We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treat all the way around!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oxford House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oxford House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A treat all the way around!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

The Oxford House in was just what we needed!
The Porch Room was wonderful - with a nice sitting area, separate tub/ shower ,
The Pub downstairs was terrific. A great space for casual eating and drinking --
We needed an early meal (so as to make a show at the Stone Mountain Arts Center which is close by in Brownfield). WERE WE SURPRISED! The food was incredible. Variety, wonderful preparation, just terrific.
And in the morning, the breakfast, was again, such a treat! Jonathan is a wonderful chef . -- and the view from the eating area was a treat (fields and mountains)
Natalie and Jonathan made our visit welcoming, comfortable and deeelicious.
I will recommend this spot to our friends, and plan on returning!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainetravelers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    17
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
141
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

I can't wait to go back. Great hospitality from Natalie, Jonathan and the dogs. Beautiful rooms and views and delicious food. Close proximity to Stone Mountain Arts Center.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newenglandtrue
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

My husband and I eloped at the Oxford House Inn on March 12, 2010. It was absolutely the perfect, stress free, comfortable yet elegant wedding that I dreamed of. We arrived on Thursday and were greeted by Natalie and her two adorable/friendly dogs. We enjoyed great drinks (Natalie's Favorite Cosmo was delicious!) and tasty mussels downstairs in Jonathon's, which is a really cool, hip bar and lounge area. Great food in a more relaxed setting than their two fine dining rooms.

Friday evening we eloped in the back yard, overlooking the beautiful white mountains, Natalie and her husband were our witnesses and were nice enough to take some pictures for us too. We had dinner in the dining room after our brief ceremony. It was absolutely delicious! Service was perfect, attentive but not too attentive. We enjoyed the pork bellies with risotto, which was definitely the best appetizer I've had in a long long time.

Our room was great, just the right size with a king size bed, 2 overstuffed chairs for lounging and a nice size flat screen TV to watch some TV or a movie. The breakfasts were great too, a nice little menu and you could choose from 3 options each day. My husband raved about the coffee and the view from the breakfast dining room is breathtaking.

Overall a great experience, I would come back in the winter to try snowmobiling (rentals are right next door) or in the summer to enjoy the White Mountains more!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newenglandtrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

Natalie and Jonathan were amazing hosts at this small but beautiful B &B. The Porch Room was crisp, clean and so cozy. The breakfast each morning changes but the food is consistent- delicious! My favorite were the apricot croissants and the organic scrambled eggs with chorizo, grilled Bermuda onions, black beans and cheddar cheese. Soooo yummy!
Jonathan's cooking continues to amaze you into the dinner hour. We had an amazing 3 course dinner by the fire place.
Natalie is a gracious host and inn keeper and was always willing to help with any questions . All of the little touches made such a difference. (Organic food options, local bath products and friendly inn keepers.)
This was by far the best B&B we have ever been to and cant wait to come back. Although they are not "pet friendly", they do have two cute "house" pups who make you feel right at home. We recommend this B&B to anyone who is ready to have a relaxing weekend away with all the comforts (and more) of home!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlyaparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

We've been visiting the Oxford House Inn for several years. We thought it was a great find, even before Natalie and Jonathan acquired the inn. However, since their arrival, the inn is even more enjoyable! The food is outstanding. Wonderful breakfasts are served in a room with a breathtaking view of the White mountains and the Saco River valley. The recent addition of Jonathan's Pub has added the option of a less formal atmosphere than the main dining room. The service is excellent, both in the inn and the restaurant. The guest rooms are spacious and lovely. This inn has a lot to offer, with it's location convenient to the NH mountains and the Maine lakes region.
You simply can't go wrong with this place!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisburg, pa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

We were in Fryeburg to spend a weekend with our grown children. We decided on the Oxford House so that we would be able to eat in the same place as we were staying. We were beyond pleased with our decision. The owners, staff, and dogs were so friendly. The food was amazing. The atmosphere was relaxing and pleasant. The only correction I would make at the inn is to upgrade the mattress. I woke with a backache each morning. Still such a small price to pay for all the wonderful points of the inn.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itisourtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

Our stay at the Oxford House exceeded our expectations on every level. Quaint, comfortable rooms in a wonderfully kept antique home with gorgeous woodwork throughout and beautiful mountain and field views. Set in the quiet country town of Fryeburg, yet convenient to outdoor activities like skiing, hiking and snowmobiling as well as North Conway shopping. The food at the Oxford House was FANTASTIC -- of the quality you would expect (or be happy) to find in Portland. In short, the perfect Maine experience. Innkeepers Natalie and Jonathan do everything they can to make guests comfortable. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeOnKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
6.6 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
7.3 mi away
The Old Saco Inn
The Old Saco Inn
#1 of 5 in Fryeburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
13.7 mi away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House Inn

Property: Oxford House Inn
Address: 548 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxford House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price range (per night) $139-$189 USD. Clean, contemporary, Arts & Crafts Style inn celebrating rich history of the area. Traditional features include dramatic use of hardwood throughout and stunning mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Oxford House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford House Hotel Fryeburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing