We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PineCrest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
PineCrest Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gorham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We spent two nights this Fall at PineCrest and had a very enjoyable stay. Amy is a delightful hostess, and Matt is more reserved but pleasant. The rooms are very nicely appointed and extremely comfortable. The overall feel of the place is exactly as one would hope for -- an old New England Inn with lots of character. The restaurant is also outstanding. The breakfasts are decadent and dinner at the Inn was first rate. Delightful!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arowe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    22
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
41
107
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We had a great time staying at the Pinecrest B&B. Amy and Matt were extremely helpful in carrying our luggage up and down the stairs (quite a task). We had two wonderful breakfasts, elegantly served. They were both extraordinarily helpful and congenial.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We spent three nights in The Amherst room, had breakfast two out of the three mornings, and had dinner at the back-room-restaurant 91 South on a Friday night.

The room was cozy and nicely done. Matt and Amy, the owners, were accommodating and very nice. They even let us check in early so we could take a nap since we were so tired after flying in.

The entire experience was excellent. Unlike other B&Bs, our room was cleaned every day when we were out and everything was very clean. The breakfast was excellent; although there was no menu choice, they made it clear they could accommodate vegans/vegetarians or other dietary restrictions. It was as delicious as a breakfast at a dedicated brunch restaurant, and the dining area was clean and quaint.

Dinner at 91 South was awesome, although expensive. They really did a nice job turning the back dining room into a restaurant, avoiding the "hanging out in someone's home" feel that is common in many B&Bs.

We had an amazing time. If I had to nitpick, I'd say that The Amherst is best utilized in conjunction with The Medway since they can share a bathroom. Being a B&B, PineCrest isn't as superprivate as a hotel with double-paned windows and extra insulated walls. It does have three times the comfort, character, and charm, though, and the breakfast is about a million times better.

PineCrest has all the perks of a Bed & Breakfast and little to none of the drawbacks. We were very satisfied with our visit.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms avoid stomping from the ceiling. The Amherst works best when adjoining The Medway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

On our first trip to the east coast we mistakenly choose the Pinecrest Inn located in the remote area of Gorham for our first stop. We made the mistake of arriving 15 minutes early for check in and had the pleasure of meeting an annoyed Matt the owner who makes his guests feel less than welcome stating that check in was at 4:00 pm. I inquired about a place to have dinner in town and he suggested his on site restaurant which he could not speak more highly of, we proceeded to make reservations for the following night at 7:00pm which upon arriving in the dinning room were informed we had no reservations and due to a full dinning room the best he could do was sit us at the bar to wait or go back to our room till he had a opening. Since this was my husbands birthday we chose a more welcoming establishment. Other Inn guests were seated an hour late due to his overbooking dinner. The owners go out of there way to avoid guests and are annoyed if there is the slightest of problems blaming the guest first instead of addressing there needs. No complimentary cookies, no complementary lemonade... just $1.00 per bottle of water or drink from your bathroom!! Save your money for someone that know the meaning of HOSPITALITY!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FFireprot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitME, Owner at PineCrest Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
I am happy to hear what guests have to say, good or bad. We ask every guest if there is something they think we can do better or differently, let us know. Finding out someone isn't happy after the fact never allows you the opportunity to fix the situation. Pretending to be happy and content and then writing how upset you were just makes the review look passive aggressive. And it is borderline untruthful.

We aren't an Inn that leaves trays of cookies and lemon aid about. We price aggressively and don't want to charge folks for things that really don't matter. Remember, you pay for it all even its free. And refusing to wait 20 minutes for a table in an intimate awards winning restaurant hardly is cause for complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

The PineCrest B&B Inn was a wonderful surprise in Gorham ME. Our room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast was served in the onsite restaurant - absolutely delicious! The dining room is cozy and delightful. Matt & Amy are an absolute pleasure and they take care of all the details to ensure that guests have a great stay. We were not able to make it for a dinner at the restaurant ... however ... we heard the meals are outstanding! Make a reservation!

Room Tip: The descriptions on the website are excellent ... read through your options to ensure that you are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

My sister lives in Gorham, so we always stay at the PineCrest when we visit. It is comfortable, quiet and has lots of little touches to make you feel welcome. Matt & Amy are awesome hosts and Matt makes a great breakfast (come hungry!). We also had dinner there one night;it was fabulous! I had the 'lazy lobster' (all the meat removed from the shell) with truffle butter. Do not be put off by reviewers saying Gorham is 20 min. from Portland. Half the fun of visiting Maine is driving through the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

My wife & I were celebrating our fifth wedding anniversary and were looking for a quiet, affordable, romantic place to stay that was close to Portland. Pinecrest fit this description to a T. Matt & Amy were friendly and accommodating, and the house was beautiful and cozy. We stayed in The Hamilton, which was perfect for us. It has a private entrance right off the parking.lot which was great. The restaurant in the Inn was fantastic. We had dinner there Friday night, and breakfast Sat & Sun morning. They had live music on Friday, a nice wine selection and beer on tap.

Room Tip: The Hamilton was cozy and didn't have a tub, but was new, modern and had a private entrance. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JordanZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
9.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
5.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
6.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
9.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PineCrest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PineCrest Inn

Property: PineCrest Inn
Address: 91 South St, Gorham, ME 04038
Region: United States > Maine > Gorham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PineCrest Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Most Convenient Inn in Southern Maine. Close to Portland, Kennebunkport, Freeport, North Conway and so much more. The best place to relax and launch your Maine vacation or special getaway.So close to the Ocean and Beaches. Minutes from Lighthouses and Sabego Lake. Easy drives to the Mountains, Outlets, Shopping, Sight Seeing. Home of 91 South, fine food, 65 wines by the glass and Johnny Walker Blue. Our 1825 Era Victorian Inn will show you great hospitality with luxurious details at real prices. You will enjoy full served breakfasts, wireless internet, luxurious bath items, comfortable and elegant rooms, wine cellar and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your PineCrest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinecrest Hotel Gorham
Pinecrest b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing