We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Weatherby's
Nearby Hotels
Saint Stephen Inn(St. Stephen)
US$72
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winsome Inn(St. Stephen)
US$95
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rossmount Inn(Chamcook)(Great Value!)
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Andrews Motor Inn(Saint Andrews)
US$126
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Machias River Inn(Machias)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Beach Resort(Saint Andrews)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluebird Motel(Machias)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
45
2
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
2
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmallmouth bassgreat fishingtroutfly shopgrand lakefishing campwood stoveother guestsshort walkjefflandlockedlodgebrookporchaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 52 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2007

My husband has stayed at Weatherby's annually for the past 13 years, missing only one year in that time and I began going with him after our marriage 4 years ago. There is just no better place to be! The owners, Jeff and Beth, go out of their way to make everyone welcome. Breakfast and dinner are served in the dining room and are gastronomical delights. The breakfast menu includes everything from a full lodge breakfast, french toast or pancakes made with fresh "Downeast" blueberries, to a lighter breakfast sandwich. Sack lunches, with your choice of sandwiches, chips, fruit and a cookie, are packed for fishing or sightseeing or have your guide prepare you a delicious Shore Lunch. These world class fishing guides are available for salmon fishing on the stream or fishing for smallmouth bass, pickeral and white perch on one of the region's many beautiful lakes. The cabins are rustic, but very comfortable and well kept.
Weatherby's gives you that welcome "middle of nowhere" feeling, but it is actually quite easily reached, being an easy two hour drive from Bangor International Airport, or catch a float plane right up to the dock at West Grand Lake. However you get there, be sure you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveln_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

A nice place to come back to. My father and I had been here twenty years previously. He, in turn, had been in this area (at a camp on a lake) with his father in the 1930s. My grandfather was a hunter; my father hunts, but is especially fond of fishing, which is the main reason we came up here.

My two sons stayed free in the July special! You stay in one of the many cabins, which have plumbing and electricity, but are pleasantly rustic, with cord wood and deer heads and so on. The shower works (we are not fussy). The screens kept the bugs out.

Board includes two meals in the main house. Lunch is also provided, in a basket or pail, to take along while fishing. The meals are good, and voluminous. We learned to ask for only one blueberry pancake for breakfast, or to skip a course from dinner's soup-salad-main-dessert fixed menu. There's unlimited pink lemonade, and a wine list. The young wait-staff are absurdly nice and helpful.

The owners, Jeff and Beth, are natural, smart and pleasant. Jeff guided my father and elder son for a day on the St Croix. Besides enjoying interesting conversation about conservation issues, both my family members caught lots of bass and joined the 20-inch club. (A day fishing with a guide is $185 plus tip. That includes the canoe and bait and lunch and everything).

Our fellow diners/guests were nice to talk to. As often as not, Jeff might invite you to roast marshmallows and chat out back after dinner.

My father was also successful catching salmon with a fly rod in the river by the hotel. We all enjoyed swimming in the river. You can also easily walk to the lake and swim there, off a pier.

My other son and I decided to spend a day hiking. We got a map from the Land Trust and walked their trail by Pocumcus Lake. We saw a pine marten close up. There is also a trail around part of Grand Lake, by the hotel.

There is a free wireless computer network in the hotel. There is a shop in town, nearby, but one's needs are mostly met in the hotel.

They even packed us a lunch on the day we left.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank erichschlaikjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2005

It poured all weekend in Grand Lake Stream, but we still managed to have a great time at Weatherby's. It would be hard not to enjoy yourself at this very traditional sporting lodge in the Maine woods. When we arrived, a fire was already burning in our log cabin (a nice touch), and it was toasty warm, despite the cold, damp rain outside. The cabin was simply furnished and had GREAT beds ( I slept like a new born Christian), and there was plenty of hot water (yes, there IS indoor plumbing and electricity). Towels were thick and there were enough of them. Housekeeping was very attentive. Dining is American plan, and the food was very good and servings generous. They even made a delicious spice cake for my son's birthday and presented it, nicely decorated, at dinner one night, complete with a "Happy Birthday" song. Jeff, the owner, is a registered Maine guide, and many of the guests were there to take advantage of his skills and go bird hunting. We were there to fish for the landlocked salmon for which Grand Lake Stream is famous. We had a great time fishing, even in the rain. If you go be sure to meet Madison, Jeff's English Springer Spaniel. (Your own dogs are welcome, too). She will steal your heart. So, men, if you are longing to take to the woods, but your wife is longing for a relaxing vacation where she won't have to cook, then this is your place. No roughing it here. Just the natural beauty of Maine's woods, comfortable accomodations, great service and food, and a traditional Maine Sporting Lodge experience.

1  Thank Nativemainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews