We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loveliest place in the area!”
Review of Oxford House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oxford House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loveliest place in the area!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have been searching for a great place in this area of Maine, since my daughter goes to camp nearby. While Oxford House is a little farther out for us than some of the other places we have stayed, it is hands down the nicest and worth the extra drive. The rooms are lovely, especially those that have been renovated, and Natalie and her husband Jonathan are incredibly warm and welcoming. Better yet, the Inn has a wonderful restaurant, for which Jonathan is the chef. The food is so good that it is always crowded, so make sure to reserve in advance! But it is so nice to be able to have a glass of wine and not drive those windy Maine backroads afterwards! They also offer great vegetarian and vegan options, which I really appreciated. All in all a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a renovated bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarcyP345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    17
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
148
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Favorite bed and breakfast ever. Natalie and Jonathan and all the staff made is feel right at home. Fabulous breakfast in the morning and we ate dinner there as well. We stayed in Room 3 and LOVED it!! The view of the white mountains behind the inn is just breathtaking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We regularly attend events at Stone Mountain Arts and thought we'd try the Oxford House Inn after reading about it in the Travelin Mainer's column. It was all it was promoted to be and then some! The home is very cozy with a lot of attention to detail. The rooms (we had a change in plans and ended up staying 2 nights, so got to try 2 of them!) were very nicely decorated and comfortable. The only caution I would express is if you happen to be a larger person, you may be challenged by the bathrooms. This is an older home not originally built with barthrooms in every bedroom, so they had to be creative with fitting them into the existing structure. We had no issues, but thought some people might.

The grounds in the back are very relaxing with a peaceful view of the Mt Washington Valley.

Then, there was the food!!! OMG!! We dine out frequently and this experience was right up there with the best. My husband had swordfish, which was juicy and flavorful. I had a fliet that was also outstanding. The accompanying side dishes were also perfectly prepared a bit out of the usual fare. For example, I had thinly sliced potatoes prepared with blue cheese and bacon that are then baked. YUM! Choosing dessert was difficult. My husband had the strawberry pie baked in a biscuit pie shell and I had the banana streudel.

Everything about breakfast was also outstanding. Fresh OJ, great local coffee, strawberry cream chees stuffed french toast with real maple syrup...and side options of very tasty local sausage or bacon. I should also mention that you get to enjoy this food in one of several great locations. Our favorite was the glassed in dining room in the back.

Like I said,at the beginning, we are coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmsmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The inn is located in peaceful Freyberg, Maine, away from the frenetic tourist attractions of neighboring North Conway and its attendant traffic congestion. A stately well maintained home greets the traveler and friendly innkeepers and staff are committed to ensuring that their guests enjoy a memorable experience. The view of the White Mountains from the back lawn is simply breathtaking. The fine dining and delicious breakfasts are not to be missed. The guest rooms are comfortable and well appointed. For music lovers, Stone Mountain Center for the Performing Arts is just a few miles down the road, and Freyberg Academy and Freyberg Fair are in close proximity. My wife and I have been guests at the Oxford House for several years now, and we look forward to many more enjoyable and relaxing stays at the Oxford House Inn.

Room Tip: Room three has great views of the White Mountains and has been recently renovated with a luxurious n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIInnkeeper, Owner at Oxford House Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
We are so happy to know that you had another enjoyable stay at our inn- it was a pleasure to have you back! Thanks for the mention of the newly renovated bathroom in Room Three. It was a big project, but the outcome even exceeded our expectations. We'll see you soon for another show.
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

A lovely B and B with a wonderful dinner menu. The staff was all excellent and helpful. The only (small) negative was the size of some of the bathrooms. The beds were comfy and large. Breakfast was wonderful, as well

Room Tip: Some are bigger than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr8fuldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tübingen
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed in the Porch Room Suite with our one-year-old son for two nights. It was very comfortable, the room is nicely decorated and with a very unique touch. There was lots of space for the little one to wander around in the suite. Our friends stayed in Room Three which I personally didn't find as cosy as our suite, though it is still a nice room
Natalie and Jonathan were perfect hosts and did everything to make us feel welcome. The food was fantastic. Breakfast was cooked to order and the menu changed daily. And when our son broke one of the plates, Natalie didn't make a fuss about it. I was very greatful for that, since it is not that easy to find decent B&Bs that are willing to take small children.
Thanks Natalie and Jonathan for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuebidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This property in the small village of Fryeburg, Maine is a small bed and breakfast with a full service restaurant. We only had one night to spend in the area, but we were so glad we chose the Oxford House Inn. There are only four rooms for guests, each one different. Our room was quite large, with two beds which was perfect since we had our eight-year-old in tow. Many B+B's do not allow children, so this was one reason we booked here. We had made dinner reservations as suggested, and were seated promptly. The ambience was exactly what one expects at a quaint New England inn. The owner is a trained chef and serves dinner seven nights a week. The menu is impressive, and the quality of the food was excellent. This is not the type of dining we would normally bring our son to, but he really enjoyed it. There is a children's menu for those who prefer it. The wine list was adequate with enough choices to please most diners. Service was terrific. We were too full for dessert, so we skipped that, but the choices looked delicious. There is a very nice bar in the basement. We didn't have drinks, but we went down there to see it. It's a casual space with a few extra tables for dining. The bartender was a friendly guy who told us the new owners kept him on when they took ownership about five years prior. After dinner we retired to our room for a great night's sleep in our comfortable room.
Breakfast is included with an overnight stay and is served in a separate dining room facing the mountains. It was quite good, with several meal options and a terrific view. We checked out with full bellies and a good night's sleep. The rates are quite reasonable compared to many B+B's we've stayed at. We had no complaints. There is parking on site.

Room Tip: Room one sleeps three people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
6.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,384 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
7.3 mi away
The Old Saco Inn
The Old Saco Inn
#1 of 5 in Fryeburg
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House Inn

Property: Oxford House Inn
Address: 548 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxford House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price range (per night) $139-$189 USD. Clean, contemporary, Arts & Crafts Style inn celebrating rich history of the area. Traditional features include dramatic use of hardwood throughout and stunning mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Oxford House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford House Hotel Fryeburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing