We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home cooked food”
Review of The Old Barn Inn

The Old Barn Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Glooston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooked food”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We have visited this pub/restaurant twice recently after a gap of about ten years. We are very glad we have rediscovered it.
The new owners are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The menu is quite small but as it is all tasty and homemade including the wonderful bread, we were quite happy. The website tells you what to expect. The portions of the fish and chips, ghoulish and blade of beef we've eaten are huge but we ate all of it!
Support this great pub we wish it was our local.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John420Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    20
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“deserves to be a success”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Visited on a winters evening after a walk. Although it was only 5pm we were served with great food. The goulash and home baked bread was delicious. It is out of the way, but well worth the visit and deserves to be a successful pub. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Much improved, friendly staff and good value food”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Three of us dined here on a last minute booking and it was very good. We ate in the bar which was friendly and relaxed. Lots of choice on the menu and service was prompt. The food was good quality and good value as were the drinks. We haven't eaten here for a few years but would happily return after this experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect food & great service”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Four of us went for a late lunch (almost a last minute decision) on Saturday, arriving at about 3.30pm. What a revelation this turned out to be - immaculate surroundings, beautifully prepared food, well presented and served with a smile! Not something that is always standard in a Leicestershire country inn late in the afternoon. The wine (a lovely Cote du Rhone) was excellent and very reasonably priced and served with a panache that was a credit to the young Czech (Slovak?) host and one of the pleasures of this impromptu lunch was the browsing of the extensive evening menu which led to an immediate decision to visit this lovely inn for an evening meal in the very near future. Value for money, super food and service does not always go together these days but if that is what is needed The old Barn Inn at Glooston is the place to go.
Top marks!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rangitiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice pub nice food , dirty carpet”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Very nice country pub. food very good quality portions aren't massive but very well cooked slightly over priced but the quality makes up for it. Tthe only down side was the carpet in the restaurant area is old and stained either need a proper clean or replacing with something which doesn't show the stains.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue-Mick-Bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Barn Inn also viewed

Hallaton, Leicestershire
Tur Langton, Leicestershire
 
Hallaton, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Old Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing