We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality, comfortable rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moose Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moose Mountain Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hospitality, comfortable rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed at the Moose Mountain Inn for 9 nights while working in Greenville and the surrounding areas. The owners and staff went above and beyond to make sure I had everything I needed- both for personal comfort and to complete my work project. I really felt like family by the end of the week. The rooms are not new, but they are clean, the bed is comfortable and TV and wifi work great. There is also a nice view of Moosehead Lake and a hiking trail leaving from the property if you would like to stretch your legs. If you want a fancy hotel, this isn't for you, but if you want a friendly, comfortable place to stay while exploring the Moosehead Lake region, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COtraveler850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    23
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
36
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while on a Moose Safari. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The only complaint we have is that we could hear everything that the people in the room next to us were saying. We even heard their cell phone ring and it was set on vibrate. There was also a lot of noise from traffic on the highway.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShezzyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettlingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed there for ( unfortunately ) only one night on our New England - tour in august. We had a cozy newly renovated room. The motel is a perfect place to explore Moosehead lake, to go for hiking, biking or to rent a ATV. Staff is very friendly, the coffee for breakfast was the best we got in any motel on our tour :))

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We headed here from Portland on a whim and our expectations were WAY exceeded! Room was spotless and comfortable with all the needs - tv, wi-fi, microwave, fridge... but still a mountain feel with unfinished pine walls and dark beams. Owner and staff were extremely friendly and we had a fantastic time on our ATV ride (though we did get lost!) - ATV was AT the hotel so no leaving! We are usually Marriott stayers; we ventured off the path and were definitely not let down.

Room Tip: We had an upper floor room, ceilings were high and felt like a little quaint cabin in the woods
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We cut our trip short so we didn't have to stay in this "inn" for another two nights. The rooms were filthy, there were holes in the walls with tissues stuck into them, mosquitoes were splattered all over the walls, the toilet was leaking, the towels and the blankets were hard and thin (those are the only adjectives I can use to describe them) and the bathroom was extremely dirty. The area itself was not that great either. There were not a lot of places to eat (except for bars) and there really wasn't anything to do in the "town".

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chrissy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooseMountainInn, Owner at Moose Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Lynne, I’m so glad you took the time to write! I am very disturbed by your posting on trip advisor. We may not be a fancy place, however we do take great pride in our facility and will work harder to raise our standards! I noticed you waited over a year to post your review so i wanted to address your concerns and let potential new customers know about our progress. Over the last 2 years under our ownership we have made many improvements. Let me share with you what we have accomplished to improve the property in the last year. First of all the “mold” was a stain from the shampoo that we used, not mold. Regardless we have replaced all of the bath mats and shower curtains in every room to alleviate any concerns. We have started renovations in all rooms. This spring we have completely redone all rooms with knotty pine walls and new pictures. We have eliminated all smoking rooms. We have re-carpeted the rooms and started replacing fixtures, furniture and TV’s. Our pool has been redone and is crystal clear, however our pool fence is dated and is on the list for next spring. We have new signage, upgraded the hiking trail to the south, and improved the snowmobile trail on the N. side of our property. Our bathroom fixtures are a bit dated, but in good working order and clean. That’s next on our list of improvements. All linens are new, this year. But it is possible we may have to replace some. We replace as needed. We have repainted the outside of our property. New landscaping and flowers were added and will be expanded yearly. Our A/C works fine, if your unit was broken it has been replaced. Oh, I almost forgot….Despite the impression of water fountains in the plumbing, what you were referring to was condensation on the back of the toilet. When it is very hot and humid condensation does build. Our water is very cold from a well and this can become a problem on those humid days. In case you were wondering, we are required by the state of Maine to have our water tested monthly and it is excellent! Mosquitos? Why yes we have those up here in Maine. I will be sure to instruct our housekeeping staff to remove any evidence of them. Tissue in the wall, well let’s just say we are still looking…But if we find some it will be addressed immediately. I can assure you that we are caring and responsive motel owners and will always strive to improve our customer experience! We feel we offer a good room for a good price and we have enjoyed a healthy repeat business. For future trips please call!! If you are willing to spend a little more we can refer you to the areas high end lodging. Please call and we will be happy to recommend one of fabulous B&B’s in our Region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I called ahead to reserve on the day, the lady I spoke to was very friendly and made sure I knew how to find the place. It's a few miles outside of Greenville; if you're arriving late don't be like me - pick up some food in town before you head out the other side to the Inn! Saves you from going back and forth. There was a fridge and a microwave, as well as a TV and Wi-Fi of course.
The rooms are pine clad and have a bit of a retro feeling, I would guess it's been there a couple of decades, but it's all still serviceable, clean and comfortable.
A basic breakfast was on offer, and the staff are all friendly with suggestions of stuff to do. There is a trail that starts behind the Inn, it goes up to a good lookout point, I went another hour or so further along but there wasn't much point.
Anyway, in conclusion this was a reasonable place to stay, if you like things to be quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooseMountainInn, Front Office Manager at Moose Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us James! We hope you visit the Moosehead Lake Region again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This was a quaint inn 3 miles from downtown Greenville. It had a hiking trail (somewhat primitive) right next to the inn which offered a beautiful view of Moose Mountain Lake. The room was pretty clean although there was some mildew on the shower curtain so you could tell that it hadn't been washed in a while. There was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room; however, the refrigerator would freeze your food, and you couldn't adjust the temp. There was some road noise that you could hear in the room as the inn is fairly close to a 2-lane road, but I'm a light sleeper, and it wasn't that bad. What was bad, though, was that you could hear people walking/laughing above you (we were on the first floor). I would recommend getting a room on the 2nd floor. There wasn't much to the continental breakfast so you may need to supplement.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kb6425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
2.4 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
2.8 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
15.6 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#3 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Sterling Inn
The Sterling Inn
#1 of 1 in Caratunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
22.8 mi away
Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Mountain Inn

Property: Moose Mountain Inn
Address: 314 Rockwood Rd. Route 15, Greenville, ME 04441
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moose Mountain Inn is a small, locally owned Motor-inn near Moosehead Lake and surrounded by over 15,000 acres of protected Maine public lands. We are a value priced Motel located in a quiet setting of trees, mountains and wildlife on the side of Little Moose Mountain. Our convenient location affords our guest easy access to all that the Moosehead Lake region has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moose Mountain Hotel Greenville
Moose Mountain Inn Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing