We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow-This is the best Inn/B&B we have stayed in many years”
Review of Blair Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blair Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stay primarily in Inns and B&Bs during our travel thru out the world. This inn rates right up with the best.
It's hard to describe what makes an outstanding inn and B& B. The design, lay out, attention to small details, location, the room and beds, noise level both during day and at night,breakfast preparation, owner and staff interaction with their guest, quality of building and grounds, the placement of home grown flowers, and last but the must important is did the Innkeeper make you feel welcomed.
I lucked out for breakfast. I really like a well prepared French toast and theirs was to die for. Toasted on the outside yet moist inside. This took a lot of time to prepare. They also offered something new. A warm grapefruit cut in half with some spices and fresh berries.

If you're going to Moosehead Lake, stay here. Then go out to see the moose by using a guide and canoe.

Room Tip: Room no 1 has a great view and the best bed. We even asked about the brand of mattress so that we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bostonjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

I find myself struggling to find the words to do this place justice, but here goes. My wife and I got married here and from planning to execution, the Blair Hill Inn creates an inviting, relaxed and elegant atmosphere. In all of our travels, we have not found accommodations that we more highly recommend.

Moosehead Lake is a beautiful area of Maine, with a range of activities for families, couples, and anyone looking to enjoy nature and quietude. With easily the best possible view of the lake and mountains surrounding it, Blair Hill Inn complements the natural beauty and elevates it to something like heaven. The building, perched on a green hill with beautiful stonework and several towering pines, is majestic. They could sell me passes just to sit on the large porch and enjoy the view it affords.

The interior design is absolutely perfect, with tasteful, high end furniture and décor that doesn’t feel dusty or stuffy like some New England inns can. It strikes an absolute perfect balance of old and new features with such thoughtfulness in every aspect. Just when you think a day at the Blair Hill Inn is nearing perfection, you will witness a sunset from its windows that is unparalleled.

You also cannot go wrong with any of the rooms. Our family members booked up the whole inn for our wedding. The Inn became our home for the weekend and after spending time in each room, we didn’t at any point think someone drew a short straw. Each space is different, with a unique arrangement, feature or design that makes us want to stay in it.


Food is a big draw for this place and we loved all that we ate there. Our guests enjoyed lamb, swordfish, and pork loin for the wedding and every dish was savory and fresh. The breakfasts were awesome (I've never been excited over eggs until I tried theirs) and the service was, in keeping with a theme you might have noticed, perfect.

What really brings the whole experience together is the efforts of owners Ruth and Dan. They are the best. Over the course of our planning they did everything to be helpful, accommodating, and patient. They are two of the nicest people we've ever met and I can't imagine such a beautiful place in the hands of better people.

In summary, we will come back any chance we get. Even though it's a 5 hour drive from Boston and we may only stay one night, we know it will feel worthwhile. Stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This small luxury hotel is situated in a wonderful location overlooking Moosehead Lake. We stayed in Room 7 and the view at sunset and on a sunny morning overlooking the Lake was magnificent. This was the best sleep I had in a 3+ week stay in the US. The owners were very attentive and welcoming and with their assistance we managed to see a moose. Breakfast was a delight. We would have loved to have stayed longer than one night had our itinerary allowed it and will certainly return particularly when their restaurant is open. For the discerning traveller looking for a small luxury hotel this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 7 for the magnificent view over Moosehead Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheffie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Blair Hill Inn is very unique in the Moosehead Lake area - it's probably one of the only luxury properties in this region of Maine. Its perch overlooking the lake provides beautiful views, and the property itself is lovely. Our room was very nice (furnishings were in between a B&B and hotel) - we chose a more expensive room with a large bathroom and great lake view. Breakfast was very good in the mornings.

It is pricey (especially for this region - and compared to other options nearby) but a great upscale choice if you want access to the outdoors and the amenities of a great small hotel. We were somewhat younger than most travelers (in our 30s, while most couples seemed 50s/60s).

Though we've traveled extensively in Maine, this was our first trip to the North Woods and we fell in love with it. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This beautiful 1920s Victorian lovingly restored 8 years ago by the husband and wife innkeepers sits on a hill with the most beautifu view of Moosehead Lake and the White Moutains behind it. The guest rooms are lovely. The public rooms in the inn are equally so. Breakfasts are delicious and of the highest quality. The inn serves dinner three nights a week. We didn't eat there but the menu looks exceptional. This is an expensive inn but worth every penny.

Room Tip: You must get a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Dramatic Moosehead lake views, gracious hosts, tasteful uncluttered furnishings, unparalleled dining, wonderful understated service, sublime classical music-- the ultimate retreat from a hectic world!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myacomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stumbled on Blair Hill quite by accident three years ago and have been back every year since. Each year we add an extra day or two, and still we hate to leave. There cannot be a more idyllic location anywhere, the views in every direction are spectacular. The Inn itself is perfection, decorated with an elegance that highlights the beauty of the location and is comfortable and inviting without being pretentious or overdone. Dan and Ruth are wonderful hosts and there is something magical about their personalities that bring people together in a most wonderful way. We a have made friends that we look forward to meeting every year and we count Dan and Ruth among them. This is truly a special spot. Almost forgot, dinners are always a special treat, an evening to remember. Breakfast never disappoints, always creative, always something fresh from their garden, and always beautifully presented.

Room Tip: Hard to beat the views from room#1, but we have stayed in different rooms and they are all wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
0.2 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
257 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
2.8 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
45 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Blair Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Hill Inn

Address: 351 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range: £264 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Arguably the finest inn of inland Maine (and possibly the entire state)" Travel & Leisure Magazine. The Relais & Chateaux Blair Hill Inn is Moosehead Lake's most desirable country hotel, restaurant and spa. Guests from around the world return time and time again to this 10-guest room private retreat in the wilds of Northern Maine to decompress from the hectic demands of life. The stunning lake views, exquisite farm-to-fork cuisine, soothing spa treatments and peaceful atmosphere are provided amid an aura of understated elegance. Participate in as many, or as few, lake and mountain adventures customized for you as you'd like. Relaise & Chateaux, AAA 4-diamond, Forbes Recommended and a Select Registry Distinguished Inn of America. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hill Hotel Greenville
Blair Hill Inn Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing