We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have a reason to be near this area you MUST stay here!”
Review of Oxford House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oxford House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This inn is beautifully decorated, has amazing views, the food is incomparable and the service impeccable. The owners are gracious and the owner/chef has a palate that exceeds expectations. The entire staff is very polished and professional yet warm and welcoming. Jonathans dinners are varied and flavors are layered and complex. Our bartenders were well prepared for great wine suggestions as well as delicious and balanced cocktails. The chocolate martini was the best dessert drink imaginable. If you stay here you must dine in the evening, every one if possible. We were in town for a wedding and missed the amazing cuisine on the second night while at our event. Our breakfasts were also wonderful and lovely in the room with a view of the White Mountains. There are probably other B&Bs in the area but if your want to stay in one with wonderful ambiance, a 5 star chef and top notch service this is the ONE you want. Trust me! And I am type A and picky!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at Oxford House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you, Susan B, for mentioning the breakfasts as well as our cocktails. Our breakfasts have received accolades from several guests. And you may know that many of the cocktails are formulated in-house. We're very honored to employ such a creative staff who contribute their talents to the overall experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Oxford House Inn is hands down, one of the best Bed & Breakfasts I've ever been to. Jonathan & Natalie (the owners) really have something special here, It's difficult on where to start... The rooms are beautiful and clean, each one having its own, distinct character. Traditionally New England, with a modern twist, this blend transports guests back to another time, while simultaneously providing the comforts of the present. The staff are so welcoming and professional. The Inn's first floor is dedicated to their restaurant, People come from as far away as Portland, ME (which is known as a foodie paradise) just to eat here and for good reason. My first meal was Filet Mignon with a chocolate/espresso rub that was cooked to perfection. The Seared Yellow Fin Tuna is not to be overlooked as well. Downstairs patrons and guests will find a full bar that produces a mean martini. Perhaps my favorite part of the entire Inn is the view. Adirondack chairs cradle a fire pit in the back yard with vistas of the White Mountains and the Saco River, snaking it's way through low fields, the type of landscape that would inspire a Winslow Homer painting. It's pretty difficult to find perfection, but with its charm, food & drink as well as it's close proximity to everything the White Mountain Region of New England and Coastal Maine has to offer, the Oxford House Inn comes pretty damn close.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyroo1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at Oxford House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

We greatly appreciate your review, Andyroo1212. It's very fulfilling when a guest appreciates even the simple touches, like the Adirondack chairs with a view. I'll certainly pass along your comments to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A good location for visiting the White Mountains. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the Porch Room consists of a large bedroom and a small adjoining sitting room which was very pleasant for relaxing. Although it faced the busy Main Street it was not noisy.
Oxford House has a number of rooms to eat in as well as a cosy cellar bar. We ate in the hotel in the evening and the food was good. However, the breakfast was disappointing. The menu suggested that there were 2 or 3 courses but these turned out to be single options, so you could have the granola but not the cooked option. The waitress did relent and we had a small portion of granola with our poached egg.

Room Tip: We were very pleased with the Porch room which was pleasantly furnished and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIInnkeeper, Owner at Oxford House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Rover18,
Thank you for sharing your compliments regarding your visit to our inn! The Porch Room is a guest favorite by many and we are glad you found the fairly recent renovation attractive. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your food as well. Our cooked to order full breakfast always starts with a pastry, such as our famous Maine Blueberry Coffee Cake, Warm Cinnamon Donuts, Dark Chocolate Croissants or Toasted Banana Bread, followed by your choice of "entree" course from our menu. Our menus change daily and always offer 4-5 selections to choose from. The granola you mentioned is considered a full breakfast entree as it is homemade and particularly hearty, and comes with yoghurt & fruit, but we have many times before served a smaller portion for a guest wising to pair it with eggs. I will be sure to clarify this option to the breakfast server that took care of you on that day. All of our egg dishes are served with local home fried potatoes, fresh fruit, toast and bacon, ham or sausage if you desire. Thanks again for your feedback and recommendation on TripAdvisor!
Natalie Spak
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Oxford House Inn. Aesthetically beautiful inside and out, and boasting a grand view of the White Mountains, this is my go-to destination for comfort in Maine, or even the North Conway NH area. The Inn's rooms are plush and comfortable, modern enough, but not too much so. The restaurant provides EASILY the best food & drink within a hundred miles. The staff are all well trained, capable and friendly, and the owners are the epitome of hospitable. I couldnt recommend it an higher.

Room Tip: I recommend the "Porch Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at Oxford House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Aaron K, I'm happy to send along your kind words about our staff. They do work very hard to make each guest feel special, whether they be inn guests or those joining us for dinner. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences. We'll look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I've stayed at the Oxford House Inn for many years now, and it keeps getting better and better! The rooms are lovely - well appointed, attractive, clean (of course!) and very comfortable. Breakfast is incredible; they even offer a choice of entree. Everything I've sampled has been delicious, as one might expect from a chef-owned inn. Do yourself a favor and come early enough to stay for dinner as well! That this fabulous B&B is located in Fryeburg only enhances its appeal.

Room Tip: Clicked too fast -there is no pool! Also, this inn is more appropriate for adults or older childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at Oxford House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you, Katherine M, for your complimentary words. We work hard to make your stay more enjoyable than the last. And of course, we look forward to seeing you regularly for many more years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Oxford House for a wedding that we were attending in Fryeburg. The room was beautiful with great views! We heard great things about the restaurant but unfortunately didn't get to have dinner with them. We did however get to enjoy breakfast there and it was absolutely delicious. My husband and I will definitely be back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the sewing room, it was updated just enough but still had the charm we were looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJJR F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at Oxford House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you, AJJRF, for sharing your feedback. As you noted, the Sewing Room has been upated but maintains its original charm. While not all the rooms can boast the same view, each expresses its own identity allowing our guests a unique experience in whichever room they stay. We do hope you'll get to try the restaurant the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My fiancée and I went to the Oxford House Inn for our engagement. I surprised her with the trip and took her away to propose. Natalie was very accommodating and helpful in planning the weekend and keeping up the charade. We did the Ultimate Romantic Getaway package which includes the Porch Room suite, a dinner in the fantastic on site pub the first night, chocolates on arrival, a wine and cheese plate the second day, a couples massage in room which was heavenly and dinner in the dining room on the second night. I also chose to add on a horse drawn sleigh ride for the actual proposal itself and Natalie was able to set that up without any problem. The weekend itself couldn't have been better. The room was very clean and comfortable and well decorated and included all the amenities that one could have asked for. Staff was helpful and friendly. The proposal itself was a smashing success after hot chocolate served on a break from the sleigh ride on a chilly snow covered winter day. Last but by no means at all least is the food. We're not entirely sure either then or now that there is sufficient language to describe the quality and deliciousness of the food. It was fantastic, John is an amazing chef and the food there was on par or above the quality that I have had at any restaurant in Portland or larger cities. Over all it was a fabulous trip with lots of great memories and we would not hesitate to recommend the Oxford House Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at Oxford House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Congratulations, Benjamin K! It was certainly our delight to help plan your surprise. Our Romantic Getaway Package seems like it was custom-made for your special weekend, and we were happy to arrange the sleigh ride. Of course, we look forward to sharing a memory or two the next time you pass through our charming town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
6.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,412 reviews
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
13.1 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
7.3 mi away
The Old Saco Inn
The Old Saco Inn
#1 of 5 in Fryeburg
289 reviews
6.7 mi away
Merrill Farm Inn
Merrill Farm Inn
#11 of 30 in Conway
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House Inn

Address: 548 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range: £132 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxford House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price range (per night) $139-$189 USD. Clean, contemporary, Arts & Crafts Style inn celebrating rich history of the area. Traditional features include dramatic use of hardwood throughout and stunning mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Oxford House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford House Hotel Fryeburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing