We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick assess to Downtown Freeport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Wonderful location to L.L.Bean and shops of Freeport. Stayed here Oct 31 and Nov 1. Great entrance to the hotel however as frequent quests of Hampton Inn in Canada and the United States we were disappointed. Reception helpful, friendly and easy. The rooms were clean...beds great, as usual. The bathroom, however in need of updating. In particular the bathtub was narrow and claustraphobic. Big negative in the breakfast. We were down by 8:30 each morning and found little food left, restocked and generally unappetizing. The staff on duty unsmiling and unfriendly compared to other Hamtons. The breakfast area in outdated, yes, but food presentation made it seem dirty and unappealing. Need a revamp!!! We love Hamptons and will continue to frequent, however will think twice on this one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 470JimB470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPWMFP, General Manager at Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Hello from Freeport, ME. First of all, thank you for sharing your comments. I do read and respond to them, and appreciate the opportunity to make things better.

We are planning for renovations soon, which will allow for a few more seats, as well as a better flow for the buffet line. I am disappointed you were not greeted and made to feel welcome. Your comments have been relayed to the team. On behalf of our team here at the hotel, we are sorry you were not made to feel welcome, and that we did not provide the service you come to expect from Hampton Inn.

I sincerely hope it does not prevent you from visiting us again in the future.

Yours In Hospitality- Angela D'Amours, General Manager, Hampton Inn, Freeport, ME

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

Upon visiting L.L. Bean in Freeport Maine we decided to spend the night. The hotel is only minutes from ll bean. Walking distance if you are ambitious. The hotel was a little pricey I thought being we just stayed in a Hampton inn the night before for eighty dollars less. The staff was very nice. Rooms were clean and big.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate_Blair, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us in Freeport. We really appreciate your feedback and apologize that you were not impressed with the condition of your guest room. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us again in the future.
Thank you,
Nate Blair
Front Desk Manager'
Hampton Inn Freeport, ME

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Nice quiet hotel with the normal Hampton Inn quality in rooms. Friendly service at the front desk. Free wi-fi and parking quite close to the entrance. Some restaurants nearby if you are looking for food as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Spent two nights here while on business. Hotel is located just outside the downtown area, and worked fine for me. The public spaces were clean, but the overall feel is cramped. Business center is a single computer located just across from the front desk; fine for printing or quick general use. Breakfast area is very small. Food was okay.... The rooms was a bit disappointing, as it reflected styles and finishes of yesterday. The bathroom doesn't appear to have ever been updated as it still featured a long white marble countertop; screams boring. The double bed room was comfortable, but the small round table was awkward and cumbersome to use as a desk, as there was no seperate desk. Overall, i was just under-whelmed by this property. Picked it for the familiar, what to expect brand and would likely return if i was in the area again, but there's nothing special that jumps out at you here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DSGAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate_Blair, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us in Freeport. We really appreciate your feedback and apologize that you were not impressed with the condition of your guest room. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us again in the future.
Thank you,
Nate Blair
Front Desk Manager
Hampton Inn Freeport, ME

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Can't say enough about this hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast was perfect. One morning just grabbed a bagged breakfast which was ideal. Will definitely be going back to this hotel again and again! Had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The test of a hotel is would you go back after staying there and in this case the answer is yes as our plans changed and a week or so after first staying here, we came back on spec to see if they had a room available; which they did. Our second stay confirmed our positive experiences.

The drive up to the hotel is quite impressive and the outside of the hotel looks great. The reception area is also nice looking. The corridors and rooms look a bit dated (but that is just our view) and did not detract from our stay.

The welcome we got was very warm and on booking we had asked for a quiet room; this was on file and the receptionist acknowledged this and said she would give us a room on the third floor (the top floor). However our room had an interlocking door with another room, which to our mind leads to quite a bit of noise. Upon querying this with reception, they agreed to move us and in fact upgraded us at no extra cost. That is good service!

The room was very good and quiet. If booking and you want quiet, then do ask for the third floor as we would imagine the ground floor (1st floor) would be quite noisy as the lifts are at the opposite end to reception as there is a back entrance direct from the car park, so the corridor gets quite a bit of foot-fall.

The swimming pool was great. The  breakfast room was a bit crowded but we always got a table when we arrived.

The hotel is right next to a Shaws supermarket and you can get there without going back onto the main road, via the car park. Can thoroughly recommend the BBQ restaurant up the road.

As we said, our plans changed later and we ended back in Freeport for a night and had absolutely no hesitation in dropping in to see if they had a room. If we went back again, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shardlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This Hampton is located close to many Maine attractions. Portland is 17 miles away. It was clean, comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast was nice. The Italian restaurant across the street is very good and delivers to the hotel. Our stay just confirmed why we choose to stay at the Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jth3309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.6 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
982 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
472 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Brunswick Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick

Address: 194 Lower Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Freeport
#4 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £68 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
feel at home at the Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick hotelHave a comfortable and relaxing stay at Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, our Freeport, Maine hotel. Unwind in welcoming bars and inviting restaurants. Enjoy the great outdoors with a mountain hike or cross country ski adventure. Walk through gorgeous forests, relax on beautiful beaches and enjoy ocean cruises just minutes from this Freeport/Brunswick hotel. Spend an afternoon shopping in some of the 120 outlet stores near the hotel. Visit L.L. Bean's Outdoor Discovery School and learn biking, kayaking, archery and fly fishing skills. Our complimentary shuttle service can get you to and from the Freeport Train Station to connect to the Amtrak Downeaster, which is located one mile from the hotel. We also make scheduled stops to downtown Freeport daily.Unwind and feel at home at our Freeport, Maine hotel in a comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities. Relax on a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay entertained with a range of premium TV channels and free high-speed internet access. Start your day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast before heading off for a day’s business or sightseeing. Keep in shape during your stay in the indoor pool, and rejuvenate with a workout in the fitness center. Four versatile meeting rooms accommodate board meetings for ten or receptions for up to 100 attendees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick Hotel Freeport
Freeport Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing