We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless Elegance”
Review of Blair Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blair Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I doubt I can add much to the other reviews here, all of which capture the delights of Blair Hill very well. It won't be the cheapest place you will ever stay, but will be amongst the most memorable. I don't think I will ever forget the sunsets we experienced, sitting on the porch, drink in hand.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1, which enjoys the most breathtaking views of the lake and the mountains beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1066188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

If you're looking for somewhere to stay that has the elegance of a 5-star resort amongst the experiences of the outdoors, this place is for you. We stay in luxury hotels all over the US and wanted to travel to Maine to hike, exercise and see moose yet didn't want rustic, cabin-like lodging. The Inn is elegant, modern and completely updated and you still feel like you're in the thick of the Maine woods. We stayed in room 3 and room 1 and both were equally comfortable. Only thing we'd recommend is possibly staying mid-week through the weekend as dinner options in Greenville are pretty bad and the Blair Hill Inn is the only place with good food in town. The Inn only serves dinner Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays, and on Tuesdays there's a minimum number required for them to serve so you may not get dinner Tuesday. That would be our only complaint about Greenville is the options for food. If you can eat at the Inn you'll be fine. Lastly if you're looking for a moose safari, book through Northwoods Outfitters and ask for Steve as your guide.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annietopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Blair Hill Inn along with our friends and had a wonderful experience. Our rooms were spacious and beautiful. The Inn itself is flawless, the view of Moosehead Lake spectacular, and the food and service were beyond expectation. Ruth and Dan obviously enjoy being innkeepers, and they excel in that role. They were very helpful assisting us with activities that part of Maine has to offer. We thoroughly enjoyed the food, which was thoughtfully prepared using fresh, local ingredients. Outstanding in every way! Thank you for making our visit memorable Ruth and Dan. Sheila & Michael

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Blair Hill Inn near Greenville, Maine and recommend it to travellers through this region. The Inn is beautifully located on high ground on the eastern shore of Lake Moosehead with a wonderful view of this, Maine's largest fresh-water lake. There is a more than 100-year history to this property that is fascinating and the McLaughlin family who are the present-day inn-keepers have transformed this historic building into a world-class facility that exudes elegance and comfort well worthy of inclusion in the Select Registry, Distinguished Inns of North America. The inn-keepers Ruth and Dan and their entire staff were wonderful, attentive and helpful. The food preparation and presentation at Blair Hill Inn is truly outstanding. An added bonus is that the nearby (2 miles) town of Greenville is also an interesting visit. Whether you are an American travelling north for a destination holiday or a Canadian travelling south into the U.S., we highly recommend stopping at Blair Hill Inn for a few days. You will not be disappointed with your experience there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to get away from it all and Blair Hill was the entire package. The Blair Inn is top notch as far as service, hospitality, quality (especially the food) and location. The views to Moosehead Lake from the inn are a photographer's dream. The food we enjoyed there multiple times were excellent...especially dinner. Our room was calm, comfortable,quiet and clean. The innkeepers were helpful but I would do your homework on the area prior to arriving especially if you are an active travand arriving during a busy period (holidays & weekends). We desperately wanted to see a moose on our own and tried but no such luck!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CouperMaine, Proprietor at Blair Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words. 'Pure Bliss' is what we feel every time we look out at beautiful Moosehead Lake. You are right though, it is much more difficult to find moose on your own. That is why we highly encourage guests to have us arrange a privately guided 'moose safari' with a Registered Maine Guide who can help you find these great animals amid their natural habitat. Come back in June, we'll set one up for you and you can be guaranteed to see moose!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We can not say enough about the magic of Blair Hill Inn--it is a stunning place to unwind and to experience the best of the Northwoods. This is the perfect destination for outdoor enthusiasts or anyone who enjoys unscathed beauty. Ruth and Dan went out of their way to accommodate us and made our journey extraordinary! They shared their beautiful Inn, majestic gardens, and breathtaking views of Moosehead lake where we witnessed awe-inspiring sunrises and sets and ended our evenings star gazing from the rooftop deck. Breakfast was delicious.....though dinner is not to be missed. Bonnie made the 5-course meal especially enjoyable with her wine selections, ad conversation. For activities, Ruth's recommendations were spot on! We started a day long kayaking tour and finished with a journey at dawn through a maze of undisturbed ponds that brought us within an oars-reach of several moose! It was breathtaking! Ruth and Dan - thank you for an absolutely amazing stay! Jen & Christina

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyfishJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Myself and my husband had dinner here on Thursday night. Although we were not staying at the Inn the owner and staff treated us as though we were guest at the inn. The food their chef prepares is absolutely the best we had in Maine. We would even compare it to several great restaurants we ate at in Napa Valley, CA. If we ever get a chance to go back o this area this will be the place we stay at. If you are traveling to the area and considering a place to stay. I would suggest here the food, staff, views and owners will not disappoint you. Be sure you check their website to ensure you are in season so that you are guaranteed the best experience possible. I would like to thank them for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CouperMaine, Proprietor at Blair Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

We appreciate your vote of confidence! Thank you so much. You were a delightful couple and we enjoyed having you here with us for dinner. We want everyone to feel welcomed here , not just those guests staying with us. Have a great summer and come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
0.2 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
2.8 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
45 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Blair Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Hill Inn

Address: 351 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range: £265 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Arguably the finest inn of inland Maine (and possibly the entire state)" Travel & Leisure Magazine. The Relais & Chateaux Blair Hill Inn is Moosehead Lake's most desirable country hotel, restaurant and spa. Guests from around the world return time and time again to this 10-guest room private retreat in the wilds of Northern Maine to decompress from the hectic demands of life. The stunning lake views, exquisite farm-to-fork cuisine, soothing spa treatments and peaceful atmosphere are provided amid an aura of understated elegance. Participate in as many, or as few, lake and mountain adventures customized for you as you'd like. Relaise & Chateaux, AAA 4-diamond, Forbes Recommended and a Select Registry Distinguished Inn of America. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hill Hotel Greenville
Blair Hill Inn Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing