We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough Customer Service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sagadahoc Bay Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tough Customer Service”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I called them to ask about their cancellation policy. I booked on the 13th of this month, called back two days later and was told that I have to cancel 45 days out. Well, seeing that I only booked two days ago... that is impossible. I was then told that that is how it works in the camping industry. That said, I work in the hotel industry and know "how it works"... and as long as you cancel outside of 24 hours, YOU GET YOUR $$ back. Most of the time, even if someone cancels within 24 hours, they still give your money back... because it's GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE. Never mind that she told me at the beginning of the call that she had people who would take the site! Ugh, amazing!

In the end, she cancelled my reservation (even though I had not requested it!) and gave me my $ back... and I thank her for that. But, her customer service and policy are in need of a heavy review!!

I would recommend that they advise on the cancellation policy (as hotels and other campgrounds do) while on the line with customers... before they actually make the purchase.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FreqIndivTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0nty1, Owner at Sagadahoc Bay Campground, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We do understand how frustrating non-responsive management can be. We have updated our training and have made great strides in updating our campground. We would like to invite you to come as a guest for one night and show you all the improvements. We listen and hopefully respond the best we can. Thanks for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    17
    5
    2
    10
See reviews for
24
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We used the campground's website to "reserve" a tent-site on the water or at least we thought we did. Apparently, even though I gave them all of my personal info - including 13 digit credit card # and expiration date, I had only made a REQUEST for a campsite, not a reservation. Seriously, when was the last time that you had to give out your credit card info for something other than a purchase or reservation - not a REQUEST?!? We drove over an hour to find out our spot was taken. Their website still said there were lots of sites available (not true). We were offered one as a replacement - one with a "view" of the water (more like a glimpse through other folks campsites that were painfully close with zero privacy and awesome proximity to the port-o-potties), but opted to turn around and head home instead. Eric at the desk was less than helpful. He had no clue how the on-line registration worked and gave the impression that they were too busy with everything going on there to keep the website up-to-date with accurate availability information.

Room Tip: Do not use the on-line reservation site. Call and do not talk to Eric. Talk to Pat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0nty1, Owner at Sagadahoc Bay Campground, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We do understand how frustrating non-responsive management can be. We have updated our training and have made great strides in updating our campground. We would like to invite you to come as a guest for one night and show you all the improvements. We listen and hopefully respond the best we can. Thanks for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Me, my wife and our dog spent two nights on site 137. We made the reservation last minute and still snagged a site with a view of the bay. Overall good experience. Campground was remote, surprisingly quiet, and only a short walk away from a beautiful beach and a great view of the bay.

Our pros - location to the bay, views of the bay, water spigot on site, friendly staff, lobster delivered to your site, dog friendly

Our cons - porto potties, full bathrooms not close, dirty bath house, site close to each other

We'd definitely go again but get one of the sites with a waterfront view. This campground isn't close to many attractions. Grab a bite to eat a five islands down the road, check out the beaches at Reid State Park, or the town of Bath nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank LosCangrejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We rented a cabin at the campground for a week. The location was great, but we were very disappointed in our cabin! It was supposed to sleep 6 people but there were only spaces for 5, and the pull-out sofa bed was awful. The lawn was not mowed. We ended up picking up after the owners' dogs and picking up trash that was strewn over our yard area by animals because the owners had neglected to pick it up before nightfall. There was no screened-in porch, and the bugs were bad. What a waste of money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Momoftwo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0nty1, Owner at Sagadahoc Bay Campground, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We do take all reviews very seriously and we have taken steps to make sure the grounds are clean and well manicured. This cabin is set up for 5 people not 6 and if a customer shows up with 2 extra people, which we did not charge for, there is a struggle to come up with the extra accommodations. The pull out bed has an air mattress but is not included because not everyone wants the air mattress. We would have gladly provided one had they indicated they wanted one. As for the cabin itself, our cabins are deluxe cabins and have never had any complaints regarding their cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
5.1 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
206 reviews
9.0 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
485 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Residence Inn Bath Brunswick Area
5.2 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
422 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grey Havens Inn
Grey Havens Inn
#2 of 4 in Georgetown
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagadahoc Bay Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagadahoc Bay Campground

Property: Sagadahoc Bay Campground
Address: 9 Molly Point Lane, Georgetown, ME 04548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Georgetown
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Georgetown
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maine's ocean front camping at its best. Sagadahoc Bay Campground is located at the southern tip of Georgetown Island, nestled at the head of beautiful Sagadahoc Bay. Sandy beaches for sun bathing or playing in the warm gentle surf Rocky ledges for fishing Waterfront RV sites Tent sites on the water or in the woods Full Housekeeping Units/Park Models A truly unique feature anywhere is 1.5 Miles of hard packed sand for clamming and exploring the bay at low tide All this is topped off by a spectacular view of Seguin Island Light. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sagadahoc Bay Campground Maine/Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing