We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Details make the difference” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main Street Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fryeburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Main Street Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Details make the difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Margaret Cugini, the B&B owner, was friendly, welcoming, and dedicated to giving her visitors a wonderful experience. Fresh flowers in our rooms, pretty and unfussy furnishings, down comforters, a selection of books, green views out our windows, utterly delicious food at breakfast, and Margaret's own thoughtful, knowledgeable hospitality made our stay at this place really delightful. The White Mountains rose behind the place, across the broad Saco Valley, and gave stunning views from the lawn. Lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubec, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

My husband and I made a trip to western Maine, from our home in eastern Maine, in order to enjoy a concert at the Stone Mountail Arts Center. When we arrived at Main Street B & B , Margaret had a cozy fire going in the living room. She is very lovely inn keeper and very aware of her guests' needs. Immaculate home and delicious breakfast. We plan to stay there again when we schedule a trip for another concert.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeway, Virginia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We picked thise B&B in a spur of the moment change of vacation plans and this was a great choice. We were headed to North Conway and my husband wanted to show me a real Maine town. Although a highly commercialized North Conway is just minutes away, Fryeburg is calm and beautiful and real. The view from the back yard is fantastic - heavily trees woods with what I think are mountains on the horizon.

The Main Street B&B is in a 200 year old house that has been expertly redone as a B&B. All the rooms are on the second floor and there are separate sitting rooms on the first floor. The hostess lives in a separate part of the house. I love the separation because it is like staying with family but still with some privacy. Our room had an attached private bathroom that was easily as large as the bedroom itself. The bed was comfortable and everything was decorated nicely. The hostess had anticipated anything you could want and even left us two chocolates on the bedside table. The only amenity missing was a tv, but that's pretty standard for a B&B.

Breakfast was huge and tasty. The hostess is an excellent cook and very personable. We drove into North Conway for dinner but that was a huge disappointment. We think that we should have eaten dinner at 302 West, a local place two or three doors down from the B&B. They had a $25 traditional lobster clam bake that would have made our evening in Fryeburg absolutely perfect. We stopped in for a nightcap and the place was busy with locals, something we generally consider to be a good indicator of good food.

This place is a great choice. I can't see how anyone would be disappointed with a stay at the Main Street B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My partner and I just stayed at the Main Street Bed and Breakfast in Fryeburg, ME to take advantage of the cross country skiing in nearby Jackson, NH. The Persimmon Room, as well as the rest of the house, was spotless and comfortable. The floors downstairs are the wonderful wide planks found only in these old homes. Our bedroom was decorated beautifully without being fussy. The bathroom in the Persimmon Room was large and spacious. The room was kept warm and comfortable. An amazing view of the mountains greeted us in the morning. The owner, Margaret, was attentive, helpful and enjoyable to talk to. She made wonderful breakfasts each morning with fruit, eggs, warm scones and blueberry pancakes. There is a relaxing sitting room with a wood burning fireplace that Margaret kept going for us while we were reading. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjlouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

Spent 4 nights at this beautifully maintained B&B. Fresh flowers everywhere, every day. Immaculately clean. Original farmhouse has been recently renovated - it's picture perfect, with a lovely mountain range view. Our In-Keeper, Margaret was always cheery, eager to share her local knowledge, yet knowing when you wanted your privacy. The quality of her food was only surpassed in how she would be sure that you got what you want. Fresh baked scones, fruit, yogurt, pancakes laoded with local blueberries, whatever...

And nearby, there's great dining with a focus on using locally grown uber fresh produce. in town and nearby there's antiquing, biking, tennis, swimming, hiking, etc.

All incredibly affordable. We got 4 nights for the price of 3!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bunnella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

We stayed for a weekend in mid-June and had a wonderful time! Margaret is such a great hostess and her baked goods at breakfast are just fabulous. We loved our room as well.

  • Liked — The beautiful house
  • Disliked — The installed air conditioners
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonGini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2005

133 Main in Fryeburg is the best B&B you could ever find. The rooms are immaculate with very tasteful furnishings, very comfortable beds, and bathrooms that are so clean you could eat off the floor. Margaret makes the most wonderful breakfasts and the overall experience is more like staying in your best friend's home than staying in an inn. Not only are the facilities warm and inviting, but Margaret invites you into her home and five minutes later you have a new lifetime friend.

We have stayed in other B&B's but none that combine all of the elements so wonderfully as 133 Main. Even if you had no other reason to visit the Fryeburg Maine / North Conway New Hampshire (133 Main is 10 minutes from North Conway), it would be worth the trip just to stay at 133 Main.

Trust me you will not be disappointed (we have stayed twice over the past two years and have already booked for next year)!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ksgoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
6.7 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Oxford House Inn
Oxford House Inn
#2 of 5 in Fryeburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
7.2 mi away
The Old Saco Inn
The Old Saco Inn
#1 of 5 in Fryeburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
13.5 mi away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Bed and Breakfast

Property: Main Street Bed and Breakfast
Address: 660 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037-1127
Region: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing