We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, warm, and accomodating”
Review of Oxford House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oxford House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just returned from a weekend stay at the Oxford House Inn and cannot say enough good things about the inn and the innkeepers. Natalie and Jonathan are amazing hosts. Things we especially liked were the food (both breakfast and dinner), the drinks, the coziness, and the spaciousness and cleanliness of our room (room one). We feel very lucky to have found this place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Oh, and the pub downstairs is a great find as well!

Room Tip: Room One gets lots of great light from the huge windows but gets some road noise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UltraEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Oxford House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

(This review covers multiple visits). From Thanksgiving dinners for ten to my wife and I getting away for a few days, The Oxford House Inn has hit nothing but home runs for me and my family. The dining is first rate - classics re-imagined, experiments that just work, authentically great cooking, mostly locally sourced, that's innovative but never fussy. Just straight up delicious, every time. Feels like not just great skills, but a real intuition about food, that sets Jonathan Spak's team apart. (And the breakfast that comes with an overnight stay will knock your socks off.) But start at the very cool bar downstairs, Jonathan's, where the same approach makes ordering (and drinking) the cocktails a blast. A friendly and skilled bartending crew complement what the chef and cooks are doing upstairs perfectly. The rooms are big, bright, well-appointed and comfortable. This is a terrific establishment, run by great people, in a beautiful part of Maine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIInnkeeper, Owner at Oxford House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Bill,
What an absolutely wonderful review. Thank you! Jonathan and I have such fun writing each new menu and trying out different ingredients, concepts and techniques. It is so nice to hear that our love of what we and our crew do here at the inn shows through and is noticed and appreciated by our guests. We look forward to your next visit!
Natalie Spak
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This B & B was the very best in a long time. No amenity was spared, no detail overlooked. The owners and staff were available, pleasant and accommodating. The food was imaginative and abundant. The room was spotless and comfortable.

Room Tip: the porch room suite -roomy and updated
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyson c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

As world travelers , we spent 2 nights in this beautiful, clean B&B. We loved the wonderful sleep we had from the great beds and especially the pillows. Very clean, colorful and the owners made us feel right at home. We shall return. Food was outstanding and the free breakfast was super. Thanks Jonathan Spak and wife. GS

Room Tip: They only have 4 rooms. Advice: Book early, you won't regret your stay here.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schbeider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIInnkeeper, Owner at Oxford House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for your wonderful compliments! They are much appreciated, especially considering the extent of your travels. We hope your path brings you back to Fryeburg in the future.
Natalie Spak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We took a 10 day tour of New England, we are from Ireland. On arrival we were disappointed on the reception we received, the first comment from the lady in the reception was sign the credit card slip, nothing else. We were shown the sewing room, the carpet was grubby, paint peeling from windows, and there was an extractor fan from the kitchen below outside our window that made an awful racket The shower was tiny a converted closet We requested a room change but were informed that it was not possible. The traffic noise also did not help as the Oxford House Inn is on a busy road. The reviews I read before I booked was at variance from my experience.
One positive note the food was very good but still the standard of accommodation was poor.

Room Tip: Don't stay in fryeburg go to North Conway its a great little town
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank captor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIInnkeeper, Owner at Oxford House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We are very sorry to find out through TripAdvisor that you were unhappy with The Sewing Room. This room has been and continues to be one of the most requested rooms by our repeat guests due to the spectacular mountain views and beautiful decor. The bathroom is indeed small, with a stand up shower as described on our website, due to the fact that the inn used to have just one bath for all four rooms. Two of our rooms we have been able to reconfigure with large tubs and/or walk in rain showers, but the Sewing Room retains the smaller bath, which is reflected in the room rate. However, for guests not interested in bathing in a tub, the charm and views of this room have made it a favorite. We continually are painting, steam cleaning and refreshing the rooms to keep up with high demand of summer traffic, and sincerely apologize if the Sewing Room was in need of some maintenance. We strive for our front desk staff to reflect our warm atmosphere by offering friendly, professional service. I regret that you felt your welcome did not show this, as you were greeted in our usual hospitable manner with a smile and given a tour of the inn & dining rooms before being asked to sign your credit card receipt, our one formality before we show you to your room.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experiences and would welcome your return to enjoy one of our larger rooms.
Best regards,
Natalie Knickerbocker Spak
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Living in Harrison, just thirty minutes away, we have the pleasure of dining at the Oxford House on a regular basis. While driving there we always talk about what new salads and main courses will be on the menu.
We were at the Inn Sat. 9/28/13 and were not disappointed. Another home run!
The salads were very creative and the whole dinner was just fantastic.

Great Job!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A delightful Inn. Thoughtfully designed, beautifully appointed with all the amenities one can want. The innkeepers, Natalie and Jonathan are clearly committed to providing the best experience for their guests. We had drinks in the pub downstairs which is warm and intimate. We had dinner by the fireplace in the main dining room located on the first floor. The menu is well thought out providing well balanced choices of local and sustainable farm to table fare skillfully prepared and presented. There is always something special about a small inn that is family owned and operated and where you feel that your hosts pour their heart and soul into the operation, such is the case with the Oxford House Inn. Our only regret, we didn't plan our trip so we could stay there 3 or 4 more days.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two room suite which was great. The other rooms I am certain are equally wonderful...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefboy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
6.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,398 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
7.3 mi away
The Old Saco Inn
The Old Saco Inn
#1 of 5 in Fryeburg
282 reviews
6.7 mi away
Merrill Farm Inn
Merrill Farm Inn
#10 of 30 in Conway
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House Inn

Address: 548 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range: £131 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxford House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price range (per night) $139-$189 USD. Clean, contemporary, Arts & Crafts Style inn celebrating rich history of the area. Traditional features include dramatic use of hardwood throughout and stunning mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Oxford House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford House Hotel Fryeburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing