We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh so close.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Shoreham, New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Oh so close.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Could have had a much higher rating if not that close to highway 295. Room 124 was an excellent accessible room,very clean and a beautiful walk-in shower and close to the indoor salt water pool.It was located just outside Freeport proper but this room in the back of the hotel as well I guess all even numbered rooms much too close to the highway. You won't appreciate how close until 5:30am when the 18wheelers start and the constant whining of auto tires wake you. You can't wait for breakfast to be served at 6:30am then that's mediocre, but the coffee was good.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear are too close to highway as far as I'm concerned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    106
    43
    27
    21
See reviews for
101
105
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Been here before. I knew what to expect. It was the same great greeting, awesome room and of course delightful complimentary breakfast. The weather was in the 70's. What more could you ask for. H.M. Regan Plymouth, MA

Room Tip: Get the rooms in the front of the building. Third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Front desk guy Ed was rude. Sat there and ate while talking on the phone and then when I went to check in, he had a mouthful of food and talked to me. He had his phone blaring with music and then when I came back and hour later to go through the lobby he was sitting on the couch eating again!
On a good note, the room was very clean and the housekeepers were great!

Room Tip: would not stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cancer f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We spent two nights here in late March. We were made to feel very welcome. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable too. Our only complaint was the rather dim lighting within the room. For example, our suite had a sofa in an alcove with a partition separating it from the rest of the room but there was no light in there at all!

However, other than this we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms on the road are quiet because the road outside has little traffic. The back is quite close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sp1000_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

General condition of this hotel is deteriorating year after year. Among other things, simple measures like cleaning marks on doors and public areas, fixing furniture, cleaning (properly) carpets, etc. do not seem to be part of their concerns. Furthermore, not heating a room in advance in January (0 F.) is a total lack of respect for its client. This happened to me twice at this hotel... I can hardly believe this is a coincidence... Whenever guaranteed payment is obtained, there is an obligation of supplying a "livable" room on arrival. Not after 3-4 hours of freezing.
I do not believe this hotel meets Choice hotels standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dangil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freder
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

A few years ago I stayed at this hotel and forgot a dress that I had hung in the closet. I called the hotel later the same day and asked to have it sent to me at my cost. No dress arrived. Stupidly I again stayed there last week and managed to leave a piece of my charger plugged into the wall. A friend who had done the same (at a different hotel) said of course the hotel will send that to you. It has been 5 days since I called. Nothing. Any suggestions for a more responsive hotel in Freeport?

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have stayed at the Comfort Suites several times with the most recent being the end of December. It is on Rt 1 and be sure when you book a room specifying the rooms facing Rt 1 and not Rt 95 which is a little more noisy. The rooms were comfortable and the hot breakfast very good. Cheerful Katrina is often behind the desk but on this occasion her son was there learning the ropes.The motel is convenient to LL Bean"s. No explanation is needed for Bean's.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Rt 1 are more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captainroy486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#2 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
14.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 500 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Comfort Suites. Freeport's only all-suite hotel. Large king, double queen and luxury suites. Indoor heated pool and hot tub, 100% smoke-free, free wireless, flat screen HDTVs. Located off exit 20, at the gateway to downtown Freeport. Free parking. Two meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Freeport
Comfort Suites Freeport, Maine
Freeport Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing