We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Destination Wedding......Beyond our Expectations!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blair Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blair Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island
Level Contributor
1 review
“A Destination Wedding......Beyond our Expectations!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

Our daughter wanted a destination wedding, a beautiful venue, fine food and her family there to share her dream. She hunted and searched on the internet and after much debate and discussion, perusing various websites, she and her fiancee chose the Blair Hill Inn.
We traveled up there expecting a pretty inn, some pretty scenery and an enjoyable time at the wedding. When we arrived, we were stunned. The inn sat majestically on a hill overlooking Moosehead Lake. The view was breathtaking! Mountains, woods, and a huge lake spread out before us, encompassing the entire horizon.
We were greeted by our gracious innkeepers, Ruth & Dan and their 3 resident pooches, who put on their best and friendliest manners. They brought us in and showed us around the inn. The decor was prettier that what you see on their website. Each room was unique, well-thought-out, and decorated with attention to detail, comfort, and love. There were views of the lake from every window of the common rooms, and the sun shown through the windows casting a cheerful glow in every room.
Upstairs we were shown to our bedrooms. Each was different from the other. Each beautiful in it's own way. Everyone had a private bath with all the amenities and immaculate! We thought we had landed in something out of "Architectural Digest".
We spent a wonderful weekend being wined and dined by our wonderful hosts. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. It was a gourmet's delight. Prior to the wedding, Ruth and Dan had given our daughter contacts for flowers, a baker, and photographer. All exceptional in their own right.
The day of the wedding dawned bright & sunny and the grounds provided a venue that was outstanding for the ceremony. The gardens were in full bloom with black-eyed susans and coneflowers swaying in the breeze. The entire inn was open to our guests to celebrate this memorable occassion.
Everyone loved the idea of spending the entire weekend together. The families got to know each other, enjoying the cameraderie, serenading the bride and groom,and generally having a good time.
If you are looking for that very special place that will give you memories to last a lifetime, this is the place. For a marraige made in heaven, heaven has its front door here.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank portboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
159
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Blair Hill Inn is simply wonderful. Our family recently spent four nights in this beautiful
B & B overlooking Moosehead Lake. The attention to detail was second to none: Our hosts, Dan and Ruth, were warm, friendly and helpful. The decor was just perfection-beautiful attention to every tasteful detail. Each morning we eagerly looked forward to the absolutely delicious breakfast served in the quaint sun porch. An added bonus was the gourmet dinner available Thurs-Sat., which was honestly one of the best meals we've ever had from Maui to Provence to NYC, etc. To cap off all the wonderful qualities of this special place is the setting. The grounds are lovely and the views are breathtaking. Gathering on the front porch each evening to watch the indescribably beautiful sunset over Moosehead Lake was the memorable and perfect ending to each day. We can't say enough good about the experience of staying at Blair Hill Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank family5travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Blair Hill Inn on the night of June 8th. We were in New England to celebrate our 7th anniversary. We chose this location because the reviews were very good and the website was appealing. We went to Greenville, Maine so we could go on a moose safari (we are all about animal excursions). Both the safari, with guide Chris Young and the room were better than we could have ever expected. The Inn is just as stunning as the pictures show and the breakfast in the morning was absolutely fabulous. We splurged on Room 1 and were not disappointed. We had the most beautiful view of Moosehead Lake and Chris got us back just in time to watch the sunset. I will warn that the inn is pretty expensive, but you do really get what you pay for. The service, accommodations, breakfast and overall experience made it a unforgettable anniversary. If you have the money to spend, this would be a great choice. You will return home with many wonderful memories and great pictures, too.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippinfromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2008

This is difficult for us to write as we don't really want to share this exquisite place with anyone else !

The Blair Hill Inn is the most perfect Maine inn. It is spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. All the bedrooms are totally and incredibly beautiful and most have a breathtaking view of Moosehead Lake.

We spent whole days on the porches and in the lounge in large,comfortable armchairs in front of a warm,log fire just reading and relaxing. If there is a better place on this earth we have yet to find it ! This is our second visit to Blair Hill and we intend to return for a week every Autumn for the rest of our lives.

Ruth and Dan are perfect hosts. The breakfasts are delicious and served in a beautiful light and airy breakfast room . In season and for 3 nights a week a 5 course dinner is served in the dining room. We found it to be delicious and perfectly balanced and accompanied by a complimenting wine list.

The Moosehead Lake region is a stunning place to visit. We would particularly recommend a seaplane ride with Roger Currier over the lake to Mount Katahdin and a moose safari with Steve from The Birches . Both unforgettable !

All in all our favourite Inn in our favourite region in the world.

  • Liked — Everything !
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing !
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francis47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

"Wow" is the best way to describe our recent stay at Blair Hill Inn. I had seen pictures of the view, however I can now say a picture just does not do justice to this amazing view and Inn.

Rooms are spacious, with fireplaces and upscale amenities. Not over-decorated or over done in any way. Comfortable and some of the best night's rest I've had in years.

Ruth is nice and knowledgable about the area. The Inn serves a relaxing, well prepared, presented and tasteful dinner (sure to please the pickest of 'foodies' without being pretentious) on Th, Fri and Sat in a dining room with that amazing view and a sunset, does it get any better than this? On other night's Ruth will make you reservations and/or provide recommendations -- many more choices than you might expect. A wonderful breakfast is served each day on a lovely enclosed sun porch.

They've caught every detail at this Inn. Do yourself a favor and spent several nights in a wonderfully relaxing area in the most extraordinary Inn. Everyone from the most discerning foodie to the most casual outdoorsy of us will enjoy a stay at Blair Hill. Great hiking, and outdoors fun here.

We'll return here many times in the future...

  • Liked — Everything...
  • Disliked — Can't think of even one negative!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TLA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, ME
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2008

I'm finding it difficult to find the superlatives to describe this inn. I've visited many inns and this one stands out among my favorites.

The porch offers a fabulous view of Moosehead Lake. Choose from comfy wicker furniture or the swing and watch the sun go down over the lake while sipping a cocktail with someone you enjoy, and I imagine you'll agree there isn't a more pleasant place you could be.

I love that the innkeepers leave the unoccupied guest room doors open, so we can peek in and see the rooms. While there were guests in many of the rooms, I got the chance to see a few of the guest rooms - each as lovely as the next. I would say the decor is "haute cottage" with plenty of sophisticated accents like marble floors, large showers, and fabulous chandelairs.

I'm a stickler for clutter-free, and while there are plenty of interesting things to look at, there is still plenty of room to put your belongings. The rooms are all large with high ceilings adding to the spaciousness. I think there are lake views from almost every guest room

The inn is high on a hill surrounded by beautiful grounds and stone walls. There are fresh flowers from the gardens throughout the inn. I was so impressed to find fresh flowers not only in our room but also in our bathroom!

I loved meeting Dan and Ruth, the owners. They are friendly, kind and gentle. Dan is the breakfast cook - I had a fabulous breakfast of french toast topped with a compote of sauteed bananas, pineapples and mangos. The poached pears were probably the best I've ever tasted.

We also had dinner here. It's a five course dinner, with one after another treasure to the palatte. Make sure to time your stay with when they serve dinner, if possible. This treat is only on Thurs, Fri and Sat. (If you have to time it otherwise, don't worry, it's still worth it).

I give Blair Hill Inn my highest recommendation.

  • Liked — innkeepers, food, view, rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CousinsIslandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2008

Enough cannot be said about The Blair Hill Inn, and I consider myself fortunate to have spent two glorious nights there. We were welcomed by all of the dogs and Ruth and since we were the only guests in the inn she allowed us to choose between rooms 5 and 6. Though both rooms were magnificent, we decided to take the upgrade and chose Room #6. The room is amazing; people dream of staying in a place like the Blair Hill Inn. Its comforts, amenities, breakfasts, and of course, the views are incomparable. Between soaking in the deep bathtub, napping on the window seat and being overwhelmed by the breathtaking view, I truly have never felt more relaxed nor more extraordinary. It is perfect. As I’m sure many have felt before me, we wished we could have stayed forever. Therefore, it’s a guarantee, we’ll be back.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mjbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
0.2 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
20.7 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
16.2 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Inn by the River
Inn by the River
#1 of 1 in The Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Hill Inn

Property: Blair Hill Inn
Address: 351 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Arugably the finest inn of inland Maine (and possibly the entire state)" Travel & Leisure Magazine. Here is a refreshingly distinctive inn that thrills the most discriminating traveler. Few places possess such dramatic landscape and magnitude of lake and mountain views. With sparkling views at every turn, the inn's fresh and stylish elegance delights guests from all over the world. Sumptuous cuisine and truly warm service await your visit. Blair Hill Inn - genuine, refined and welcoming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hill Hotel Greenville
Blair Hill Inn Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing