We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cabin in the wilderness”
Review of Spencer Pond Camps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spencer Pond Camps
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful cabin in the wilderness”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you are looking for a 5 stars resort with all the amenities, this is not for you. But if you are looking for something authentic, relaxing where you can enjoy a beautiful pond full of wildlife for almost yourself, then you found the right place.
Dana and Christine are the most welcoming hosts I ever had. They make you feel at home.
Regarding the cabins, no electricity, you pump your water, use gas lights for lightning. Canoes, kayaks, mountain bikes are on self service which is really nice to discover the area.
The first convenience store is 15 miles of dust roads away, so don't forget your provisions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macedon, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is our third year at Spencer Pond Camps. We will be back next year. This is the most peaceful spot. Dana, Christy and their daughters are like an extended family. We wish we could spend more time there each year. Our hosts make you feel at home and they go the extra mile to make sure you are comfortable in every way right down to the pillows on your bed. We have only been back 2 days and we miss it already.....

Room Tip: All are quite cozy. No need for any special tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dglemoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This place is as good as it sounds. A group of individual log cabins on the banks of its own lake, with kayaks and boats just waiting for you to get out there. Pump your water from the well, light the gas lights, get a good fire in the stove - as cosy as you like. It is a long way from civilisation, so come well provisioned and don't rely on the vegetable garden - not much to be had when we visited, but we did get some resh eggs from the chickens.

Very clean, with lots of towels and bedding provided.

Room Tip: We were in the original hut, which I think seemed the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spoons m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Spencer Pond Camps is a wonderful reprieve from the hectic daily environment in which most of us live. The accommodations lead you to a quieter and more natural rhythm. I went from reflexively looking for a light switch to enjoying natural lighting and the soft glow of gas lamps. The pond and surrounding area are beautiful, both from shore and canoe. Christy and Dana are welcoming and knowledgeable hosts committed to their guests experiencing a vacation from what many would consider a bygone era. The dirt roads those last miles to the Camps can make for a bumpy ride. But no worry, your final destination will be worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband, dog, and I stayed here for a week in late June-it could have not been a better vacation! Wonderful setting, clean rustic cabins, the quiet of life "off the grid," and easy access to hiking, kayaking, and lake-swimming make Spencer Ponds Camp an absolute delight. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My boyfriend and I took a trip to Maine and we couldn't be more pleased we found this place. Beautiful setting, clean rustic cabins, access to canoes, kayaks and bikes and PET FRIENDLY :). We enjoyed our time here very much, watching beavers, loons, and moose wade in the pond, taking walks on the trails, and swimming. The owners were very friendly and offered great advice and tips for good areas to see. Thanks again for everything, cant wait to come back for longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraSevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights in a lake view cabin. The cabins are cozy with a wood stove to keep the temperatures just right through the night or during long rain storms. The shower is a solar shower setup. You can either heat up water on the stove or let the bag sit in the sun to warm up. The kitchen was fully equipped: you only need to bring food including cooking oil. There are many hiking trails accessible from the property and boats for the lake and there are more hiking trails by car. Excellent spot for enjoying wildlife and the owners are very knowledgeable about what you can see near and on the property. Look forward to staying longer next time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BotanyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
17.4 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
42 reviews
15.2 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
246 reviews
17.4 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
73 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Spencer Pond Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer Pond Camps

Property: Spencer Pond Camps
Address: 806 Spencer Pond Rd, East Middlesex Canal Grant, Greenville, ME 04441-6100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind "unplugged and off the grid" in natural beauty, the way life used to be. Built in 1901, Spencer Pond Camps are an authentic and historic Maine Sporting Camp. They are the only cabins on the pond and sit in the shadow of Little Spencer Mountain. 14 miles via dirt roads from our closest neighbors, on an undeveloped and scenic pond. Recognized as an environmental leader, we offer you a choice of six rustic wilderness lakeside housekeeping cabins - each with its own unique personality. The cabins are fully furnished for comfort including screened porches, rocking chairs, woodstoves, libraries and homemade quilts on the beds.Canoes and kayaks are provided free of charge. Plumbing is "out back" and relaxation is everywhere, non-modernized without electricity and reminiscent of "Little House in the Big Woods" these cabins will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spencer Pond Camps Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing