We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and Fun”

302 West Smokehouse & Tavern
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Fryeburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 302 West Smokehouse and Tavern is a family owned and operated business, with a dedicated staff and strong local following. With a committed focus on happy customers, the entire restaurant is passionate about great food and good times! The restaurant can be found in the renovated, yet rustic, barn of an old Maine farmhouse. It is centrally located in the heart of Fryeburg village.
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Food and Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

The 302 West is for great food and lots of fun. It's a BBQ and Tavern with an eclectic menu [Mex, fish, BBQ] and great beer. Wait staff are fun and the background music will keep your feet tapping. The food is really good and the portions are enormous. It's fun, it's tasty, it's inexpensive and a great place to drown a thirst.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kalonymos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    76
    21
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dirty and nasty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Wait staff was just short of arrogant. She actually asked why I wasn't ordering the larger portion, and made a face when I told her.
If she was having a bad day, she should have stayed at home.
Dirty is understatement for this restaurant.
Couldn't even think of focusing on meal....which was mediocre at best.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tesswilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, Manager at 302 West Smokehouse & Tavern, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
I am so sorry for your negative experience. We strive to offer the best food and service in our funky little place. We value any feedbackso that we can constantly improve and hope that you will give us another chance to do better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Brookfield, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
“If you haven't been....GO!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

One of the best eateries around. The Lobster rolls are amazing! Actually, all the food at this hidden gem is super! My wife, family and I frequent the 302 when in the area. We have never been disappointed. Our only disappointment is when the parking lot is too full to get in. The wait staff is super as is the overall pub atmosphere. Make the 302 one (if not your only) stop when dining in Fryeburg!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot in small town Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Food was excellent and had a fun atmosphere. Lots of locals having a great time. It was a little loud, but it is a bar/grill and that's what we went for.

100% recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a good time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

302 is always a good time. We like to grab stools at the bar. The staff is terrific, the drinks and pub food are delicious, and if you go a few times, they call you by name and remember your drink order. The burgers are great, as are the nachos and potato skins. A low key place with nice people and consistently good food. Doesn't get much better in my book

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 302 West Smokehouse & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to 302 West Smokehouse & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing