We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family lives on site!”
Review of Nicholson Inn

Nicholson Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nicholson Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful family lives on site!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We chose the Nicholson Inn for our 40th Anniversary for its location in downtown Freeport, and we hope to return again for the location AND the wonderful family hosts! About the Inn: It is small, only a few rooms, but each is well appointed and spotless! Thank you Jane and Alden!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carson3238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
51
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A marvelous experience. Stayed four nights and enjoyed every one. Clean, quiet, friendly...Jane & Alden are super innkeepers. Nick, the dog is friendly and can deliver the newspaper each morning. Stay here if you get a chance.

Room Tip: Stairs to top floor rooms may be difficult for some older guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Nicholson Inn. The hosts, Jane and Alden are wonderful people. They recommended some great places for me to visit on my way up to Bar Harbor. The rooms are cozy and clean and the breakfast was delicious. Freeport outlet shops are in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolin2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Once again, our stay was wonderful. The room was immaculate, the porch was so relaxing, the flower gardens were inspiring, breakfast was 5 star, and the owners went above and beyond to help with an unexpected need...A family member arrived in the late evening with a sudden onset of illness. Alden gave us a personal escort to the local hospital, while Jane stayed up until the early morning hours, when we made it back to the Inn. Their personal concern ensured that a full recovery was just a day or so away, paving the way for the rest of our Maine travels to be enjoyable and pleasant. It really feels like family to stay with them, including "Nick," the black lab. It's our favorite bed and breakfast - and we used to own one!!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the rooms facing Main Street. They're quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sag Harbor, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here in the chilly early spring time and the room was very nice and warm, old houses can be cold sometimes. Jane was charming and chatty, Alden was delightful. Bed was comfy, breakfast was delicious! Although I dislike so much carpeting it did help keep the room quiet. Victorian details are lovely but maybe collect a little too much dust such as the dried flowers which really can't be cleaned. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We chose the Nicholson Inn based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and the location. It met all our expectations. The hosts, Jane and Alden, were delightful and made us feel very much at home. Breakfast was delicious and served family style which gives you the opportunity to meet other travellers, which we prefer. Both mornings we had pleasant conversation with other guests and found out how small a world it is as we discovered commonalities in our work lives. The location can't be beat, on the main street within a couple blocks of LL Bean; and yet it was also very quiet. We parked our car when we got into town and walked to shopping and restaurants easily. We were able to bring back larger shopping items and put them in the car when needed within a couple of minutes. We had the top floor room with a queen and single bed which worked well and was well proportioned. The private bathroom had a tub and a hand shower. If you require a regular shower, then choose a room on the second floor. We had great conversation and would return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit at Nicholson Inn and it felt like coming home. We brought our 5 year old grand daughter with us and stayed in the uppermost room and it worked perfectly. We spent 5 nights and couldn't have asked for better hosts. Jane and Alden went above and beyond to assure that our granddaughter's visit was extra special. Both suggested activities and places she would enjoy. We can't wait to return to Nicholson Inn. It truly is our home in Maine.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank klquarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
935 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.1 mi away
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicholson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicholson Inn

Property: Nicholson Inn
Address: 25 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicholson Inn, conveniently located in the heart of Freeport, Maine offers all the amenities a traveler could desire. The Nicholson Inn has long been known for its convenience, quality and comfort. We are located in the heart of Freeport’s shopping-restaurant district and less than 500 steps from LL Bean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nicholson Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing