We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary Getaway”
Review of Blair Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blair Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Perfect Anniversary Getaway”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My husband and I recently chose the Blair Hill Inn as the place we would celebrate our 30th anniversary. We could not have chosen a more perfect place. From the warm and welcoming hospitality of Ruth and Dan the Innkeepers, to the absolutely spectacular views of Moosehead Lake, the beautifully appointed rooms and exceptional dining it was a wonderful and relaxing getaway. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
165
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
boston,ma
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

The Blair Hill Inn is at a beautiful spot, with a large porch overlooking Moosehead Lake. It has a nice bar inside. Breakfast steak, an omelet, sweet potato pancakes and fruit - very good. The room was large and comfortable with a very nice bathroom. We didn't get to have dinner there which is a shame as it looks interesting. The innkeepers were very accomodating. Of course it is more expensive than some other options in Maine, but worth it !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeye500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The second you set your bags down in the foyer of Blair Hill Inn, you're greeted by a mesmerizing view of Moosehead Lake and the mountains just beyond. We were greeted very shortly after by Ruth McGlaughlin, co-owner of the inn. We barely made it on time for our 6:00 dinner reservation, but weren't made to feel rushed at all.
After dropping off our bags in a lovely room with a bathroom almost big enough to be its own room, we headed down to dinner. We were served a three course dinner featuring seasonal fare--plus an amuse bouche--with my favorite course being a fried squash blossom, picked that day from the inn's garden. There were also several very nice wines offered by the glass, and more choices of full bottles. The dinner and service were excellent.
After dinner, we stepped into their bar, a cozy room featuring dark wood and comfortable seating. It's a great place for intimate conversation or to socialize with other guests.
The room we stayed in was beautifully appointed; we especially appreciated the robes after enjoying the whirlpool tub.

Breakfast was anything but the usual fare. We were served potato pancakes (perfectly seasoned) scrambled eggs, french toast and fresh berry smoothies.
The Greenville area offers many outdoor activities and the McGlaughlins helped us navigate the choices--you don't have to be brave to enjoy a moose safari offered by local outfitters. We enjoyed a concert in the barn on the weekend we stayed, also. It was part of a series that the inn offers.

Blair Hill Inn is a sophisticated, beautiful, cozy inn--that's also quite a fun place--in the wilds of central Maine. I highly recommend it.

p.s. The owners' dogs and mysterious black cat are also fine ambassadors for the inn. We enjoyed their company and affection--when offered.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Ruth & Dan are the perfect innkeepers - always available yet unobtrusive. The Inn is breathtaking with exceptional attention to detail in its restoration. Grab a book or the Scrabble game and sit on the porch. Relax and take in the amazing view of the lake. Our room was spacious, exceptionally clean and quiet.
Breakfast is from 8-9 am with coffee available earlier. Our meals often included a fruit smoothie - a tasty surprise. Linger over breakfast and read the paper. The breakfast room is beautiful in the morning.
Overall we had a wonderful relaxing trip. I can't wait to return- I bet the Fall foliage is gorgeous there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishymoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The website reveals the beauty of the Blair Hill Inn -- both the inn and its surroundings -- but it cannot come close to the experience. It is by far the best inn in which I have ever had the genuine pleasure to spend three days. I could write a review on the light fixtures alone. Yes, it is lovely. Yes, its restaurant is world quality (DO make a reservation for at least one night). Yes, the views in every direction are extraordinary. What surprised me, after the glamorous website, was the homey comfort I felt upon meeting the innkeepers, both of whom were wonderful sources of information, ideas, and directions. We really felt comfortably at home, having the run of the place, night and day. I slept in a bed with luxurious linens, with the breeze off the 64,000-acre lake blowing diaphonous curtains into the room. A down comforter kept me cozy. You couldn't ask for friendlier innkeepers; I left feeling I had new friends. It was my first trip to Maine, and it won't be my last. I want to visit the north coast, but I will be staying at the Blair Inn, regardless. The drive to northern destinations and back will be well worth what awaits me at the end. Seriously. You have found your inn. Look no further.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire30090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

After visiting the Maine coast for the past 27 years, we finally made it inland a couple of years ago and stayed at Blair Hill Inn. Our experience that time ensured that we will make the trip to Greenville every time we travel to Maine again. Blair Hill Inn is a complete joy to stay in.
We returned two weeks ago and were warmly welcomed by Ruth and Dan the wonderful inn keepers. The four legged members of the family also make sure any guest is greeted in fine style.
The Inn's position is breath-taking and our room (6) had a view of the lake that could have kept you in the window seat all day. The newly remodelled bar is elegant and welcoming, again commanding fine views.
All the rooms are tastefully furnished, large and bright, evern our bathroom had a view you would travel a long way to better.
Sadly we have never managed to stay on an evening when we could enjoy the wonderful evening meals reported by other reviewers, but breakfast is excellent and we will make sure on our next visit we sample dinner as well.
You honestly couldn't ask for a more perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDandAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Ruth and Dan have created the most spectacular Inn overlooking Moosehead Lake. Inside and out, the estate is beautiful. Our visit in late May fell during a lovely stretch of warm weather allowing us to walk around the property, open our windows to let in the breeze coming across the lake and take our morning coffee on the front porch. The inn is beautifully appointed - the bar, parlor, and dining areas are invitingly comfortable and well maintained. We were too early in the season to experience dinner at Blair Hill, but if they are anything like the breakfasts - what a treat! We had the most wonderful breakfasts each morning of our stay - french toast with caramelized pineapple and maple syrup, an omlette with fresh herbs from the garden, sausage with the most amazing seasoning/rub... I could go on. The breakfasts were fresh, made with love and filling enough to last us through to dinnertime.
Our hosts were in a word 'perfect.' We felt so welcome at Blair Hill thanks to Ruth and Dan. From the moment we arrived (got a great welcome from Inn puppies Belle, Milo and Matty) when Ruth helped carry in our bags, to our room upgrade, to the suggestions for dinner and hiking, to the complimentary chardonnay for watching the most stunning sunset.
This place really does have it all. It is a perfect mix of luxury and hominess in the middle of the North Woods. What a treat to come back to after a day out on the trails or on the lake! Each time we drove in the driveway, we really felt like we were home. We can't wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klkme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
0.2 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
243 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
2.8 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
42 reviews
20.7 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
64 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Hill Inn

Property: Blair Hill Inn
Address: 351 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Arguably the finest inn of inland Maine (and possibly the entire state)" Travel & Leisure Magazine. Blair Hill Inn is Moosehead Lake's most desirable country hotel, restaurant and spa. Guests from around the world return time and time again to this 10-guest room private retreat in the wilds of Northern Maine to decompress from the hectic demands of life. The stunning lake views, exquisite farm-to-fork cuisine, soothing spa treatments and peaceful atmosphere are provided amid an aura of understated elegance. Participate in as many, or as few, lake and mountain adventures customized for you as you'd like. AAA 4-diamond, Forbes Recommended and a Select Registry Distinguished Inn of America. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hill Hotel Greenville
Blair Hill Inn Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing