We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You guys rock...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You guys rock...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Friendly staff during checking and check out...

Clean and thankfully smoke free room, well appointed with a fridge/microwave. Comfy bed.

We didn't stay for the breakfast buffet because at this point, this would have been Hampton Inn #3...we needed a change.

Staff asked how our stay was, this was the first time they seemed to sincerely want to know. I told them about the Peabody Hampton Inn..they were apologetic that their sister hotel would disappoint, and they also said they still have a few non-smoking rooms and generally do not offer them unless people ask, and the hotel was trying to phase them out.

I have stayed here before, and would not hesitate to recommend them. A nice clean hotel, and a very quite stay. We had a first floor room, with no issues.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPWMFP, General Manager at Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Naomi,

Many thanks for your kind words and recent visit with us. Your continued loyalty to our hotel and the Hilton family is truly appreciated.

I am glad that you experienced the high level of service that we strive to provide, while also enjoying our clean, comfortable accommodations. Specifically, I am very happy that you felt we truly cared when asking upon check out how your visit was, as I and our team genuinely do want to know how our guests' overall experience was.

We look forward to your next visit to the mid-coast region and your future stays with us. Thank you again for sharing your positive experience via Trip Advisor.

Best regards,

Chris Barstow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    198
    75
    22
    11
See reviews for
245
195
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St-Prosper, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great Staff, good breakfast. Beds and sheets always fresh. Non smoking. Great location for shopping in outlets. 20 minutes from Old Orchard Beach and 15 minutes from Portland. 20 minutes from Old Orchard Beach and 15 minutes from Portland.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marc Jr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPWMFP, General Manager at Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Marc,

It looks as though we were able provide a stay that was comfortable and satisfying in all aspects of your visit. Thank you for sharing your positive experience via Trip Advisor for others to see.

In addition to our guest rooms, breakfast and recreational amenities, our central location to many local attractions does serve as appealing to many of our guests. I appreciate you highlighting this in your comments as well.

Upon your next visit to the U.S., we would appreciate the opportunity to host you again. Many thanks for your compliments and patronage.

Best regards,

Chris Barstow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Freeport as the last stop of our New England jaunt. The hotel is typical for a Hampton Inn. The staff is par, but really do not go out of their way to accommodate. The rooms are nothing special and a bit worn. We also found our room to have some unusual spots and stains on the ceiling. The bed linens were very clean and the beds were super comfy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank quackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPWMFP, General Manager at Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Quackle,

Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback with us.

Though we were able to provide overall clean, comfortable accommodations, I regret that we did not provide the high level of service that we have become known for.

We strive to provide service that exceeds our guests' expectations and is indicative of the best that Maine hospitality has to offer. As we did not meet this standard during your visit, I will look to share your comments with our team with the purpose of bringing strength to this identified weakness.

Concerning our room decor, you may have seen my response to other posts noting this and the fact that we do have plans to embark on major guest room renovations this off season. It is my hope that you may have a chance to experience our hotel following these improvements next year.

Many thanks again for providing feedback that will allow us to improve our operations in support of our future guests.

Best regards,

Chris Barstow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanbornville, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
365 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My family all gathered to celebrate a big family milestone. As a result, we were pretty dispersed at different hotels, homes, etc. The Freeport Hampton Inn served as our central "meeting place" even tho several of us did not stay at this hotel. The staff were amazingly generous and accommodating. My sister and her 2 grandkids were the guests: but several family members were invited to share the amenities. No requests were considered too much:
- My husband and I played a fun game of tag in the pool with the kids
- The staff provided us a big pitcher of ice water with cups out on the outside tables as we all chattered away
- We were welcomed to use the internet and lobby tables to work through some work "logistics" which then evolved into a group game of Uno
- The breakfast area was open to all of us to share a pizza we had carried in from across the street and chatter through the evening.
- Late checkout enabling the kids to hang out in the pool until the absolute last minute!

All in all, an entirely unexpected and pleasant experience.

The hotel itself had many positive attributes: Good location, clean, great breakfast. The inside pool was a great amenity though the choline was quite strong and inhibited the overall experience. If possible, cut that back a bit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmcoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPWMFP, General Manager at Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
KM Coyle,

During the course of the year, we often host families for their respective gatherings, whether it be for a reunion, a wedding, or just for the opportunity to get together. Hearing about how your family was hosted makes me feel proud to be a part of our team here at the Hampton Inn Freeport.

I am pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations with our hospitality, and that a memorable experience was had by all. Clean, comfortable rooms, a quality breakfast and great recreational amenities are aspects of our property that we strive to provide all of our guests. I am happy that we achieved our goal in providing these to you as well.

Should you or your family decide to gather in Freeport in the future, it is my hope that we may again be your host. Many thanks again for your compliments and patronage.

Best regards,

Chris Barstow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Wow this hotel is dated and tired. The carpet is dirty. The shower sprays erratically with a temperature that is either scalding or cold. The walls are thin and the noise from the hall can readily be heard in the room. Do not choose a room on the first floor especially one close to the lobby. This hotel needs to be updated like most other Hampton Inns have been recently. The bed is old and lumpy and the blankets are scratchy and abrasive.

Room Tip: Stay away from first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsALot205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPWMFP, General Manager at Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for providing feedback concerning your visit. I greatly regret that our property did not meet your expectations for comfort and quality.

Regarding our guest room decor, I and our ownership do agree that an update is in order. We are beginning plans for this winter that will completely refurbish all of our guest rooms, providing a more modern product that will mirror Hampton's new Forever Young Initiative. This will also complement the updates that have been made in our public areas, which have been completed over the last 18 months.

Concerning the maintenance and bedding challenges noted, I am sorry that these aspects did not meet your expectations or our standards either. As we continue our perpetual improvements in our accommodations via preventative maintenance and linen replacement, we will be sure to take your comments into consideration.

Though your recent experience was not indicative of the high quality stay that we look to provide to our guests, it is my hope that you may give us a second chance in the future. I would welcome the opportunity to host you again for a complimentary visit following the completion of our improvements next season. Feel free to contact me directly should you wish to take advantage of this opportunity.

Thank you again for your visit with us and for the constructive criticism provided.

Sincerely yours,

Chris Barstow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clifton park ny, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Not walking distance to town but still a convenient location only a mile out of town and close to interstate Village also has plenty of free parking. Hotel and room was very clean, rooms have a slightly dated feeling but are very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPWMFP, General Manager at Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Patrick,

Thank you for your recent stay during your visit to Freeport. Your feedback and patronage are truly appreciated.

Your high marks for all categories related to our property means a lot to myself and our team. We strive to provide genuine Maine hospitality via a high level of service and with our comfortable, clean accommodations. I'm also glad that you found our location to be convenient.

We look forward to your next visit with us should your travels bring you back to the mid-coast region.

Best regards,

Chris Barstow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Had a last minute change of plans so I made this reservation online. Great choice! As with most Hampton Inns, the room was clean and well appointed and the staff when we checked in was great. They were very accommodating of our service dog (although a guest gave ne a hard time). Definitely recommend this hotel. It's also very close to great restaurants and shopping.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cindie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPWMFP, General Manager at Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Cindie,

Many thanks for choosing us as your last minute location for hotel accommodations. It is wonderful to hear via your Trip Advisor post that we met your expectations.

I am also pleased that specifically, we provide the service you would expect from our Hampton family, and that you encountered no challenges regarding the needs of your service dog. We strive to make all aspects a visit comfortable, so that our guests may have a truly enjoyable stay.

Thank you again for your patronage and kind words. They are truly appreciated.

Best regards,

Chris Barstow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#2 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casco Bay Inn
Casco Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick

Property: Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Address: 194 Lower Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Freeport
#4 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
feel at home at the Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick hotelHave a comfortable and relaxing stay at Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, our Freeport, Maine hotel. Unwind in welcoming bars and inviting restaurants. Enjoy the great outdoors with a mountain hike or cross country ski adventure. Walk through gorgeous forests, relax on beautiful beaches and enjoy ocean cruises just minutes from this Freeport/Brunswick hotel. Spend an afternoon shopping in some of the 120 outlet stores near the hotel. Visit L.L. Bean's Outdoor Discovery School and learn biking, kayaking, archery and fly fishing skills. Our complimentary shuttle service can get you to and from the Freeport Train Station to connect to the Amtrak Downeaster, which is located one mile from the hotel. We also make scheduled stops to downtown Freeport daily.Unwind and feel at home at our Freeport, Maine hotel in a comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities. Relax on a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay entertained with a range of premium TV channels and free high-speed internet access. Start your day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast before heading off for a day’s business or sightseeing. Keep in shape during your stay in the indoor pool, and rejuvenate with a workout in the fitness center. Four versatile meeting rooms accommodate board meetings for ten or receptions for up to 100 attendees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick Hotel Freeport
Freeport Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing