We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Traditional Inn”
Review of Nicholson Inn

Nicholson Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nicholson Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Traditional Inn”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

It was starting to get late as we were driving through Freeport so at the last minute we decided to find somewhere to stay. We spotted this lovely looking Inn on the main road just 2 minutes from the town centre and were so glad we stopped!

The whole place was extremely charming and full of character. It feels very homely. We were at the front of the house but never heard any traffic from the road. The 4 poster bed was extremely comfortable and I loved the thick plush carpets!

The next morning we came down to a home cooked breakfast of (homemade) stewed apples, sausages and omlette. Just the thing to set us up for the day.

Location is excellent. You are only a few minutes walk from town which is shops, shops and more shops!

Alden and Jane were very welcoming and made us feel at home straight away. Their knowledge of the area proved very useful and it was lovely hearing about the family history with the Inn.

Would have no hesitation in recommending the Nicholson Inn and would definately stay there again. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
51
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aztec, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We had a wonderful stay with Alden and Jane. The breakfast was a delight each day and the conversation around the table always enjoyable. They were very attentive to detail and and help needed as well as just great conversation. The proximity to LL Bean, shops and dining was a plus. We also enjoyed being able to use the living room to visit with family in the area who dropped by for a glass of wine. We will always check for their availability when planning our every other year trip to New England for the foliage and visiting relatives.

Room Tip: They do have one large upper room for 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We just spent four nights with Jean and Alden. We were so impressed with their lovely B & B. the rooms were so comfortable and nicely decorated. Cleaned with fresh towels daily! The full breakfast really started the day off right. Wonderful eggs with ham, French toast with real maple syrup, homemade jellies and jam, fresh or poached fruit, bottomless coffee and much more. Also, we all sat at the large dining table with people from all over the US and the world. Great conversation ensued! When we are in Maine visiting our daughter we will not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powpai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a lovely 2 night stay at the Nicholson Inn. The innkeepers, Alden and Jane, were terrific and of course I loved Nick, the dog. We were in Freeport for a bike race and needed a locale close to the starting line. Nicholson Inn fit the bill and we're glad we found this lovely inn. You can walk to all attractions in Freeport, especially all of the outlets. If you want to shop and not sit in congested traffic, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our two nights at the Nicholson Inn so much we came back to Freeport at the end of our trip and stayed there another night. Jane and Alden are great. So knowledgable of the area and full of great tips and advice. Breakfast was a real treat too. Something different each morning and we're not talking simple breakfast either. It was real, made from scratch pancakes, eggs benedict, omelets, and the best homemade applesauce. We would definitely recommend the Nicholson Inn. We can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the front of the house and were worried about traffic noise, but it wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klquarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Jane and Alden are the real thing. No pretense here, just good old hospitality. Great location so you can walk just about anywhere. Our hosts were really helpful in detailed information about area attractions, hikes, out of the way treasures and area history.

The room was spotless and the best part was Alden's HUGE breakfasts each morning. Accommodating all food preferences, we had it all and didn't need to eat until our late afternoon snacks on the porch rockers.

Definitely a great experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. Only one room accommodates 3 people, so be sure to book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topesquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Yes! Yes! Yes! If you're looking for the perfect place to stay while visiting Maine, you've found it.  We cannot recommend Nicolson Inn enough!  We found every aspect of our stay no less than 5star!!! Comfortable and inviting, our room took our breath away.  The soft, neutral colours of the tasteful decor provided a very authentic charm. Charm that clearly comes from the hardworking owners, Jane and Alden!  Kind, friendly and genuine, they  made us feel extremely welcome from start to finish.  They really did take an interest in our visit and even helped plan out our days - recommending routes to drive, scenery to see and sites to visit.   Breakfast  each morning was delicious with any food allergies or preferences taken care of!  The location of the inn is superb.  With on site parking, Freeport main street is just steps away! We found maine had so much to offer and staying at Nicolson Inn was the ideal place to explore from - leaving in the morning and returning in the evening.  A great place! A fantastic stay! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_Cristina53100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
947 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.1 mi away
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicholson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicholson Inn

Property: Nicholson Inn
Address: 25 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicholson Inn, conveniently located in the heart of Freeport, Maine offers all the amenities a traveler could desire. The Nicholson Inn has long been known for its convenience, quality and comfort. We are located in the heart of Freeport’s shopping-restaurant district and less than 500 steps from LL Bean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nicholson Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing