We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Overnight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oxford House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oxford House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Overnight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Oxford House Inn. We were in the area to attend a concert at the Stone Mountain Arts Center. The location of the inn was perfect. After a big meal and a great concert we were glad for the short drive back to the inn. We didn't have the opportunity to have dinner at the inn, but did enjoy a wonderful breakfast there. Our room was very clean and tastefully decorated and the staff, very friendly.

Room Tip: The "Sewing Room" was lovely. If you need a roomy shower,I would ask to see if another r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    17
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
141
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The chef and the dining room can hold their own with the finest restaurants anywhere, and I'm from LA. Stunning view of the mountains from the dining room. Impressive, creative cuisine - farm to table- but more gourmet than rustic. Young chef is professionally trained (Culinary Institute) and experienced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniecohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was not my first visit to the Oxford House Inn and I was not disappointed the second time. The staff was friendly and attentive, the room spotless and our meals were not only delicious, they were presented beautifully. I look forward to going back again in the very near future and would highly recommend it to anyone finding themselves in Fryeburg and needing a place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Lovely meal, which began with feta and watermelon salad and featured numerous fresh and local products. The service was good and the rooms seemed lovely. I think they achieve what they're striving for (not striving to be top of the heap, but certainly to be very good). There were also burgers (grass fed beef) and onion rings on the menu, which were certainly good. The wine list was very limited and geared toward inexpensive wines (most under $50). For a really casual meal at a very fair price, this delivered. My watermelon and feta salad wasn't as good as the one I had at Coutume (a casual but really yummy coffee/breakfast/lunch place in Paris) and was maybe a touch too sweet (it has honey in it and the watermelon itself is actually sweet enough), but we thoroughly enjoyed it and would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdGrapeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

After another phenomenal visit to the Oxford House Inn, my fiance and I plan on paying this wonderful place an annual visit. We were blessed once again with gorgeous weather on the first weekend of August (we were there from 08/02/13 - 08/04/13) and Natalie and Jonathan Spak are amazing Inn Keepers.

What was extra special this year was we taking advantage of a few of their "extra" offerings and Natalie was so accommodating in working with me. She set up an awesome display in our room of fresh flowers (which i ordered specific the the favorite flowers of my fiance), gourmet chocolates and a a few pictures of the two of us which she was fine with me mailing up in advance.

The Porch Room again was our choice which is nice and quiet and in my opinion, the best room there. The food is top notch as we dined on everything from an appetizer of ahi tuna salsa with fried avacado to espresso crusted filet mignon, the having out dessert served to us outside by the fire pit Friday evening which was flan and banana strudel.

If you're craving good pub food - then Jonathan's is the place to go. After a day of canoeing down the Saco River on Saturday, we dined on buffalo shrimp, the famous stack of onion rings, mussels, and a burger.

The price is EXTREMELY affordable as we opted for the $400 weekend package of two nights, two breakfasts, and a 3-course dinner for both of us on Friday night.

High praises once again to Natalie and Jonathan. Thank you for giving us such a memorable weekend!

Room Tip: Spend the extra $20 and stay in The Porch Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI - USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

AMy husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Oxford House in Fryeburg, Maine. Natalie and Jonathan Spak were our very friendly and most accommodating hosts. I'll start my review by explaining a 'mix-up' that occurred when we checked in. We had booked a room (on the front side of the B & B) but when the clerk showed us to 'our' room it was clearly an upgraded room. We were delighted!! However, the 'true' guests soon arrived and they clearly and justly wanted the room they had reserved. We realized the honest mistake and graciously moved over to our correct room. While a tiny bit smaller, it was just as lovely as the first room, and provided a fine night's rest.
Because of the mix-up (and our understanding of the situation), Jonathan offered us a complimentary glass of wine to enjoy with our evening supper (for which we had already made a reservation). Jonathan outdid himself by not only serving us a fine wine, but, additionally gave us a large sample platter of their appetizer offerings - very classy, very generous, and very yummy. We finished our evening by going downstairs to their pub for an after dinner drink. The pub was filled with locals also enjoying the ambiance of the rustic cellar/bar atmosphere.
Our evening meal was outstanding - we couldn't have asked for a better meal.
The next morning, breakfast was served in the sunroom overlooking a field with mountain views. Coffee was hot, fresh, and promptly placed before us - refills coming as quickly as necessary. We ordered our breakfasts and while we were waiting, our young server brought out fresh, homemade, cinnamon sugar doughnuts. An absolutely delicious treat!
We have stayed in many B & B's from the eastern coast of Maine and Nova Scotia to the Oregon and Washington coasts and could comfortably say that this was one the finest B & B's at which we have stayed. If we should ever find ourselves in the Fryeburg area again, we would definitely chose the Oxford House.
You, the reader of this review, would be most pleased.
We wish Natalie and Jonathan much success with their endeavor.

Room Tip: A small amount of road traffic can be heard from the front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marybRIUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Having returned for a visit a year later this restaurant is every bit a wonderful and delicious as our first visit. The setting is in a charming b&b set amidst rolling green fields surrounded wih flowers and backed by a far off mountain scape. At subset the view is breathtaking and fortunately the food and service are just as amazing! A delicious Provence rose to start our meal set the tone and we enjoyed everything else we ordered. It was busy but service remained calm and friendly and efficient. Love it here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OysterLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
6.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
7.3 mi away
The Old Saco Inn
The Old Saco Inn
#1 of 5 in Fryeburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House Inn

Property: Oxford House Inn
Address: 548 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxford House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price range (per night) $139-$189 USD. Clean, contemporary, Arts & Crafts Style inn celebrating rich history of the area. Traditional features include dramatic use of hardwood throughout and stunning mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Oxford House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford House Hotel Fryeburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing