We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and a stone's throw from the L.L. Bean campus”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nicholson Inn

Nicholson Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nicholson Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming and a stone's throw from the L.L. Bean campus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

A charming B & B decorated to perfection with attention to the smallest detail. The breakfast was delicious, served with elegance. Alden, Jane and Nick the lab were friendly and knowledgeable hosts. What sold us on this property is their policy of cash or check only! Highly recommend and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: we chose the east facing room and awoke with the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Jane and Alden are amiable Innkeepas (as the license plate says) with a distinctly New England flair. Breakfast at a common table with other lodgers is a great way to start the day with pleasant chit-chat and yummy food. Jane and Alden have many fans and repeat guests, as all other diners were repeaters. Their location is within walking distance of all Freeport shopping. Jane and Alden know all area restaurants and their tip for a shore dinner was the best. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our visit in Freeport and our stay at the home of Jane, Alden and Nick (their black lab). Jane is a delightful lady that was eager to share the history of her lovely home and recommendations for dinner. Alden prepared a delicious breakfast, including wonderful warm homemade applesauce! Lovely couple, lovely visit!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DLFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have stayed at many B and B's over the years and the Nicholson Inn is right up there with the best. The location is excellent - right on Main Street and within walking distance of shopping and restaurants. Our room was extremely comfortable and well appointed and the breakfasts were gourmet. But best of all were our hosts. Jane and Alden were very welcoming and helpful. They recommended restaurants, told us how to find a particular shop we wanted to visit and even let us borrow a map so we could visit an area where the scenery was spectacular. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Nicholson Inn and hope to return there ourselves some day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewBrunswick
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at The Nicholson Inn with a friend for a girl’s shopping getaway. We both agreed: it’s like staying at your grandparent’s house! The inn is lovely and the inn keepers, Jane and Alden, were lovelier. We had the room with two beds (one queen and one twin daybed) which was perfect for us. There’s no shower in this room but the tub is equipped with a shower sprayer which was fine with us. The resident dog, Nick, a black lab, fetched the paper in the mornings and was a handsome and lovable fellow. The inn is located right in the heart of Freeport, literally just steps away from the shops. We were served a wonderful breakfast (homemade apple sauce with whipped cream, eggs, ham, toast, homemade preserves, juice and coffee) in the dining room where Jane regaled us with tales of the house, her family and how she and Alden met and got together. My only regret is that we didn’t have more time to chat! Lovely place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Ewen, New York, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The B&B is run an old couple, Jane and Alden. They pay very detailed attention to their guests - e.g. we notified that we would reach late, so Jane stayed awake past her bedtime till we arrived. She made sure we were settled, had water, etc. But the best part was the breakfast in the morning. The food is home cooked (by Alden) and delicious - french toasts, pancakes fruits, coffee, juice. The notable part is meeting people at the table and getting to know each other. Once a conversation struck, it felt like we were at home as everybody was sharing lots of stories, debating on current issues and what not. We really enjoyed and we will be back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anirban B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

A fabulous stay that included wonderful accommodations, great food and phenomenal hospitality.
The owners advised us were to shop, travel, tour and dine. They provided maps and first hand knowledge of surrounding exploring opportunities. They also advised us of an alternate scenic route to our next destination that was breath taking. The Nicholson Inn Owners, Jane and Alden, definitely have a lot to offer and will provide you with hospitality at a great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casco Bay Inn
Casco Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicholson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicholson Inn

Property: Nicholson Inn
Address: 25 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicholson Inn, conveniently located in the heart of Freeport, Maine offers all the amenities a traveler could desire. The Nicholson Inn has long been known for its convenience, quality and comfort. We are located in the heart of Freeport’s shopping-restaurant district and less than 500 steps from LL Bean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nicholson Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing