We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”

George Perley House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
George Perley House
Ranked #1 of 1 Gray B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is everything you would imagine a B & B in Maine to be – from the thoughtful little touches (plush robes, chocolate stash, a bin of snacks, upscale bath products), to the impeccable rooms (ours had exquisite woodworking, gorgeous, comfortable furniture and a wonderfully diverse selection of books and magazines) to an atmosphere of quiet and tranquility (we looked out at a beautifully kept garden), to warm, welcoming and knowledgeable hosts (including Eliot, the Cat). Doreen and Cole both have just the right touch in creating a relaxing, friendly and aesthetically pleasing atmosphere – Though Grey may not be on your radar, it should be – especially this truly and uniquely wonderful place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely - the studio maybe a SLIGHT preference because of the private bath and kitc...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FanX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwperley, Owner at George Perley House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We both really appreciate it. We enjoy making our guests feel very comfortable and getting to know them better. Please come back and stay with us again.

Very sincerely,

Doreen & Cole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for George Perley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Doreen and Cole are wonderful innkeepers and their bed and breakfast is a very special place to stay. The bed was extremely comfortable and the house wonderfully peaceful. The breakfast was really delicious and Doreen and Cole very hospitable. It is really close to the Sabbath Day Shaker village and just a short drive to Freeport Maine. We will be returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a wonderful spot to while away a few days for rest, relaxation, and retail overload! The George Perley House, nestled among the trees in rural Gray, ME, is a delightful bed and breakfast. The rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated. There is ample space in each as well as large common areas. Breakfasts were delicious, made with care, and more than ample.

In addition, there is a long and interesting history to the house and its environs which make the stay both fascinating and informative. Doreen and Cole have spent many years rebuilding, restoring, and refurbishing the former Gray 'Town Farm' or 'Poor Farm' which was built circa 1830, although Cole explained that their research indicates that the building was constructed using beams from another, earlier building in Gray.

Though the George Perley House is in a rural setting, there are many great daytrips that can be taken in the area: the outlet stores and quaint shops in Freeport, home of L.L Bean; Portland, with its many restaurants and ferry trips to the Casco Bay Islands; Bath and the towns of the midcoast area; and easily accessible hiking trails.

We can recommend the George Perley house without qualification.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

If you are like us, looking to get out the city and into a peaceful woodsy setting, then this is just the place you need. Doreen and Cole couldn't have been nicer and the breakfast served was delicious each day. The suite had all the amenities of home. All the rooms are nicely decorated and have a warm and cozy feeling. Two of the rooms have a shared bath. Ours had its own bath as well as a small kitchen. Plenty of books to browse through as well.The location allowed for us to travel in many directions for things to do. If you are a lake person this is the place, with lakes all around the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We just returned today and stayed here 2 days for a wedding nearby and had a wonderful time. Doreen and Cole are great Innkeepers. We asked where to eat in nearby Freeport and they gave us several places. We chose one and then they drew directions. Never got lost and had a delicious meal.They talked about the property and what was happening with it. When we went to leave we asked where we could buy fresh live Lobster and again they told us where to go and drew a map. We bought 4 two pounders and will have them tomorrow for dinner.
Fresh fruit bowel, coffee, juice and Belgian Waffles is a very nice way to start your day.

Would recommend The George Perley to anyone who wants a quiet place away from all the high cost of Freeport but only 10 minutes away. They are also open all year.

Robbie

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PolloMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We enjoyed two nights at the George Perley House. It really is immaculate and Doreen and Cole have thought of every possible thing a guest could want. The internet is free and excellent strength. Breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbaker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This bed and breakfast is great! This is my second time here and Doreen and Cole make me feel right at home. The room was very comfortable. The breakfast(s) were awesome and loved that Doreen and Cole sat with me at breakfast time. If you are coming to the area you need to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gray
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
8.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
10.0 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Brunswick
291 reviews
8.7 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
967 reviews
10.9 mi away
Poland Spring Resort
Poland Spring Resort
#1 of 1 in Poland Springs
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Perley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Perley House

Address: 8 George Perley Road, Gray, ME 04039
Region: United States > Maine > Gray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gray
Price Range: £107 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the George Perley House in Gray. Maine. Built circa 1830, this elegant B&B sits on 12 acres of woods close to Pineland Farms, Freeport, and Portland with easy access to the seashore, lakes, and mountains. We combine simple Early American country decor with modern amenities for perfect relaxation. Enjoy a full country breakfast, such as sausage and Belgium waffles with Maine blueberries and real maple syrup. We look forward to meeting you and making your stay in Maine as pleasurable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your George Perley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing