We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!”
Review of The Old Barn Inn

The Old Barn Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Glooston
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Thought would try out the old barn as had come across it recently on Facebook. We had a lovely experience for a Monday evening. Gorgeous food, couldn't fault the starters or mains, dessert was supposed to be soufflé, but came out as fondant instead, which is ok as I like fondant, but a dessert soufflé would have been nice. Good value wines, very good service & excellent value all round. Will be going back for the beef flat ribs for definate, they were so tasty!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsTMrT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Pleasant return to an old haunt.”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Known to us for over 30 years, this beautifully situated country pub is well worth the journey to its quite secluded location next to the church at one end of a quiet village. Thursday lunchtime saw more than 25 covers seated while we were there. Our table for 6 was in a snug corner and very well attended by the well-trained, friendly but efficient waiting staff.
The lunch deal was outstandingly good value: choose 2 courses for £10.95 or 3 for £13.95 from the regular lunch menu of 4 starters, 9 mains and 5 desserts, the last of which included a cheese board at no extra charge.
All the food was most enjoyable and a couple of notches above the usual dining pub fare.Really fresh fish and chips were particularly well cooked; generously-sized rump steak unusually tender; beef goulash with Czech dumplings as authentic as one would expect to find in an establishment run by people from eastern Europe. Homemade chocolate Guinness cake dessert was richly delicious but could do with some cream accompaniment to counteract a slight dryness.Excellent local ales are on draught and the wine starts at a reasonable( as things go these days!) £13 a bottle.
Our bill, including some drinks, worked out at £14.85 a head. Very good value and as good a reason as any for a return visit before long.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barnabee797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not quite Gourmet”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We went for a nice evening meal as had experienced good Sunday lunches there.
Should have stuck to Sunday lunches
Welcome was 'we can fit you in if you are ok to wait' - restaurant empty bar full!!!
Starter came quickly and was really good - I am difficult to please
Loved the scallops and she liked the shrimps ( were a bit small to be king prawns)
Main course well different chef - the good one was making pizzas for the party in the bar.
Her flat rib of beef came out as a sea bass - that better than having strains of horse meat i suppose. Oops sorry will change it be 5 minutes was response mmm maybe in another time zone?
My veggie flat mushroom came and it was what it said it was but a bit small for a main.
Anyway when your hungry you take it as it comes but you never go back bye bye.
we were given a nice alcoholic snaps drink as compensation which is great when you have to drive?? better to take bad stuff off bill.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good little too hidden away”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Well this place is excellent the food is good just spoiled when i found out how far from Harborough it really is. But still worth the drive!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I first visited this pub in 1977 when I lived in the village, leaving in 1984 - the village that is, not the pub. Over the years it has had a mixed history. So on the rare occasions I visit these days it is with a sense of trepidation. On my recent visit I was pleased to see a sensible menu, a good selection of beers all at good prices.
The food was very good, with ample portions. We were waited on professionally and were offered extra vegetables.
They stock the local Langton Brewery beer, brewed in Thorpe Langton by Alistair Chapman a resident of the village. The pub is currently run by four people, three from the Czech republic and one from Slovakia. Two of them had worked in the pub under the previous management. They are keen to please and hopefully can make a success of this pub in an area where less about half the pubs have closed in the last 30 years and most of those in the last 10 years.
As a point of interest the name of the pub is not an indication of its origin. The name only came into usage around the late 1950-60's. Previoulsy it was known as the 'Bluebell'.
I look forward to returning, although that may not be for several months at the soonest.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WhyShouldIStayHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Barn Inn also viewed

Hallaton, Leicestershire
Hallaton, Leicestershire
 
Tur Langton, Leicestershire
 
Thorpe Langton, Leicestershire
Ashley, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Old Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing