We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing get-away!”
Review of The Old Saco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Saco Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bernardston
2 reviews
“Wonderful, relaxing get-away!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights for our annual anniversary trip to the white mountains area...what a wonderful find! The room was unique and beautiful, the food fresh and delicious, the grounds wonderful and the innkeepers were warm and friendly. We will definitely go back.
-Jason &Sabra

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabraeliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    22
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
151
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Having been long-time residents of the Mt. Washington valley, my wife and I visited with Pete and Sandi at the Old Sacco Inn just prior to the Thanksgiving Holiday. Having lived in Virginia the past 20 years or so, we were looking to reconnect with the area. Our stay over three days was truly enjoyable and the atmosphere was very relaxing as opposed to the hustle and bustle of the more heavily trodden North Conway area. We experienced a fantastic dinner at the Inn while enjoying the ambience of the central fireplace and catching up with both family and friends. This location is in very close proximity to the Chatham NH locale with access to truly unspoiled scenic country heading out towards Evans Notch. This location also offers high-speed Wi-Fi and cable television allowing you to both stay connected and decompress when the mood hits you. Recommended stops would include a visit to the local Log Cabin Design business on Rt 5, who specializes in outdoor equipment and clothing. You may also want to make a visit to Sherman Farms, along E. Conway road for a variety of vegetables, cheeses, preserves and other local fare. One thing we can guarantee is that Sandi’s breakfast will prove to be unforgettable for getting your day started and that you can rely on Pete’s knowledge of the area during your stay!

Room Tip: We have stayed at both the Carriage House rooms and those directly part of the main Inn and enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valleytraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Pete and Sandi, the owners of the establishment, are very welcoming and provide a great atmosphere. My wife and I were in town to run a local race and could not have found a better place to rest our weary bodies afterwards. The food and pub was top notch as well and we will definitely be back the first chance we get!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Sweden Suite and would highly recommend it to others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My family of four (including two young teens) recently spent 2 nights at Old Saco Inn during a fall foliage trip in New Hampshire. What a wonderful, wonderful find -- truly a (somewhat) hidden gem. The other reviews pretty much cover the essentials, but I'll reiterate that Pete and Sandi are very gracious and interesting hosts and run an exemplary establishment. Although we stayed at several great B&B's during our trip through New Hampshire, Old Saco by far had the best setting (it's out in the countryside right along the Old Saco River) and the best breakfasts. After the first night, my wife told me that she would have been very happy to have used Old Saco as our base for the entire trip. Although the Inn is in Maine, it's close enough to the White Mountains to be convenient, and if that's your destination, I would highly recommend Old Saco. As a bonus, they also provide kayaks and canoes since they're right on the river. Although I was a little dubious about taking out the kayaks in the chilly October air, we had a great time. Unfortunately, we were leaving that morning and couldn't spend a lot of time paddling up and down the river, but it was a memorable experience. If we're ever in the White Mountains region again, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were easily able to sleep four (2 adults, 2 young teens) in Heather's loft, a very large, com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

The Old Saco Inn was a great choice and both my wife and I had a great time there. The room was immaculate and spacious, and the breakfast was a 10. Pete and Sandy were fabulous hosts and made us feel very welcome. A perfect place to get away in a great setting. Looking forward to coming back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marcosl329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I spent two wonderful days in this beautiful lodge. Nice room, beautiful surroundings and above all excellent hospitallity by the owners Pete and Sandi. I recommend it to everybody and I really hope to come back some day!

Wido Scholte
Almere (Netherlands)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wido S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our family rented 2 rooms at this GREAT country Inn as we traveled from Vermont to Maine on a fall foliage trip. The Inn is clean, comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast was wonderful and the ambiance in which it was served made it unforgettable. The owners themselves, Pete and Sandi, are kind and attentive and make this quaint place a #1 place to stay! On top of that, canoeing on the Saco River made this stop a highlight of our 3 week vacation. Don't miss staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panamanian-Style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
12.5 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
11.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Oxford House Inn
Oxford House Inn
#2 of 5 in Fryeburg
232 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
9.4 mi away
Saco River Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Saco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Saco Inn

Property: The Old Saco Inn
Address: 125 Old Saco Ln, Fryeburg, ME 04037-4657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Saco Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Saco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing