We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Inn!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nicholson Inn

Nicholson Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nicholson Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lynn, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

My daughter & son-in=law stayed here several times and reserved the whole B&B for the family for a getaway weekend. It was fabulous! Jane and Alden were very welcoming and the breakfasts are outstanding. Literally just steps from the outlets and LL Bean. Very easy walking distance (even for two seniors) to restaurants and stores. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francis1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moore Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

When you stay at Nicholson Inn in Freeport ME you get more than just a good nights rest. You are waited on so graciously by Jane and Alden. The breakfast was excellent, the home and bedroom were immaculate. I looked around and thought of my grandmother''s home and what a special place this is. Hope you will too will enjoy the delightful experice of Nicholson Inn. And it is an easy walk to LL Bean, outlet shops and dining.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardis Hall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

My husband and I decided last minute to take a trip to Freeport and called Nicholson Inn after searching for accomodations online. We made our reservation and headed out. Once we arrived a Nicholson Inn we were immediately greeted by Alden and the rest of our stay was one of the most pleasant experiences we have ever had. He made us feel right at home, shared his knowledge of the history of the inn and the surrounding area. We were meeting friends in Freeport and they met us at the Inn and Alden made them feel right at home as well, even though they were not staying there,.

The room we stayed in was so personable and clean and to learn that all of the photos that were in each room as well as throughout the Inn were Jane's family members added such a personal touch, and last but not least the meal in the morning was excellent, using a term from one of the other reviews "over the top" describes it well. We will, without a doubt, stay there again on our next trip to Freeport.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Nicholson Inn, a charming B&B just a short walk to the shops in Freeport, is a "home away from home." Jane and Alden are wonderful innkeepers who provide clean, comfortable rooms and scrumptious breakfasts. If you prefer a homey atmosphere, this is the place for you! Their hospitality is second to none!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford Springs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

My wife and I have been going there yearly for about 11 years now. We have gone with other couples , or just by ouselves. This year we brought our daughter. The experience has always been terrific. Jane and Alden are awesome hosts and the breakfasts are truly over the top. We have stayed in every room there and they all very comfortable and clean. We sometimes will park the car when we get there and never use it again over a 2 night stay because they are so close to everything. It is a short walk to all the shops and stores in Freeport and there are many places to eat within the same short distance. Don't forget to say hi to "Nick" their friendly lab, he is part of the great experience here. We always make our reservations for the next visit while we are there to make sure there is a room for us. I am sure you will be glad you stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley lancs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We only stayed 1 night whilst on our road trip of usa, but could not have wished for a nicer place. The room we stayed in was the canopy room and was very confortable. beautifully decorated and clean.
The inn is only a short walk to the many shops which I enjoyed and there is a great chinese restaurant nearby.
We had a wonderful time chatting with Jayne and Alden and got some helpful tips on where to go on our journey up to Bar Harbor.
In the morning Jane made us a scrumptious breakfast of poached pears, cinnamon toast with warm maple syrup and apple donuts from the local orchard, what more could you want, certainly had no room for lunch.
So glad we stayed and would have liked to stay longer. Thankyou both for your hospitality.

Room Tip: All three rooms looked lovely you cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rakehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Thx to Jane an Alden for your great hospitality!
Pretty rooms, great breakfast, a warm welcome, feels like home :o)
Best whishes from Germany!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myhomeismycastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#2 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casco Bay Inn
Casco Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicholson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicholson Inn

Property: Nicholson Inn
Address: 25 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicholson Inn, conveniently located in the heart of Freeport, Maine offers all the amenities a traveler could desire. The Nicholson Inn has long been known for its convenience, quality and comfort. We are located in the heart of Freeport’s shopping-restaurant district and less than 500 steps from LL Bean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nicholson Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing