We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to the Fair”
Review of The Old Saco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Saco Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We returned to the Old Saco Inn with two of our adult children and a son-in-law for three nights and two full days, to attend the Fryeburg Fair. This has become an annual retreat for us, and this year our new grandson made his first visit to Maine/The Fair/old Saco Inn. Sandi and Pete have made some lovely changes, including the larger sitting areas in the great room, and a new bar, which they operate as a pub on weekends. We had drinks and a chat with our hosts after a long day at the Fair, and thoroughly enjoyed the bar selections and their company, which they shared generously. Gretchen Z, NJ

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

went up for a weekend retreat prior to the Fryeberg fair, really nice place and lovely warm innkeepers they serve a really nice breakfast that changes daily...and they will accomodate dietary issues. They have beautiful grounds for hiking. The only drawback is on hot days we did not see a swimming area but they are on the old saco river and have canoes and kayaks. Beautiful grounds ,library and hearth. You will not go wrong staying here

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arijac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Place was clean, excellent service, above and beyond. Breakfast was great, they even go out of there way if you don,t like something. Grounds were clean, even had trails for you to explore, also canoes and kayak to go down the river.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I went up to visit our son in the area this past weekend and stayed two nights at the Old Saco Inn. We couldn't have been happier with our stay. The grounds are gorgeous, the inn cozy and charming, the room airy, clean and spacious, and Sandi and Pete, the hosts, couldn't have been nicer and more welcoming. Oh, and the breakfast was delicious as was the wine in their lovely country pub. A beautiful retreat - not to be missed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mount Washington Room and woke up to a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleCG002211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Old Saco Inn for two nights in the Lexington Room in the Carriage House, which is made to look like a horse stable. It was a fantastic room to stay in, very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The owners, Pete and Sandi were great hosts. It’s hard to believe they have only been doing this for over a year, they are naturals. It’s a great place to relax, sitting by the Old Saco River and just walking the property. The breakfasts were very good as well. The second night we were there, my wife and I along with Pete and Sandi and another guest couple ordered pizza and we ate at the bar located in the main lodge. Had a great time chatting about life’s experiences with them and some of the other guests. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back, maybe the winter time to do some snowshoeing or snowmobiling.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I spent several restless nights scouring the internet for the perfect place to stay in New England for our wedding anniversary. As luck would have it, we found the Old Saco Inn on the TripAdvisor website. We read the reviews of the inn, which were all positive, and looked at the inn's website and we were sold! We counted down the days until our check-in date with much anticipation. Upon our arrival at the inn, we felt like we were in a fairy tale. The location of the inn is very serene and beautiful and it truly felt like a hidden gem. Pete and Sandi were terrific hosts. They are very attentive and helpful. Pete was quick to give us directions to get into town when a portion of the main road was closed. Sandi is a wonderful cook. We had a delicious and filling breakfast every morning and my wife and I miss waking up to Sandi's breakfasts!

We stayed in the Sweden Suite and it was beautifully decorated and had plenty of room for the two of us. On our first night, we were able to see the stars from the skylight above our bed. The room was very comfortable and even on a rainy day, we didn't mind staying in bed and watching TV and reading books. We enjoyed being able to use the canoes and kayaks at the inn and ventured out on a canoe on the river the day after we arrived. The inn is only about a half hour away from North Conway and we also took advantage of a 4-mile biking trail near the Maine tourist center. Thank you, Pete and Sandi, for such a wonderful time! We can easily see why you're rated the #1 inn in Fryeburg on TripAdvisor!

-Steve and Mouay

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Me and my girlfriend rented a room at The Old Saco Inn for the long Labor Day weekend. We choose this Inn because of the good reviews we've seen on Tripadvisor. After a 2 mins drive in the tall tree forest, we could see the Inn in all it's beauty next to the Saco River with view on Mountains. Pete and Sandi are very kind, friendly and welcoming people, they're doing all they can to satisfy your needs and make you appreciate your stay. They also remembered our names and we appreciated this, I've never saw that elsewhere. We rented the Gabrielle's loft, roomy and very confortable with it's king size bed, very well-maintained and clean all around. We really enjoyed our stay and we're probably go back someday. Thank you again Pete and Sandi!

Room Tip: Carriage house with the roomier suites and lofts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazinga29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
11.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
12.5 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
15.9 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
7.5 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
7.3 mi away
Oxford House Inn
Oxford House Inn
#2 of 5 in Fryeburg
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Saco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Saco Inn

Address: 125 Old Saco Ln, Fryeburg, ME 04037-4657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range: £111 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Saco Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Saco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing