We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Woodland Retreat on the Water”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wilson Pond Camps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilson Pond Camps
Belmar, New Jersey
1 review
“Woodland Retreat on the Water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed at the Top Secret Lodge at the end of July 2011. This place was more exciting and more peaceful than expected. If you are looking for a true "get away from it all" experience with the cabin in the woods overlooking the lake, this is it. The only noise we heard was the wind rustling through the trees and the sounds of loon calls and other birds. No cars driving by, no phones, no television, no noisy neighbors, and no electricity. The entire area where this property is located in nestled in privacy. They have gas lamps, potable water to drink, and running water to wash dishes along with other cooking and food storage ammenities. It's a clean, comfortable cabin that will more than meet your basic needs. It's a great cabin-camping experience. The hike through the woods to and from our truck was fun. Our dog loved it and we enjoyed the exercise (bring sturdy hiking boots). We relaxed, read books, hiked, canoed, and was able to see the stars because of the lack of streetlights and city lights that normally block the view. The private dock is great - we rented a canoe from Bob and Martine and explored the pond, which is really a huge lake to me. We drove into town and saw some sights (Moxie Falls is highly recommended and the B52 crash site) and we dined out at local eateries (Auntie M's is great for breakfast and Kelly's Landing for lunch or dinner). Greenville is a casual town with friendly people. I miss the light pine, woody smell of the forest. That region of Maine is covered in forest and lakes and the beauty is amazing. You won't be disapointed if you love to be around nature and want a private retreat. Owners, Bob & Martine care about your stay and have quite a selection of cabins at base camp in addition to the more remote and pet-friendly Top Secret Lodge. This was an unforgettable experience that left me longing to live in a house on a lake in the Maine woods! For now, we have Wilson Pond Camps to return to. The weather was gorgeous with the temperature in the mid-70's during the day. Bring a sweatshirt - it gets cool at night! Thanks again Bob & Martine!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beans234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nj
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Would recommend this pristine camp to anyone! Have never been somewhere so accomodating and clean! Bob and Martine are the kindest and most helpful hosts you could hope for.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We have stayed at Wilson Pond Camps many times and always look forward to returning. The cabins are always spotless and the owners are very helpful if you have any questions or problems. There are plenty of things to do (or not) depending on whether you are looking to fish, kayak, boat, hike or just lounge around and read, play board games and RELAX!!!
The scenery in this area is breathtaking and there are plenty of good restaurants in nearby Greenville to take advantage of.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reg697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OXFORD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

You won't find a better place to vacation in Greenville. Beautiful location, outstanding accommodations and the owners are some of the best people you could ever meet. We have stayed at Wilson Pond Camps for 10 years in a row. Need we say more?

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looncrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Wilson Pond Camps. Our cabin was Salmon Pond Lodge. It is very neat and tidy and everything is in perfect condition. There is lots to do in the area (Moose Watching, Hiking etc.) and we hope to be able to come back soon.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mapache17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeway, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

My husband and I haved stayed here many, many times over the years and have always really loved it. The cabins are neat and clean and almost all are right on the water. It is truly the place to go to de-stress!

There is wildlife to see (we've seen moose several times) and love the loons on the lake. We've also seen an eagle a few times.

It is a pretty area of the country and good to see by hiking or renting a kayak or boat. Our hosts - Martine and Bob - are very helpful and you couldn't ask for nicer people. Their son, Chris, has a guide service as well for sightseeing or hunting.

We highly recommend this as a relaxing, peaceful vacation - either to just read and get some R & R, or utilize the lake for fishing and boating.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollylucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Bob & Martine are the best. You feel like you are family as soon as you arrive at their piece of paradise. The views across the pond are beautiful. There are lots of loons calling out at night and swimming by during the day. We have been going there for ten years. We have stayed in every cabin there and love them all. I have one I love the best, but you will have to try them and pick out your favorite. It is very quiet and relaxing and we always hate to leave. The location is excellent, as you are away from the busy day life but close enough to stores, etc. so you don't have to travel for a long time to go shopping, eat out or get supplies. Some people go kayaking, fishing, hiking, etc. We just love to sit by the pond, read and relax at this beautiful place. GO, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: All great... depends on your needs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejustme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
3.4 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.4 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
19.4 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
19.5 mi away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Pond Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Pond Camps

Property: Wilson Pond Camps
Address: 15 Wilson View Dr, Greenville, ME 04441-4031
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Greenville
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside housekeeping cottages, less than 4 miles from downtown Greenville. Boat & Motor / Canoe / Kayak RENTALS. Wilson Pond is known for it's Land-locked Salmon, Lake Trout (Togue), and Brook Trout. The Pond is the home of numerous LOONS, nesting EAGLES, and an occasional MOOSE wading on the shoreline. Kayak or canoe our quiet waters and enjoy it all! Registered Maine Guide on site for guided moose tours, fishing trips and more. There is a no pet policy at our base camps, and the cottages are smoke free. 2 Of our larger cottages are open year round. Wilson Pond is known as the "Secret Gem of The Moosehead Lake Region." We are not far from town, and central to all the activities in the area. The "Pond" is actually a LAKE......Being over 4 miles long with depths over 130 feet. It has crystal clear waters for your total enjoyment! You can swim right in front of your own cottage. All of the cottages have their own docks, their own beach front, Adirondack chairs, picnic tables and BBQ grills (charcoal briquette type). It is drinkable well water right from the tap. The cottages offer electricity and hot & cold running water. Most have screened-in porches, wood stoves and automatic heat. All of the cottages are well supplied in the kitchens to do your own cooking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilson Pond Camps Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing