We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Oriental Room. It is a lovely, romantic room, and the jacuzzi tub was a wonderful bonus to have after a cold day snowshoeing in North Conway. We spent some time downstairs in the common area watching television, before popping some (complementary) popcorn and making hot chocolate to snuggle back in our warm room with its fireplace. Donna is a wonderful host. She makes one feel completely comfortable as well as a yummy, ample breakfast. As others say, it is is very pet friendly, and my only caution would be to those that are allergic to cats/dogs since there is a fair amount of hair about. I highly recommend The Admiral Perry Inn and hope to return when its warmer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurseduckett2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
61
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Donna welcomed us warmly and gave us a tour of the Admiral Peary house. She may be informal but she runs a tight ship. Not only each bedroom but each room of her house has its own personality, so make sure you get the tour. Our beds were large and our rooms were spacious and warm. We had friends from Fryeburg over after dinner that night and we sat and chatted in the cozy living room (they loved the house too) feeling completely at home the whole time. When we got up in the morning, a new blanket of snow covered the trees and the yard and barn making a perfect view out the large windows in the kitchen while we ate baked stuffed apple French toast with maple syrup and coffee. And speaking of personalities, Donna's friendly yellow lab Maya was on hand to "help" make sure our dishes were thoroughly cleaned for washing after we finished our breakfast. This Inn is perfect for a conference or retreat (wifi is good). And the LARGE back yard is ideal for a reunion or wedding reception tent. It is located on a quiet residential street in Fryeburg village. It is a quick walk to the stores and restaurants on Main Street and approximately 1/2 mile walk to Fryeburg Academy campus and 1-1/4 mile walk to the Fryeburg Fair.

Room Tip: Actually the room chooses you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Wow, I travel a lot and this is the best B&B I stayed in. My room, "The Paris Room" was perfect. The floors are the old wide floor board with historic charm. The bed was extremely comfortable. There are 5 or 6 common rooms on the first floor. So there was plenty of room to hang out. Donna, the owner was fun to talk to, very down to earth and accommodating. The breakfast was great! I recommend this Inn to everyone. The only exception is if you have an extreme pet allergy. The pets are not in the room but, at times, in the common area. They have a friendly dog and cat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBrownRMPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed two nights at The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast over the new year holiday. What a wonderful time we had and our gracious host, Donna, was very accommodating- going well beyond our expectations to make sure we were comfortable. We spent two days XC skiing and snowshoeing in the Lovell and Jackson areas. Donna even made sure we had snacks and water for our daily adventures.

We travel with two pups and selected The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast because it was pet friendly. From the moment we stepped out of the car, we were met with a warm welcome by Donna and her lab, Mya. Donna went way beyond being pet friendly, she welcomed our four legged kids into her home and even let them out while we were gone during the day.

The Inn provides easy access to all sorts of outdoor activities around the White Mountains and we would definitely stay with Donna again. As other reviewers have mentioned, breakfast is delicious. If you stay at B&B's then you know that the host can make or break your experience and I can assure that you won't be disappointed at The Admiral Perry Inn. Be sure to take time to sit and talk with Donna. The inn has been her dream for a long time and she has put so much into each room and her services to make sure you have everything you need.

Donna- Thank you, again, and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Donna gave us a tour of the open rooms one evening and they are all beautiful. We stayed in Panama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bren-n-Carrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed at the place for two nights with my friend for a ski trip. It was a fantastic family hotel with clean rooms, everything you need, and more importantly, Donna, who is a wonderful host. She is nice, friendly, and does whatever she can to accommodate to our needs. I truly enjoyed my time with Donna's family (including her dog Miya), and am looking forward to coming back another time:) Btw, breakfast is awesome:)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royzhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We just had the best weekend imaginable, making our 11-year-old's birthday weekend stand out as special, falling as it does right before Christmas. We had two rooms -- Oriental and English Garden… Beds were comfy, linens were lovely -- I slept as well as if I were at home. Our two Bernese Mountain Dogs were made welcome and greatly enjoyed the fresh snow in the backyard. Maya, the resident yellow lab, is SUPER sweet and friendly. It turns out that we don't need a king-sized bed at home! That just encourages BOTH dogs to sleep on the bed and there was even LESS room for us! ;-) However, we all enjoyed our stay tremendously. We curled up in the living room on the big sectional couch and watched a little TV. We enjoyed three delicious breakfasts and when the weather was abysmal, Donna even made us stew for supper! Our kids took over the living room floor with a K'nex building project and Donna kindly provided everything we needed to make our little birthday "party" complete.

Just minutes away from North Conway and Cranmore Mountain and apparently many, many other area attractions, this was a WONDERFUL spot and we hope to be back again someday. The house has secret passages, a formal sitting room and library and SEVEN bedrooms with their own bathrooms, each one decorated uniquely in a fun and stylish manner.

The 11-year old said the weekend was "great' which is high praise!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptolemy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

A BIG thank-you Donna for opening your wonderful Inn to vets on veteran's day. Esp due to the fact Donna is a vet herself & should be the one to be pampered! Beautiful home, yummy breakfast, great coffee, lots of history & even 2 Moose in the back yard. We will be back! :)

Room Tip: Each room is unique adds to the charm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 869MarVin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
6.6 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
7.5 mi away
The Old Saco Inn
The Old Saco Inn
#1 of 5 in Fryeburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford House Inn
Oxford House Inn
#2 of 5 in Fryeburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Elm St, Fryeburg, ME 04037-1114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Peary Inn is close to all activities in the White Mountains, near North Conway. Come snuggle in by the fireplaces or relax on the 3-season porch. Numerous indoor and outdoor activities available in the mountain and lakes regions of western Maine. All rooms have private baths. Pet friendly with resident dog and cat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing