We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely family getaway to cherish !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sagadahoc Bay Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I wanted to have a compleetly natural, island wedding surounded by our closest loved ones. We didn't have much of a budget to acomplish this. Pat and Eric made us feel like we were with extended family, worked with us on our cost and payments and made our dream wedding a wonderful experiance. We had the beauty and srenity of the Ocean view with the simplisity of a backyard wedding. We had the water front cabin experiance and it was a cozey and homey little love nest. Our wedding guest had a very comfortable and clean R V and we were acomadated with plenty of room for our tent as well. We stayed for a three day stay and our only regret was that it rained for two days but the sun shone on our big day as though Pat had ordered it to be. I almost think she could make it so, she is a very warm and determind lady. I would highly recomend them for the best hide away back to nature experiance you could ask for.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a wonderful ocean view ask for any waterfront site there and you can't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Wonderful experience! I would definitely stay again at Sagadahoc Bay Campground!!

Staff: All of the staff were very friendly and welcoming. They offered to show us to our campsite since we arrived after dark. Campsite layout is a tiny bit confusing at first but it adds to the adventure!!

Site: We are tent campers. Our site, 132, was perfect with a view. Quiet and off to itself a bit. I would also definitely recommend sites 150-156. So gorgeous up on a hill/cliff looking out onto the bay. Fire pit with grill tops. Also, made this reservation last minute and still was able to get a great site. Running water at site!

The Bay: Very cool! You can walk out about a mile on the sand flats during low tide and watch the tide quickly creep back in. Also, right around the corner from Reid State Park which I would recommend. Gorgeous ocean view, fun rocks to climb on, saw some dolphins!

Some people could be turned off by the bathing/bathroom facilities but it's a campground people :) In the tent area, there were a few portapotties. I feel the campground could definitely benefit from a different type of toilet situation like a couple composting toilets or something like that? There is a bathhouse that we did not use that was a ways away from the campsite.

Really, the only reason I gave a 4 out of 5 is because of the price. It was about $50 dollars per site which is about double what I have ever paid for a tent site. I haven't done too much research on campground prices in coastal Maine so maybe this isn't too crazy?

So, YES, I recommend this campground!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a great week camping overlooking the water. Our site was clean, well maintained and had an amazing view! I really liked the running water at our site, nice touch that made making coffee in the morning easy! The firewood and ice at the camp store was cheap and plentiful. The bathroom facilities were fine for camping, the bath house was clean and well maintained. The port-o-potties were cleaned on a regular basis, emptied professionally twice a week. Our kids had a blast in the Bay, exploring the rocks that became exposed while the tide went out. They offer Lobster delivered to your site cooked and at off the boat prices! If you are looking for things to do away from the campground, you're only a short drive from Bath, Reid State Park and Boothbay Harbor. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were a little wary going into the weekend based on the mixed reviews, but we had a great time at the campground. We had a tent site overlooking the water that was nice and secluded. It was far from the bathrooms, so we just used the porta potties (pretty clean) and there was clean running water at the site. It was a bit of a walk down to the beach, but being able to walk all the way out into the bay was pretty cool. There were even some fireworks down by the beach later that night. If you're looking for a simple camping experience, we would recommend this campground.

Room Tip: Site 130 was a nice, secluded, water-view tent site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vickilee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a really nice time here. We have 2, children 6 and 8, and they played for hours in the Bay. It is not full of frills thats for sure (port-o-potties and only 1 "real" bathroom), but it was ok for the camping experience we wanted. Bring bikes and kyacks if you have them. We had a water site and it was beautiful (on the ledges). The other sites looked a bit buggy. Overall we had a nice time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avaharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Too little does sea respect the land in the way it does in the bay at Sagadahoc. Make sure to take the 40 minute walk in the mud down to the water at low tide. Consider the 7 day clamming license available at the office. The land's otherwise untarnished wildness is compromised by an overabundance of campers, trailers, and cars near the property's office building. At low-tide, local clammers can be heard in camp from across the mud flats. As the tide rolls out, seabirds dive for fish in view of many campsites. The owners offer lobster at off-the-boat prices, and will cook and deliver them to your campsite. Campsites feel a bit too close to one another, but its not that bad. We had 3 other tent sites in view from our tents. Bathroom and shower facilities are fine, but bugs could be cleared away more often. Mosquitoes weren't that abundant in early August. If you really value calling a corner of the woods your own while camping, consider another coastal campground. Overall, a solid and enjoyable Maine experience, entirely undeserving of its low average rating on this site.

Room Tip: Suite 160b has a double sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 333florence06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

IF they cleaned their portapotties more often. I LOVE being ON the water, but this campground is great! I truly think the complaints about the owners is folks not being accustomed to Nor"Easterners. Eric practically melted (sorry to blow your cover) when, after 10 days there, I expressed sincere gratitude for the respite he and Pat have created. It's truly restive, has all the amenities you need and is really well located to check out all the local beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sagadahoc Bay Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagadahoc Bay Campground

Address: 9 Molly Point Lane, Georgetown, ME 04548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Georgetown
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Georgetown
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maine's ocean front camping at its best. Sagadahoc Bay Campground is located at the southern tip of Georgetown Island, nestled at the head of beautiful Sagadahoc Bay. Sandy beaches for sun bathing or playing in the warm gentle surf Rocky ledges for fishing Waterfront RV sites Tent sites on the water or in the woods Full Housekeeping Units/Park Models A truly unique feature anywhere is 1.5 Miles of hard packed sand for clamming and exploring the bay at low tide All this is topped off by a spectacular view of Seguin Island Light. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sagadahoc Bay Campground Maine/Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing