We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in the middle of Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blair Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blair Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxury in the middle of Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2007

This place is simply amazing. Normally, you have to sacrifice luxury and epicurean delights to have fun in nature. You certainly do not have to sacrifice at the Blair Hill Inn. The food and wine are the best you will find for miles and miles. Ruth coordinates with Northwoods Outfitters all of your daily hikes and canoe trips, etc. Unwind at the end of the day on their impeccable porch and sip a blueberry martini while watching the sun set over Moosehead Lake. Compared to other B&B's in the US, The Blair Hill Inn ranks among the best.

  • Liked — Location, Rooms & Food
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Chiantiyum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
157
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2007

We have stayed at many B&B's in New England and California over the years and Blair Hill Inn remains our favorite. We've stayed there three times over the past four years. There are spectacular (especially at sunset) views of Moosehead Lake from the front porch, several of the rooms, as well as the side lawns. The inn is elegantly decorated and the food is excellent. While these things are very enjoyable, that's not what keeps us coming back. What we value most is how comfortable we feel when we stay there. Dan & Ruth create such a warm and relaxed atmosphere and make us feel that they're truly glad to see us.
Dan & Ruth put a lot of effort into creating a first class inn, but their personal iterest and concern for their guests seems to come easily to them. I would highly recommend this inn to anyone who wants to experience a lovely inn in New England. Jane & Tom, Newton, MA

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank tpj1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2007

Blair Hill Inn does not simply sit on a hill overlooking Moosehead Lake--it presides over it. Ruth and Dan McLaughlin have poured ten years' of remarkable effort into this breathtaking 1891 property, and every bit of their effort shines. The rooms, the common areas, and especially the warm atmosphere are all first-rate. We toured all 8 rooms, and each was perfectly furnished, colorful, and immaculate. And the breakfasts--well, they were exceptional too. Both Ruth and Dan are accomplished chefs and hosts, and for three days we simply dropped into the lap of luxury. Our only regret was that their highly-rated dinners were not yet being served (too early in June), but we plan to go back to complete the great experience.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NH_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonington, maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2007

When it came time to celebrate that once-in-a-lifetime 50th birthday, I could think of no better spot than the Blair Hill Inn with its once-upon-a-time fairytale quality. The inn is exquisite, gorgeous grand architecture and appointments, and its views of Moosehead Lake spectacular. The innkeepers, Dan and Ruth, provide just the right balance of pampering and privacy, making for an incredibly relaxing stay. The food is fabulous, though dinners can be priced on the high side. Winter, spring, summer, or fall, this inn is special all year round. Can't wait for our next trip.

  • Liked — The sense of luxury and comfort amid spectacular natural beauty.
  • Disliked — The price of the dinner.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank coastaljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2007

My wife and I have stayed at the Blair Hill Inn every summer for the last 5 years. We fly seaplanes, hike and enjoy the beautiful scenery while at Moosehead Lake. But most of all we enjoy the company of Dan and Ruth and their courteous staff. They make us feel like royalty and of course the dinners on Friday and Saturday night are absolutely some of the best we have ever had at any hotel, B and B or restaurant. The breakfasts are superb also and the view before and after the meals of Moosehead Lake and Mt. Kineo from the balconey and dining room are awe inspiring. If you are looking for a heavenly, romantic, warm and friendly place with 5 star accomodations and food, this is the place for you. Dennis and Martha Ann from Chapel Hill

  • Liked — food, service and ambience
  • Disliked — no issues
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank DAC&MAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2005

My fiance and I recently visited the Greenville, Maine area and we stayed at the WONDERFUL The Blair Hill Inn. We are both workaholics, but we have never been so relaxed in our lives as we were on this vacation! The Inn is beautiful and so peaceful, the most perfect setting. The wrap-around porch has the most amazing views of the lake and sunsets like we have never seen before! Ruth and Dan, the owners of this spectacular inn are so welcoming and gracious. As soon as we met them we felt as if we had known them forever! Our room was just perfect, with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on! We felt as if we were sleeping on a cloud. And the best part is waking up in the morning to the most delicious breakfast we have ever tasted...we are still talking about the waffles with the bananas & maple syrup. Our visit was a slice of heaven on earth and we can not wait to return to The Blair Hill Inn. Our stay with Ruth and Dan will be forever remembered. We rate this inn as EXCEPTIONAL, a rare find...a must visit Inn.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2005

My wife and I recently visited the Greenville, Maine area and had a wonderful stay at the Blair Hill Inn. We enjoyed the pleasant atmosphere of the Inn, the spectacular views of the lake from the porch and room, and the warm personalities of the owners. The morning breakfasts were superb. We were lucky enough to be there on the weekend to enjoy an exceptional dinner as well. We would rate this Inn as one of the best in the country!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Energy_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
0.2 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
20.7 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#3 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
22.0 mi away
Inn by the River
Inn by the River
#1 of 1 in The Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
16.2 mi away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Hill Inn

Property: Blair Hill Inn
Address: 351 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Arguably the finest inn of inland Maine (and possibly the entire state)" Travel & Leisure Magazine. Blair Hill Inn is Moosehead Lake's most desirable country hotel, restaurant and spa. Guests from around the world return time and time again to this 10-guest room private retreat in the wilds of Northern Maine to decompress from the hectic demands of life. The stunning lake views, exquisite farm-to-fork cuisine, soothing spa treatments and peaceful atmosphere are provided amid an aura of understated elegance. Participate in as many, or as few, lake and mountain adventures customized for you as you'd like. AAA 4-diamond, Forbes Recommended and a Select Registry Distinguished Inn of America. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hill Hotel Greenville
Blair Hill Inn Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing