We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was relaxing yet exciting and so close to the lake that we spent most of our time on the lake.”
Review of Canalside Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake Stream
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canalside Cabins
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Remember that this is not the ritz. It is cabins in the woods with the best host and hostess. We enjoyed our time there and wil return in the near future. I knew my husband would enjoy it but I was a little hesitant at first. That soon changed iI had such a wonderful time I want to move there. The people in the town were most gracious and the Owners of Canal Side Cabins could not do enough for us. They made us feel so comfortable and welcome. We wil be returning and I just hope they have room at the inn for us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ziolkowskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

Charming outdoor getaway. Very nice owners!! We stayed over the fourth of July and enjoyed all the festivities. Swam in the stream and lake. Surrounded by gorgeous Maine. A truly relaxing vacation. Will go again next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Stayed at Canal Side Cabins to do some bird hunting. Great location on Grand Lake Stream. Comfortable, clean rustic cabins. John and Mary were great hosts. John is also Master Guide who made sure we saw plenty of birds, very knowledgeable and also very entertaining!!! Hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danceswithmooses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

The owners of these cabins were very attentive to our needs.The cabins were neat and clean,very comfortable.The location was very nice with hiking trails and boating available.We look forward to our next trip to Canal Side Cabins.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlesdavison5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

If you want to catch fish, meet great people to swap stories with......this is the place for you. Jon and Mary are not only accommodating, but make sure to take the time to make YOU feel like your home! And you'll love Kenny!
GLS has the best fishing South of the Allagash ! The people are great, go out of their way as guides, or just your friends to make your trip a success. I would recommend Canal Side cabins to the flat lander, most experienced fisherman, or novice as one of the most productive and friendly places to fish in the World. GLS is the place to be to relax and remember what life is all about.....Jon and Mary make sure you remember while you are there that this experience is available!
Can't say enough....if you're thinking about checking this place out, wait no more...whatever you are looking for, Jon and Mary as well as the community will make it Happen......from local store owner Curt and musician Randy, you'll have a memory of a life time, that will make you smile every time you think of it.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rambler9950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

My husband cannot say enough about the hospitality of our hosts at Canalside Cabins and to the entire community of East Grande Lake Stream. This was our first trip to this area of Maine and we are intending to make this an annual event.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudette207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We travel to Grand Lake Stream every year and absolutly love staying at Canalside Cabins. Whether it has been our annual summer or winter stay the owners of Canalside have always been extremly helpful in whatever we may need assistance with. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the surroundings beautiful. Whether you are visisting for a winter or summer adventure or to just get away and enjoy a relaxing trip in a wonderful spot, we would recommend this location to anyone interested in visititng the great state of Maine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip2010-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Canalside Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalside Cabins

Address: 31 Canal St, 31 Canal Street, Grand Lake Stream, ME 04668-4071
Region: United States > Maine > Grand Lake Stream
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake Stream
Price Range: £26 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Side Cabins located in Grand Lake Stream is a unique place in today's busy world. Imagine a small lakeside village, nestled in the woods, which has remained unchanged for generations. We are an all year facility with an array of Outdoor activities and Registered Maine Guides. All cabins are fully equipped with propane heat. We are proud to offer Traditional Guiding. Fly Fishing for Landlocked Salmon in the famed Grand Lake Stream to traditional Smallmouth Bass fishing on Big Lake. All types of hunting from Spring turkey to winter coyotes, Guided and non-guided. Visit us at canalsidecabinscom or call us Rates are per person, per night, based on double occupancy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canalside Cabins Maine/Grand Lake Stream

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing