We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average B & B” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coveside Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coveside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
TX
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Average B & B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here in late Sept. 2013 after being persuaded it was our best choice by the website. We chose the least expensive room which was certainly not cheap but was a small, cramped space w/o adequate places for baggage and toiletries in the bathroom. Tom, the host, was most hospitable and helpful. The website breakfast description had us expecting incredible breakfasts; they were adequate but not extraordinary. Homemade cookies and beverages were available each evening. While the inn keepers have done tons of work, the pictures are better than the reality. Georgetown Island as a whole is not as well maintained as many other areas we visited along the coast of Maine. We do not suggest the nearby Country Store for lobster rolls. Drive the short distance to Red's in Wiscasset for a great lobster roll..

Room Tip: Tom's room is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GFCTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covesiders, Owner at Coveside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We're truly sorry your stay at Coveside did not live up to your expectations and that you found us to be only "average". We try very hard to provide an exceptional place to stay on the Maine coast and are always concerned when guests are not fully satisfied. We can't deny that the room you chose is our smallest -- which we state clearly in the room description. But it has a great view, cheerful furnishings, all the basic necessities, and our most economical price. As for our location, perhaps you did not find Georgetown to your liking because it is quite rural, without many of the tourist amenities of the more traveled destinations along the coast. But that's why we, and most of our guests, love the island -- it is away from the crowds, unspoilt, and presents an extraordinarily beautiful landscape of rocks, beaches, and the sea. Thanks for your candor; we will continue to strive to make every guest's stay as perfect as possible.
Tom and Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
149
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cove the first week of October for a couple of nights on our way up to Bar Harbor. This is the first time we have stayed in a B&B, and chose the Cove as our first dive into the B&B experience. LOVED IT! Tom and Carolyn were wonderful hosts, warm and engaging, and full of information about the area. The grounds were beautiful, room was nicely appointed, clean and charming. "When" we return to the east coast, the Cove will be our first stop!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage red room. I liked having our own space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had an awesome experience at Coveside bed and breakfast. The breakfast was fabulous! It had been a long time since we had fried green tomatoes. I even made cheddar scones when I got home. I can't wait to try the apple cake recipe, Tom and Carolyn were great innkeepers and saw to all our needs. The property is beautiful. We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Coveside has been reviewed favorably by many and thus it is difficult to come up with anything new to add. This was our second visit and hopefully it will not be our last. We stayed in the Cottage Red Suite is a large room beautifully decorated and furnished. It has also has a generous porch overlooking the cove and we used it to our advantage bringing dinner back to the cove and dinning on the porch. The breakfasts are delicious and the hosts engaging. The other guests which I realize are random are interesting and from widely varying locations. Coveside is far from the tourist locations and that would be its strength and for some its weakness. But it delivers what is promised and provides a fond memory of a delightful stay.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two rooms and both were delightful. You can trust the descriptions they provide t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Tom and Carolyn Church provided dinner in their home the night we stayed. This meal allowed us to meet and get to know the other guests making this night one our favorites of our 2 week New England B&B tour.
When you arrive prepare to take a breathtaking first look at the cove in the Church's backyard. The exercise room was a nice touch. Had we stayed longer I would have taken a canoe they provide on the cove.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank limitedfixed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I spent four nights in the Red Suite, second floor of the cottage, with a view of the cove from our private balcony. Carolyn and Tom are the perfect hosts, serving great breakfasts with all local ingredients. A beautiful location in a small area (versus larger town), which is what we prefer. We will return.

Room Tip: Since we enjoy visiting with guests, we also like our privacy, so selecting one of the suites on the...
See more room tips
Green Features: Because my husband and I are avid recyclers, we appreciate it when inns/B&Bs have receptacles for recycling all paper/metal/plastic/glass products. It's just the right thing to do.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here with 3 nights of excellent accommodations and tasty and filling breakfasts. Carolyn and Tom are wonderful hosts who answer questions, laugh, and know a great deal about the area and where to visit and spend time. We were also fortunate to have a Tuesday evening dinner provided for those of us staying that night because the local restaurants weren't open - and it was fantastic! Wonderful views of the cove. Great atmosphere. A perfect place for a special get away.

Room Tip: suites in the cottage are roomy and very comfortable. Just make sure you let the others in the build...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent. They are a leader in environmental practices and that was great to have. No styrafoam cups here!
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madforsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
4.0 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
3.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
1.3 mi away
Grey Havens Inn
Grey Havens Inn
#2 of 4 in Georgetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
4.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coveside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coveside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Coveside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6 Gotts Cove Ln, Georgetown, ME 04548-3922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Georgetown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish inn on a quiet cove in mid-coast Maine. All rooms have views down the lawn to Sheepscot Bay and beyond; some rooms have fireplace, spa tub, private deck. Bikes and a canoe for guest use. Great kayak access. AAA rated 3 diamonds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coveside Bed And Breakfast Maine/Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing