We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Visitors”
Review of Weatherby's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake Stream
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Weatherby's
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Return Visitors”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have been coming to Weatherby's for years. It great if you love to fish. Not much else to do in Grand Lake Stream! The accommodations and food are excellent. We always do the America plan and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    2
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
13
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We love to fish and fish we did:). Caught several nice Salmon and many beautiful Small Mouth Bass. Accommodations were superb. Comfortable beds and delicious food. We had the privilege of having the owner as our fishing guide. Delicious shore lunch and excellent fishing opportunities!!! Jeff... You're amazing. Your patience and humor made our experience one that we will remember for life. Also, a huge shout out to our servers in the dining room!!! Weatherby's was an exceptional experience. We can't wait to go back... Sad we have to wait until next year:(

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BassMaster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searsmont, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was there as a companion to a fisherman. The fishing was delightful for my friend who caught a decent number of land locked salmon. Clearly this has been a grand place to stay in the past, a great history. I found the food and accommodation disappointing. We were greeted by a very friendly young Romanian who immediately offered us coffee, appreciated after a 4 hour drive starting at 4.30 in the morning. The coffee was only luke warm though and undrinkable. Gas stations serve much better coffee. On the whole, the standard of food in Maine is superb and I would have expected only the best at a Lodge with this reputation. There was no selection though and the beef served (after beef soup) was dry and tasteless. The screen door to the porch of our cabin was badly shredded and we would not have been able to sit out there in the evening. The bedside lights did not work and the only other light in the bedroom was too high for either of us to reach. I realize this is a 100 year old cabin, but..... On a brighter note, the guide provided for my companion, Roland, was truly excellent. He knows the river well and is also polite, knowledgeable and a good teacher. A great place to stay for the fishing and history.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelagh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmcevoy, Owner at Weatherby's, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are glad to know your friend enjoyed fishing for land-locked salmon with one of our hardworking Maine fishing guides. We pride ourselves on providing memorable fishing trips to Grand Lake Stream. We are sorry to learn you were displeased with the meals and accommodations. We truly appreciate letting us know your specific concerns and will address them immediately. As an older facility, we face many challenges but wish to offer the finest possible meals and accommodations. We will review your comments with our team to find ways to improve and exceed expectations. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us, they are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent fishing guide, could not fault his professionalism and ability to put you over fish. Food, sadly average to poor considering the price charged. Same comment could be made about the rooms as well. The staff were helpful, the owner could have been a little more welcoming. Location of course is stunning and the place is steeped in fishing and hunting history.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmcevoy, Owner at Weatherby's, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are glad to know you enjoyed your day on the water with one of our hardworking Maine fishing guides and please to know our staff was helpful. We pride ourselves on providing memorable fishing trips to Grand Lake Stream. We are sorry to learn you were displeased with the meals and accommodations. As an older facility, we face many challenges but wish to offer the finest possible meals and accommodations. We will review your comments with our team to find ways to improve and exceed expectations. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This traditional Maine sporting camp has something for everyone. Calling it a sporting camp isn't complete. You wouldn't be wrong if you called it a wilderness lodge for the whole family or a summer vacation place on the water. You don't need to hunt or fish to enjoy Weatherby's.

If you are interested in a sporting camp Weatherby's certainly qualifies. The fishing is excellent in Grand Lake Stream. I've caught more than 30 fish a day on several occasions with several decent sized land locked salmon in the 18 to 22 inch range. It's called Grand Lake Stream not Grand Lake River, a fish in the 18-22 inch range is a challenge in this small, fast water. The fish get strong from fighting the current all their lives. A 19" fish can weigh 2 pounds, a 20" fish probably weighs 5 pounds, it's amazing how a little increase in length adds to the girth. I've also been skunked on days when the stars weren't aligned. The water is so clear you can see the salmon holding in the current. This makes it easier to survive a slow day.

While the stream is famous for salmon there are other fish to be caught. Some of the less frequent catches come to the stream from Grand Lake or the flowage to the Atlantic Ocean. During 10 years of fishing I've had the good fortune of catching one Atlantic Salmon! Slightly more frequent have been catches of Lake Trout and large Whitefish. Both of these are a challenge to land in swift currents. Brook trout can be caught at times as well as Small Mouth Bass in the dam pool.

Many huge dark fish can be seen holding in the tail waters of the dam pool. Let others fish that spot, those fish are suckers, notable by their dark color and thick pectoral fins. Salmon will be holding a little downstream of the suckers, feeding on sucker eggs in the spring and on bottom dwelling insects in the fall. The salmon will be harder to see and a light green color. Sometimes it's easier to see their shadow first and then the fish.

Pick a rock off the bottom, it will be covered with Caddis larvae. Unless the fish are rising the caddis larvae will be your best gauge to match the hatch. Check the rocks downstream as well. The caddis will be there but the color and size will be different. A Brassie or a Copper John of the appropriate size and color are good choices but they must get to the bottom. If you are not catching fish make sure your leader isn't drifting ahead of your fly! For dry fly fishing a caddis emerger fished in the surface film will work most of the time. I like a parachute version on a curved hook. If the fish are rising you have to match the hatch. Fishing during a Hendrickson hatch can be incredible and sometimes frustrating. The air can be full of Mayflys but the salmon are rising to tiny black caddis or midges. If you like to use streamers then a Wooly Bugger is hard to beat. Jeff stocks all these flies at the shop in the lodge.

I've always fished the stream but the lakes and rivers also have incredible fishing especially for Small Mouth Bass. Many nights in the dining room I'd hear stories of 80 fish days from guests that had a guide show them the way in a Grand Lake canoe. Maybe they exaggerated with 80 but even 30 or 40 fish would be a great day.

If you choose to visit in October the stream is still open for fishing and the hunting season for upland birds is also open. This makes for a nice mix of stories at the evening meal. While the fishing is catch and release the hunters get to keep what they shoot, partridge and woodcock. There have been many times when the day's quarry would be shared with all the guest in the dining room. If you get a chance to try the partridge jump at it. It's like the best chicken you've ever had. Woodcock may not be to everyone's taste. The little medallions of meat look and taste like filet mignon, very rich!

I started out saying Weatherby's has something for everyone. I stayed several times with my wife who doesn't share my passion for fishing. She comes here to relax, read, sit by the fire in the lodge or our cabin. We share a picnic lunch on the banks of the stream at the "picnic pool". There are opportunities for canoeing, kayaking, tubing or swimming in the lake and stream. Walking, hiking, nature watching are right outside your door. The lodge is in a very tiny village, I think there are 4 stop signs! A few minutes by car and you can be in the wilderness with the eagles, moose, and bears.

The food is wonderful. The lodge is a museum of sporting history from the 1800s with photos of famous celebrity guests lining the walls. A wonderful porch with rockers and swing seats for nice evenings and a cozy fire in the library for the cooler nights. The cabins are rustic and constantly being updated. You'll have your own little log cabin with hot water and shower, sometimes a bath. Heat comes from a fireplace or stove if you what to make the effort or make use of the propane heat.

I haven't said much about the people yet and I'm asking myself why. I'd like to include the people of Weatherby's in this review but I'm finding it hard to separate them from the guests. Many of them are from the local area and share the passions and interests of the guests. Not that they insert themselves into "your" visit but they fit in perfectly with your visit if you are open to that. It's been a pleasure meeting every one of them. Some year after year, some for just one season but all fondly remembered. The place is busy with guests and staff in the mornings and evenings. Each morning the driveway is lined with canoes and trailers hauled in by the guides hired for the day. The lodge staff is busy serving breakfast, delivering picnic lunches for the day, connecting guests with their guides, pulling the days equipment together for the big adventure. In the middle of this are the guests that are having a leisurely breakfast, enjoying the attention of the waitstaff and kitchen. In the evening it's tired guests getting their gear sorted, a hot shower and then gathering at the lodge waiting for the dinner bell to ring.

You can probably tell I've enjoyed my visits to Weatherby's.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Fish in the stream or on the lakes during the day and relax with a fire in your cabin at night. Enjoy excellent meals with fellow fishermen. My son and I loved the Maine wilderness on our second trip together to Weatherby's. Looking forward to our next trip.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My son Scott and I first came to Weaterby's Lodge when he was 8 years old. He is now 43 and we have been back every year since with just a couple of misses. First, the fishing is great! There are great guides, unforgettable campfire lunches, moose, bald headed eagles, occasional bear. The lakes are beautiful and most of the day you fish this wonderful wilderness without seeing another person. The lodge itself is immaculate, the cabins the same and the food is superb! Best of all, The owners, Jeff and Beth and their kids go out of their way to do anything they can to make your experience the very best it can be, as does Frank who's hospitality is as friendly and helpful as it gets. And then there's the guests, many who have been coming for years. It's a very special group and it's so much fun to share your fishing stories and days experiences on the porches before and after meals. We have recommended Weatherby's to many of our friends and always receive their thanks when they return. Call them. I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Weatherby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weatherby's

Property: Weatherby's
Address: Grand Lake Stream, ME 04637
Region: United States > Maine > Grand Lake Stream
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake Stream
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Weatherby`s Hotel Grand Lake Stream
Weatherby's Maine/Grand Lake Stream

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing