We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a peaceful retreat..”
Review of Beaver Cove Camps

Beaver Cove Camps
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaver Cove Camps
A TripAdvisor Member
“a peaceful retreat..”
Reviewed 16 September 2005

For the second year in a row, my family enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Beaver Cove Camps. The camp features a handful of cabins, about 100 years old each, two of which are perched on a bluff overlooking the lake. The sunsets over the lake are beautiful, either from the bluff or from the deck chairs on the dock below. The cabins are rustic and plain, which I found appealing. At night, if you sleep with the windows open, you can hear the call of the loons out on the water. The owners have been extremely accommodating, giving us advice about the best things to do in the Moosehead Lake area, and making us feel like welcome guests. I look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 September 2005

It is so rare to find a beautiful vacation spot that isn't overcrowded and noisy with tourists. Beaver Cove Camps is located on a breathtaking portion of Moosehead Lake, a lake so massive I'm not sure it could ever be crowded with boaters. If you are looking for a lake camp getaway that makes you feel at home (without the chores), you should consider staying with Marilyn and Dave in one of their six cabins. No phones, television, and a 10 p.m. noise curfew contribute to a peace and quiet we have yet to find elsewhere in New England. Each time we visit (5 times so far) we spend a large percentage of our time either at the large inviting dock and shoreline or around the picnic table/firepit area behind our cabin. Each cabin has a guestbook where others have faithfully recorded their adventures and tips (like the best places to see moose), which adds to the homelike atmosphere. Marilyn and Dave are great hosts and doglovers as well (our dog enjoys her vacations there as much as we do!).

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 September 2005

I was not able to stay even one night, yet was charged for 3. There was a miscommunication in the arrival night, so we missed our first nightand were charged. O.K. That's understandable. BUT, upon arrival, my dog ruptured a disc in her back. I had to drive 3 hours to my Vet and never stayed the additional 2 nights. I was charged though. so 3 nights charged, NO nights stayed.

I feel strongly that some flexibility should have been shown. I requested to only be charged for the first missed night, but the owner refused. This is not the way true Mainers would treat someone. I know because I'm from here and have been in the hospitality business for years and know that as owners, Marilyn and Dave could make that call.

It is not worth staying here. Other places are as reasonably priced,nicer accomodations and I'm sure owned by more considerate people who are actually from
Maine.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owners at Beaver Cove Camps, responded to this review, 13 September 2005
We really don't enjoy addressing a dispute such as this in a public forum. However, this reviewer left us no choice but to defend our business in the form of this response.

First of all, they were charged for two nights (plus kayak rentals from a third party) not the three nights she claims. They booked and paid for a two night stay with us. They failed to show on the first night but we found a way to rearrange our cabin assignments so they could arrive the next day for a two night stay without extra charge. In addition to this, we made arrangements for their kayak rentals, a moose safari, and late in the evening we tracked down two vets within a 50 mile radius for an emergency visit to help their 14 year old dog in distress. Instead, they chose to make the three hour trip back to Portland.

The fact is we were unable to rent their cabin to another party for a total of three nights but we did not charge for the third. And, with August being our busiest month, we turned away significant business for the period they had use of that cabin. As a business in a situation like this, we need to follow our clearly stated policies or we go out of business. As caring pet owners ourselves, we are sorry their dog had a medical problem during their stay and were happy to learn he survived. By the way, our policies (which are consistent with the rest of the cabin rental industry) apply to both people born in Maine and those from away -- we don't see the distinction.

We feel we have a great place for a family vacation, fishing trip, or as a base for hunting, snowmobiling, or exploring. We have a great location and are very considerate of our customers needs and interests. We hope you will give us a chance and please understand that, in the lodging business, there is the rare occasion where a customer doesn't feel they were treated right.

Marilyn & Dave Goodwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2005

This was a last minute reservation so this was all that was available. In fairness, I'll say the website pix are accurate. I guess I just didn't look closely enuf. We stayed in Brookie - if it was hot, the place would have been an oven! Walls were raw plywood; plumbing pipes were all exposed; extension cords running everywhere. When the hot water heater (exposed in corner of bathroom) came on, the whole place heated up! Shower was shared with spiders & moths. This cabin is not for the claustrophobic! View out back of lake was somewhat obstructed. The best thing about BCC was their dock. No one sat on it but us...so it was great for sunset cocktails and stargazing. This was more primitive than we enjoy, but if you like to camp, but just want a roof over your head and indoor plumbing, this is the next step up.

Helpful?
2 Thank jjinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Cove, ME
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2003

Beaver Cove Camps is a jewel in the northwoods of Maine. It is one of the few places located on the east side of Moosehead Lake that rent out cabins. The east side of the lake is quieter and feels more remote than cabins on the west side between Greenville Junction and Rockwood. You get spectacular views of sunsets and the mountains across the lake. We loved our time at Beaver Cove Camps and the owners were wonderful and always helpful in making sure our stay was comfortable. We will definitely be back!!

Helpful?
8 Thank BCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
4.5 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
225 reviews
6.8 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
13.5 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#4 of 5 in Rockwood
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
16 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Beaver Cove Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaver Cove Camps

Property: Beaver Cove Camps
Address: PO Box 1233, Greenville, ME 04441-1233
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Greenville
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east shore of beautiful Moosehead Lake, we have been entertaining guests since 1905. Our six housekeeping cabins offer all of the necessities for a comfortable getaway, any time of the year. Each is outfitted with a fully equipped kitchen and full bath with shower. We also have a dock and boat launch facilities for our guests. We are only a 10 minute drive from Greenville which affords access to shops, services and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaver Cove Camps Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing