We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure they don't double book”
Review of Grey Havens Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grey Havens Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Make sure they don't double book”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

There's one or two rooms without an ocean view. They have a reputation of double booking so get a confirmation number.
No kids under 12 and the walls are a little thin so you can hear noise in the next room.
The desserts are usually good but they prefer the microwave over the oven to warm them.
Look at other review sites as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrossFitBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
111
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had the pleasure of being able to spend the night at this great B&B in October. The grounds are beautiful and the owners were very welcoming. We wished we could have stayed longer! Highly recommended, even if only for a night away for a little peace and quiet.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We would get up in the morning, have a continental breakfast, then go out and sit in the wonderful old rocking chairs and just take in the ambiance and tranquil mood of the place. The morning sun warmed us up and allowed us just sit there and take in the view and surrounding sounds of wind and surf, along with the odd lobster boat heading out to their traps.....our host Dick made sure we were well looked after, with tips of where to get the best lobster roll, ten minutes away, and where to go for shopping.....all good stuff.......will come back

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at Grey Havens Inn on our honeymoon. It was perfect. The bed and breakfast was beautifully decorated and felt very cozy. We loved sitting on the wrap around porch in the evening enjoying the view with a glass of wine or a yummy blueberry martini from the bar. Our room very clean, and everything was high quality; sheets, towels, mattress. Breakfast is included every morning - very good coffee. The restaurant in the b&b is called 'Blue'. The food was amazing and we actually ate there 2 out of the 3 nights we stayed at Grey Havens. We would highly recommend staying in the sunrise suite especially to see the beautiful sun rise in the morning on the private balcony. Dick and Eve run a fantastic bed & breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linz9454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I had a crazy summer and just wanted to get away and relax, so we booked at Grey Havens Inn. The B&B is clean, cozy, comfortable, and quiet. Really quiet, so much so that we felt a little afraid to talk to each other at times!

The inn the right up the road from Reid State Park, which has gorgeous rocky beaches. It's also really close (~1mi) to Five Islands Lobster Co., so that's convenient.

We stayed in the Cottage Room, the cheapest of the options, because we felt like we'd just use the room to sleep and that if we wanted to look at the view, we'd go out to the porch. For us, that worked well. However, if you plan to lounge around in the room, definitely go for one of the rooms with a view, because the view is beautiful. The pictures you see are very representative of what you can expect.

The restaurant, Blue, was also very good. The breakfast included in your room rate is excellent and the dinners there are really good as well. The only thing about dinner is that for a B&B in Maine, the prices are a bit high. $15 for their signature blueberry martini. For comparison, the drinks at Eleven Madison Park in NYC (one of the top restaurants in the world) are generally $16. But if you're prepared to just have a nice, relaxed dinner and not looking for something cheap, you'll be really happy with Blue. I'd suggest making a reservation, especially if you want a table by the window.

If you stay here and plan to hang out on the porch, REMEMBER YOU INSECT REPELLENT. We got destroyed by mosquitoes day and night the first day when I didn't yet use my bug spray.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyoooootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I had an opportunity to revisit maine after a 19 year hiatus. Grey Havens was recommended to us and I am so glad we stayed there! Your first memory will be of the views from the huge wraparound porch. Stunning is an understatement! The decor of the inn as well as the rooms is tastefully done with a summer beach cottage feel. Our Bed was very comfortable and the upper turret room provided addittional views and cool breezes.
The food at Blue was should not missed! Everything was excellent! Waking up to the smell of sizzling smoked maple bacon was the icing on the cake, Yum!

Eve, Dick and Chuck are simply wondeful people who make sure your stay is well taken care of. We are already planning a trip back before the end of the season. Yes, it's Heaven!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeccomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Pleasant, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked this hotel on a website through Trip Advisor (NOT the hotel's website), and it said nothing about not accepting children. I even wrote that we were traveling with a little one in the comments section of the booking website. However, upon arriving, we were informed they didn't allow children under 12. The property is beautiful, they gave us a refund, and she did attempt to call a few other nearby inns (all were full), but that left us without a place to stay for the night on a busy Labor Day weekend. I fully understand the policy and have no issues with it if people are informed, but they really should include that important information on ALL booking websites. I even gave them a chance to make it up by kindly warning them I'd be writing a negative review, but nothing was offered (honestly, even coffee from their on-site restaurant would have done it)...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtP_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhavens13, Owner at Grey Havens Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
First, Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused your family, Our goal is to provide the highest level of service to all of our guests,
There are several reasons for our 12 and over policy; not the least of which is the safety of our guests should an emergency arise. Also, being located on a rocky shore, it is not conducive to young childrens safety. While we know your child is an infant, our guests seek the quiet peacefulness that Grey Havens offers. Children being children don't always understand that desire.
Our website clearly states our policies and we will make certain the sites we take reservations from do as well.
Once again our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
3.8 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
364 reviews
3.5 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
222 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
5.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
487 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Havens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Havens Inn

Property: Grey Havens Inn
Address: 96 Seguinland Rd, Georgetown, ME 04548-3634
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Havens Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grey Havens Inn on the rocky shores of midcoast Maine has been completely renovated and is open under new ownership! Eve and Dick look forward to welcoming you all back to the NEW Grey Havens Inn! Our fine dining restaurant "BLUE" features fresh local fare. Enjoy cocktails before or after dinner on the expansive deck or in bright and inviting great room. Make your reservations soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Grey Havens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Havens Hotel Georgetown
Grey Havens Inn Maine/Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing