggs, real omelets (varied day by day) with waitresses who couldn't be sweeter or kinder. . ..We had to eat slowly to savor every bite of this buffet. Then there's the dinners at night. Maine is noted for their seafood, but this place cooks them to perfection! And then the rooms. . .cozy, and comfortable. The sheets wrap you in softness and makes drifting off to sleep a dream! There is none like it that we have found. There are adirondack chairs for lounging, reading, or resting in the gardens. A fabulous place to stay for more than one night. . . .tea time in the afternoon is serenaded by beautiful piano playing for relaxation. Can't beat this place. . .and won't ever go anywhere else in Maine!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mbegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maine Harvest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing