We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect holiday retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Saco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Saco Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect holiday retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I went up to visit our son in the area this past weekend and stayed two nights at the Old Saco Inn. We couldn't have been happier with our stay. The grounds are gorgeous, the inn cozy and charming, the room airy, clean and spacious, and Sandi and Pete, the hosts, couldn't have been nicer and more welcoming. Oh, and the breakfast was delicious as was the wine in their lovely country pub. A beautiful retreat - not to be missed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mount Washington Room and woke up to a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleCG002211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
139
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Old Saco Inn for two nights in the Lexington Room in the Carriage House, which is made to look like a horse stable. It was a fantastic room to stay in, very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The owners, Pete and Sandi were great hosts. It’s hard to believe they have only been doing this for over a year, they are naturals. It’s a great place to relax, sitting by the Old Saco River and just walking the property. The breakfasts were very good as well. The second night we were there, my wife and I along with Pete and Sandi and another guest couple ordered pizza and we ate at the bar located in the main lodge. Had a great time chatting about life’s experiences with them and some of the other guests. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back, maybe the winter time to do some snowshoeing or snowmobiling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I spent several restless nights scouring the internet for the perfect place to stay in New England for our wedding anniversary. As luck would have it, we found the Old Saco Inn on the TripAdvisor website. We read the reviews of the inn, which were all positive, and looked at the inn's website and we were sold! We counted down the days until our check-in date with much anticipation. Upon our arrival at the inn, we felt like we were in a fairy tale. The location of the inn is very serene and beautiful and it truly felt like a hidden gem. Pete and Sandi were terrific hosts. They are very attentive and helpful. Pete was quick to give us directions to get into town when a portion of the main road was closed. Sandi is a wonderful cook. We had a delicious and filling breakfast every morning and my wife and I miss waking up to Sandi's breakfasts!

We stayed in the Sweden Suite and it was beautifully decorated and had plenty of room for the two of us. On our first night, we were able to see the stars from the skylight above our bed. The room was very comfortable and even on a rainy day, we didn't mind staying in bed and watching TV and reading books. We enjoyed being able to use the canoes and kayaks at the inn and ventured out on a canoe on the river the day after we arrived. The inn is only about a half hour away from North Conway and we also took advantage of a 4-mile biking trail near the Maine tourist center. Thank you, Pete and Sandi, for such a wonderful time! We can easily see why you're rated the #1 inn in Fryeburg on TripAdvisor!

-Steve and Mouay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Me and my girlfriend rented a room at The Old Saco Inn for the long Labor Day weekend. We choose this Inn because of the good reviews we've seen on Tripadvisor. After a 2 mins drive in the tall tree forest, we could see the Inn in all it's beauty next to the Saco River with view on Mountains. Pete and Sandi are very kind, friendly and welcoming people, they're doing all they can to satisfy your needs and make you appreciate your stay. They also remembered our names and we appreciated this, I've never saw that elsewhere. We rented the Gabrielle's loft, roomy and very confortable with it's king size bed, very well-maintained and clean all around. We really enjoyed our stay and we're probably go back someday. Thank you again Pete and Sandi!

Room Tip: Carriage house with the roomier suites and lofts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bazinga29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We flew from Kent in England to join the family for my brother and sister-in-law's Golden Wedding celebrations at The Old Saco Inn. We stayed the first night near Boston with my niece, Wendy, and then drove to the Inn the following day in depressingly torrential rain. However, from the moment we entered the drive to the Inn, our spirits were lifted. On being greeted by our hosts, Pete and Sandi, we immediately knew what a good choice Wendy had made. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and they remembered our Christian names from that moment on. They showed us to the Sweden Suite, which was beautifully furnished and had all the home comforts we could want. We later discovered, when shown round the rest of the accommodation, it was all to the same standard. We have read many reviews on the Inn and they all say the same thing - wonderful hosts, excellent food and excellent facilities. The Inn is in the most picturesque setting with the Old Saco River running through the grounds . Words don't really describe it's true beauty. If you have the opportunity, visit the Inn and see for yourselves. Don't miss the holiday of a lifetime!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We recently celebrated my parent's 50th Wedding Anniversary at the inn. We rented out the entire inn for all of our family. Everyone agreed that the event could not have been more perfect! The main reasons for the success of the event had a lot to do with the inn itself. The setting is gorgeous and there is no shortage of things to do in the area. The inn and the carriage house are so comfortable and well kept. Each room is unique and beautifully decorated. Sandi and Pete are the most wonderful inn keepers and hosts. They made us feel right at home and we even felt like they were part of our family while we were there. Sandi is an amazing cook and prepared many delicious breakfasts and dinners for us during our stay. She even graciously shared some of her recipes with us! She was also a big help in the planning of the event. She found a bakery in the area to make us a special anniversary cake, and also arranged for a photographer to come and help us commemorate the occasion with some formal photos. I cannot say enough good things about The Old Saco Inn. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandi_saco, Owner at The Old Saco Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Because of the fun Sandi & I had in hosting your family (15 adults and 9 great kids), we should be thanking Wendy for making the Old Saco Inn her family reunion destination. It was wonderful to watch the kids make proper use of the acres of lawn, playing hide-and-seek or racing their bikes up the driveway; watching S get a kick (and everyone else jump) when he fired off his cannon every sundown; and take a small part in the extensive surprise planning for her parents.
We'll likely not see many of you back in this neck of the woods, but you will always be welcome should you decide to come.

Cheers,
Pete & Sandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

If I could give this place 10 stars I would! Sandi (who does all of the work) and Pete make great
hosts. Peaceful...serene...I chose not to hike or canoe...all of which are available...and instead sat
on my ^$# for two days by the banks of the Saco. They only serve dinner Friday and Saturday
nights so be there for that as they are very reasonably priced. Rooms are very nice, comfortable.
There is nothing not to like. Plenty of decent food in towns nearby. Pete even tends bar and when he is not there, it is an honor bar! When you need to get out of the heat or deprogram or relax and be left alone, perfect! Breakfast very good....I begged them to let me stay!
Becky and Phil Dangel Knoxville, Tennessee

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phildangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandi_saco, Owner at The Old Saco Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you Phil for a most positive review, and while Sandi & I enjoy reading every one of our guests reports, we have to admit we were both tickled with yours - she was beaming ear-to-ear and doing a little jig for the recognition of her place on the totem pole; me just watching her and planning your return visit... I'm thinking a little pre-winter boot-camp - felling trees, splitting and stacking wood, grooming the driveway (by hand), and then some snow-shovelling. Beth can hang with Sandi indoors where all the "work" happens.. :-)
Good having you guys to stay, and look forward to the next time!

Cheers,
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
11.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
11.3 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
9.4 mi away
Saco River Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Saco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Saco Inn

Property: The Old Saco Inn
Address: 125 Old Saco Lane, Fryeburg, ME 04037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Saco Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Saco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing