We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall foliage trip”
Review of The Old Saco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Saco Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Old Saco Inn to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. This was our first ever stay at a bed and breakfast. Turns out this was an excellent choice. Pete and Sandi were wonderful hosts. They are a very warm and cordial couple, very willing to engage in friendly interactions with the guests. The secluded location was a real treat from the helter skelter of everyday life. The owners' pride of ownership was evident with their constant attention to the upkeep and maintainence of the property. The food was outstanding.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room selection in this facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

While this inn is out in the country, it is worth it. Our hosts, Sandy and Pete couldn't have been more accommodating or friendly. The breakfasts were first class. If we're ever in the area again, we would stay here again. Excellent price for location and accommodations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZ2FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Sandi and Pete have a wonderful place. Very quiet and relaxed. Sandi cooks an excellent breakfast. We visited during the Fryeburg Fair which was an easy drive from the inn. The fall colors were beautiful, and there are old covered bridges nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We returned to the Old Saco Inn with two of our adult children and a son-in-law for three nights and two full days, to attend the Fryeburg Fair. This has become an annual retreat for us, and this year our new grandson made his first visit to Maine/The Fair/old Saco Inn. Sandi and Pete have made some lovely changes, including the larger sitting areas in the great room, and a new bar, which they operate as a pub on weekends. We had drinks and a chat with our hosts after a long day at the Fair, and thoroughly enjoyed the bar selections and their company, which they shared generously. Gretchen Z, NJ

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

went up for a weekend retreat prior to the Fryeberg fair, really nice place and lovely warm innkeepers they serve a really nice breakfast that changes daily...and they will accomodate dietary issues. They have beautiful grounds for hiking. The only drawback is on hot days we did not see a swimming area but they are on the old saco river and have canoes and kayaks. Beautiful grounds ,library and hearth. You will not go wrong staying here

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arijac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Place was clean, excellent service, above and beyond. Breakfast was great, they even go out of there way if you don,t like something. Grounds were clean, even had trails for you to explore, also canoes and kayak to go down the river.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I went up to visit our son in the area this past weekend and stayed two nights at the Old Saco Inn. We couldn't have been happier with our stay. The grounds are gorgeous, the inn cozy and charming, the room airy, clean and spacious, and Sandi and Pete, the hosts, couldn't have been nicer and more welcoming. Oh, and the breakfast was delicious as was the wine in their lovely country pub. A beautiful retreat - not to be missed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mount Washington Room and woke up to a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleCG002211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
12.5 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
7.5 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
21.3 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Oxford House Inn
Oxford House Inn
#2 of 5 in Fryeburg
245 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Old Saco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Saco Inn

Address: 125 Old Saco Ln, Fryeburg, ME 04037-4657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range: £107 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Saco Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Saco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing