We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A river runs by it”
Review of The Old Saco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Saco Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A river runs by it”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I imagine the Old Saco Inn must be everyone's vision of a Maine inn vacation. The river, the woods, the peacefulness of the countryside. It was especially peaceful when we were there with the temperatures below zero at the end of February. But I am sure there is a summertime peace as well which I hope to experience in future. I leave you to look at the pictures for the accommodations, but innkeepers themselves may well be the very best part of the inn. Chatting with them was a pleasure in itself. Then of course, there were the breakfast omelets and the fire in great room just for us. There was nothing I would change about any aspect of the stay. Except for one thing: access to the lovely soaking tub. I am old and short. I told Sandy I thought they might consider putting a grab bar on the wall next to the tub for the other old short people who visit. As we were packing our cars, she came up to show me the bar they were going to install next to the tub that day. It is always a delight to come upon people who do very well what they have chosen to do. That's Sandy and Pete. They got approval from the town planning board for a driving range on the property during our stay. Golfers, take note!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen4664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete_and_Sandi, Owner at The Old Saco Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi C,

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so pleased that you and M. chose our Inn as your rendezvous place for two friends who live in opposite directions. We hope to see you both back again.

Thank you also for your suggestion - the grab rail in the Sweden bathroom was indeed installed that day, and if I could attach a picture to this response I would!

Regards,
Sandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
141
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is my new favorite weekend away place! The grounds, the rooms, the Inn, the food, and the awesome Hosts make the Old Saco Inn the best B&B in New England. The grounds and the Inn could be a setting for a Hallmark Card and the Hosts make you're stay incredibly comfortable and cozy with the perfect combination of hospitality, entertainment, and "at home feeling" that makes you not want to leave. A truly wonderful place to stay for any reason you can find to get away.

Room Tip: All the room are perfectly appointed. We stayed in the Carriage House for a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete_and_Sandi, Owner at The Old Saco Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi G,
Thank you for putting us in the "Hallmark Card" category! It's always a pleasure to host you and your family. We're looking forward to seeing you next week, and we'll catch up over a glass of wine in the pub.
Regards,
Sandi and Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My wife and our 9 and 5 year old went there for an overnight to get away for a ski day. The dining area was cozy and Pete and Sandi were very accomodating. We went snowshoeing in the late afternon with the kids and it definately tired them out. We had a lot of fun and would go back.
It was also nice to return to the Inn and have a hot chocolate after snowshoing by the fire in the lodge area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

From the moment we arrived, we knew we were going to love it. Absolutely gorgeous, both inside and out! We spent 5 wonderful nights in the Sweden Suite...we loved everything from the exquisite linens and the huge soaker tub, to the outside entrance which allowed us to come and go as we pleased. It was wonderful to be able to walk directly outside to explore the 65 acres on snowshoes and cross country skis. We started each day with a delicious breakfast, cooked by Sandi, the dynamo at the helm! We've never felt as comfortable and welcome as we did during our stay here. I can't even begin to explain how wonderful our mini vacation was...it was exactly what we needed. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish_Scott2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I've been coming with a group of friends/book club for several years and just recently spent two nights with my stepdaughter at The Old Saco Inn. Every room is unique, tastefully and simply decorated. The breakfasts are wonderful. In the winter they have snowshoes available for guests to use on their beautiful property, and in the summer kayaks and canoes to use on the Old Saco River right beside the inn. Close to ski areas, restaurants and outlet shopping. We got to Jackson X-country ski touring center in 25 minutes. The owners, Sandi and Peter, are great hosts, very welcoming, fun to visit with but not intrusive. Neat pub on the first floor where casual dinner and drinks can be had. Very well-stocked bar.

Room Tip: Over the years I've stayed in several different rooms. Some are larger, some smaller but all wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chc60710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete_and_Sandi, Owner at The Old Saco Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi C,
Thank you for your lovely review, it was great to see you again and to meet your step-daughter. We hope that the Bookclub will be able to come back again this year as they are such a festive bunch! I'm sorry that you're not here again this weekend - we are having BIG snow right now and the X-country skiing will be spectacular.
Regards,
Sandi and Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Wish we could have stayed longer! The property is gorgeous, and the hospitality is just right. We loved our room and the pub! Stay here if you are visiting the area, or just want a cozy spot to hunker down for a while.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank njack12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Extremely clean, beautifully decorated, and surrounded by incredible land along the Saco River. We stayed in the Sweden Suite that has a large soaking tub and separate entrance door. It's situated where you can stay low key or join other guests. Truly, I don't think there's a room you would not be happy with. I can't wait to bring the whole family and hope one of my kids will have a wedding celebration in this unique property situated close to North Conway and Bridgeton.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyFoxNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandi_saco, Owner at The Old Saco Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you so much for your outstanding review. We both really appreciate your comments and we're so glad that you had a relaxing and fun stay. This spring we plan to enlarge the deck outside the Sweden Suite to incorporate a private outdoor seating area for the room, and we hope that you'll come back to enjoy it!
Warmest regards,
Sandi and Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
11.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
12.5 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
7.3 mi away
Oxford House Inn
Oxford House Inn
#2 of 5 in Fryeburg
227 reviews
9.4 mi away
Saco River Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Saco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Saco Inn

Property: The Old Saco Inn
Address: 125 Old Saco Ln, Fryeburg, ME 04037-4657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Saco Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Old Saco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing