We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Saint Stephen Inn(St. Stephen)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winsome Inn(St. Stephen)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redclyffe Shore Motor Inn(Robbinston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rossmount Inn(Chamcook)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Machias River Inn(Machias)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Andrews Motor Inn(Saint Andrews)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluebird Motel(Machias)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
23
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Maine is a great state, full of lakes and streams, woods and wildlife, and lots of things to do in the outdoors. Our hosts were John and Mary Arcaro, who are friendly and welcoming. Also, John is a Registered Maine Guide, who can be booked ahead of time to take people fishing and hunting during the seasons. If you want to be taken out to the best spots to catch fish, John has the skill and the boats! Plus he fixes a delicious Maine Guides traditional shore dinner in the middle of the day.

The Cabins are clean and comfortable, furnished with almost everything you need to relax and cook meals as well as getting a good night's sleep. One of my favorite things was the screened-in porch, where we could sit and enjoy the fresh clean air. Even slept a with the door open to the porch when the night temperature was not too low. Fully insulated and heated, the cabins are open year-round to take advantage of the activities of every season!

Location is so convenient, within walking distance of the river, the lake, and the dam. Driving is also an option because the road goes there and some parking available. Boat launches on both sides of the dam, but the main parking area for trucks and trailers is on the other side. The general store in town is a bit further, but it can be walked fairly easily.

I definitely recommend this as a good place to stay in the town of Grand Lake Stream, Maine.

Room Tip: All cabins are well-located, basically arranged around the main house and office. Parking right next to each cabin.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

My friend and I called last minute to spend some days hunting. They responded quickly and provided accommodations for our needs. We were welcomed into a clean and very comfortable cabin. The owners are the salt of the earth! You will love your time here.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

I discovered Grand Lake Stream and Canal Side Cabins in 2008 and it has been a favorite destination several times a year since then. John and Mary are the consummate hosts and the cabins are rustic and cozy, while still offering every amenity necessary for a pleasant and relaxing stay (heat, shower, TV (which never gets turned on), gas stove and a kitchen stocked with every gadget one might need to cook a five course meal!). Mary dries the cabin sheets outside and the linens are so fresh-smelling and soft that you are guaranteed to have a restful sleep! As other reviewers have posted, Grand Lake Stream is a step back in time and the lakes and woods are filled with breathtaking beauty. A short walk from the cabins is The Pine Tree Store, a classic old-fashioned general store where you can purchase anything from beer, bread, bait, a sweatshirt or any necessary sundry you might need. Another great thing about Canal Side Cabins is that they are dog-friendly and my dog has accompanied me on every visit and is greeted as warmly as I am by John and Mary! Grand Lake Stream is a fantastic destination, but the real draw is the warmth and friendship of your hosts, John and Mary (and Ken-Ken too -- the four-legged cutie in the photo!).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 847lindae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

If you're looking for a place to fish, hunt, or looking for a place to get away from it all and relax, look no further, as this is the place to go to. You haven't fished, or hunted, till you experience Grand Lake Stream with Maine Master Guide, John Arcaro. Canalside Cabins, which is owned and operated by John and Mary Arcaro, is warm in the winter, and cool in the summer and is very inviting. The hospitality is bar none, and you'll be hard pressed to leave this little diamond in the rough. Its paradise in a place you would least expect it to be!

Nick DeFlaminis

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

If you are looking for a place to go where time and people have not ruined over the years, the list is limited. There is however a town that is located in the middle of the north Maine woods that seems to have escaped the reality of todays fast paced world we all live in. It's a place where natural beauty is cherished and preserved and that town is called Grand Lake Stream, Maine

If your looking for strip malls, fast food restaurants or even one of those yellow lines down the middle of the road, point your car in another direction because you won't find it here. What you will see is pristine wilderness and wildlife all wrapped around waters that run crystal clear. It's a paradise for those seeking to relax and enjoy what God has created.

If your fortunate to live close enough, it would make a great day trip. For those of us that drive eight hours to be there, you will have to find a place to stay. There are a few choices available and each one offers a different experience. I can tell you that I have been staying at the same place for over twenty years if that tells you anything and that would be Canalside Cabins.

Rustic cabins that are well maintained and cleaned to perfection is what you can expect when you arrive. Your hosts are John & Mary Arcaro who are not only deeply concerned about the quality of their camps but also care about you having a good time during your stay. If you are looking for someone to help you with your fishing, hunting or overall recreation experience, you happened to be staying at the right place because John is a Registered Master Maine Guide. These cabins are within a short walk to the salmon pool, lake and general store.

Great cabins hosted by incredibly nice people and is surrounded by wilderness that you dream about. It just doesn't get any better than this...Once to experience Grand Lake Stream, it stays with you forever.

Bob Oliver

Room Tip: If you have a larger group, you want to ask for the Elm as it holds a total of 7 people. The other camps holds 4
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acoustic58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews