We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, a different AMC experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gorman Chairback Lodge and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, ME
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place, a different AMC experience”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Beautiful place and very comfortable sleeping bunks. Nice to have gas lamps in cabin and good woodstove. Electricity and hot showers in lodge a plus. Kayaks and boats a nice addition. Was a bit surprised by dinner menus--not quite up to our former experiences with AMC, but maybe selections were because it was family week. Cabin could have used a bit of decor. Staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This AMC Lodge went above and beyond our expectations. The cabins were quaint and comfortable. The setting couldn't have been more beautiful - right on Long Pond, a beautiful, clean clear lake perfect for swimming, fishing and canoeing with gorgeous sunsets. The loons sang us to sleep each night. The breakfasts and dinners in the lodge served "family style" were fantastic. Healthy varied menus utilizing as much fresh local food as possible and the chef was very accommodating to dietary restrictions. We met and made friends with so many other guests who were like-minded in their love of the outdoors and recognized the importance of conservation. Trail lunches were made up each morning for guests to take with them on whatever adventures they set out on. Wonderful hiking around the camp and just beyond for all levels. And lastly, the staff. They were genuinely friendly, caring and helpful in all aspects of our stay. This vacation was by far the best we've ever had!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed at Gorman Chairback with my teenage son for two nights. Main lodge is new, bright, clean, and beautiful. Staff is welcoming and helpful. All meals are provided, and they were all terrific, plenty of food. Separate womens and mens bathrooms with two modern showers in the womens room, tiled, private dressing area, clean. Towels soft enough to rival a four-star hotel! Cabins were new and spacious. Ours had a full and a twin bed, very comfortable mattresses, and soft sheets and comforter. Many of the cabins are facing the Long pond (more like a lake in terms of size), which was pristine...clear water, no visible camps along the shore. AMC provides plenty of kayaks, canoes, paddles, and life vests. There is a dock to launch from, and there is another dock you could swim or boat to and then use as a swim platform. Plenty of trails on the property, and you can hike or drive to Gulf Hagas where you will get spectacular views and waterfalls...just prepare since you will have to cross a river and a stream or two. Gorman Chairback was a true oasis and it was great to meet the other people who ventured out there. Only one issue is that you need to be very careful following directions after you pass the gate house. You will be driving on dirt roads for many miles and there are several logging roads that could easily confuse you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We spent 5 nights at the new Gorman-Chairback lodge over February vacation. Some of our friends thought we were crazy to go to the middle of Maine in the middle of winter. Now we’re talking about a group to go back next year. You’re in the backwoods of Maine (with all the peace, solitude and adventure that this implies) but the service and conditions are anything but rustic. The staff was knowledgeable, hard-working and eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
The main lodge is a beautiful (new as of Jan ’11) facility including bathrooms w/hot showers, dining room, reading/lounge area (w/tons of books & magazines), small store and wood-fired sauna (pure luxury). The meals are superb with hot breakfast and dinner and all the fixings to put together your own lunch. All dinners included soup, fresh bread, entrée and dessert. There were also a variety of snacks and drinks available all day.
The 8 individual sleeping cabins are awesome each with their own wood stove (wood delivered to your doorstep) and all linens supplied. A lower cost alternative is the bunkhouse (our choice) with 12 bunks (broken into 3 groups of 4) and a wood stove. Bring your own sleeping bag for the bunkhouse (mattress and pillow supplied).
There are many skiing and snowshoeing trails to choose from. We did all snowshoeing; others seemed to do more skiing. The view from the top of Third Mountain over Long Pond is excellent and worth the trip. The staff was very helpful in discussing trail options. And did I mention the sauna?....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaleD1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
12.9 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
245 reviews
27.2 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
42 reviews
13.1 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
73 reviews
37.9 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
67 reviews
84.7 mi away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorman Chairback Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorman Chairback Lodge and Cabins

Property: Gorman Chairback Lodge and Cabins
Address: PO Box 310, Greenville, ME 04441-0310
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Greenville
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shore of Long Pond near Greenville, in Maine’s Moosehead Lake Region, and surrounded by 66,000-acres of AMC-owned conservation land, Gorman Chairback is the newest stop on AMC’s popular lodge-to-lodge ski route, as well as a spectacular wilderness destination on its own. Gorman Chairback offers unlimited opportunities for hiking and skiing on 70 miles of AMC-maintained trails, paddling and fishing for native brook trout, or simply enjoying the quiet beauty of the region. Newly refurbished private cabins include queen beds, wood stoves, and gas lamps. Home-cooked meals are served in the main lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gorman Chairback Lodge And Cabins Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing