We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Ambience”
Review of Oxford House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oxford House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The inn is located in peaceful Freyberg, Maine, away from the frenetic tourist attractions of neighboring North Conway and its attendant traffic congestion. A stately well maintained home greets the traveler and friendly innkeepers and staff are committed to ensuring that their guests enjoy a memorable experience. The view of the White Mountains from the back lawn is simply breathtaking. The fine dining and delicious breakfasts are not to be missed. The guest rooms are comfortable and well appointed. For music lovers, Stone Mountain Center for the Performing Arts is just a few miles down the road, and Freyberg Academy and Freyberg Fair are in close proximity. My wife and I have been guests at the Oxford House for several years now, and we look forward to many more enjoyable and relaxing stays at the Oxford House Inn.

Room Tip: Room three has great views of the White Mountains and has been recently renovated with a luxurious n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIInnkeeper, Owner at Oxford House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

We are so happy to know that you had another enjoyable stay at our inn- it was a pleasure to have you back! Thanks for the mention of the newly renovated bathroom in Room Three. It was a big project, but the outcome even exceeded our expectations. We'll see you soon for another show.
Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

A lovely B and B with a wonderful dinner menu. The staff was all excellent and helpful. The only (small) negative was the size of some of the bathrooms. The beds were comfy and large. Breakfast was wonderful, as well

Room Tip: Some are bigger than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gr8fuldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed in the Porch Room Suite with our one-year-old son for two nights. It was very comfortable, the room is nicely decorated and with a very unique touch. There was lots of space for the little one to wander around in the suite. Our friends stayed in Room Three which I personally didn't find as cosy as our suite, though it is still a nice room
Natalie and Jonathan were perfect hosts and did everything to make us feel welcome. The food was fantastic. Breakfast was cooked to order and the menu changed daily. And when our son broke one of the plates, Natalie didn't make a fuss about it. I was very greatful for that, since it is not that easy to find decent B&Bs that are willing to take small children.
Thanks Natalie and Jonathan for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuebidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This property in the small village of Fryeburg, Maine is a small bed and breakfast with a full service restaurant. We only had one night to spend in the area, but we were so glad we chose the Oxford House Inn. There are only four rooms for guests, each one different. Our room was quite large, with two beds which was perfect since we had our eight-year-old in tow. Many B+B's do not allow children, so this was one reason we booked here. We had made dinner reservations as suggested, and were seated promptly. The ambience was exactly what one expects at a quaint New England inn. The owner is a trained chef and serves dinner seven nights a week. The menu is impressive, and the quality of the food was excellent. This is not the type of dining we would normally bring our son to, but he really enjoyed it. There is a children's menu for those who prefer it. The wine list was adequate with enough choices to please most diners. Service was terrific. We were too full for dessert, so we skipped that, but the choices looked delicious. There is a very nice bar in the basement. We didn't have drinks, but we went down there to see it. It's a casual space with a few extra tables for dining. The bartender was a friendly guy who told us the new owners kept him on when they took ownership about five years prior. After dinner we retired to our room for a great night's sleep in our comfortable room.
Breakfast is included with an overnight stay and is served in a separate dining room facing the mountains. It was quite good, with several meal options and a terrific view. We checked out with full bellies and a good night's sleep. The rates are quite reasonable compared to many B+B's we've stayed at. We had no complaints. There is parking on site.

Room Tip: Room one sleeps three people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My husband and I stayed in Sept 2012 here when we got married at the Stone Mt Arts Center in nearby Brownfield. We stayed in the Porch Suite. The room was lovely, clean, and quiet. We had dinner for two on the porch the night before our wedding and the food was amazing!!!! Breakfast each morning was delicious too and the dining room looks out over a beautiful scene of fields and hills. The owners were gracious enough to let my family and our wedding party take our photos in the backyard of the inn. The view is so beautiful and the backdrop to our photos in stunning!! We are so thankful to them for letting us do so as it really made for exceptional photographs. One last thing, although we didn't get to partake because we were too exhausted, there was a small fireplace in the backyard that people were gathered around at dusk while looking out at the mountains and it looked gorgeous. We look forward to returning for dinner soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahlia_09_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I can't say enough good things about this B&B; one of our all-time favorites and hopefully we'll return many times. The breakfast is still one that we talk about. Wonderful owners too. Plus they have a cool little bar located in the basement. Beautiful surroundings no matter what season it is. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I have stayed at the Oxford House Inn several times over the last 10 years, and I have indeed "never been disappointed" (as suggested by my repeat visits). My last stay (in August) showed that this inn has only gotten better and better. The setting is, of course, the same - a lovely small town main street location in front, with a fabulous view of farms and mountains in the back. The room was beautiful and very comfortable - I was in "room one", which has two generous beds and plenty of room - perfect for travel with the kids. Breakfast, the highlight of my visit, is served on the enclosed back porch, where you can soak in the view with your coffee and OJ. And the food was amazing. Unlike many B&B's which feature a buffet, the Oxford House breakfast offers a choice of seven entrees, all of which come fresh and hot (as appropriate) from the kitchen, with sides of meat (your choice) and fresh fruit. The Maine waffles with brown buttered peaches and local maple syrup were excellent, and they were preceded by a lightly warmed slice of the best banana bread I have ever had (and I've had a lot). Add to this the lovely mountain view (breakfast is served on the enclosed back porch) and you've got a top notch B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oxford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House Inn

Address: 548 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037-1146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range: £127 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxford House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price range (per night) $149-$205 USD. Clean, contemporary, Arts & Crafts Style inn celebrating rich history of the area. Traditional features include dramatic use of hardwood throughout and stunning mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Oxford House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford House Hotel Fryeburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing