We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In search of a moose ...”
Review of Beaver Cove Camps

Beaver Cove Camps
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaver Cove Camps
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In search of a moose ...”
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We had a great 3 days at Beaver Cover Camps, really enjoying the 'get away from it all ' feel. The cabin served our purpose well - all we wanted was simple, clean accommodation so that we could relax. We rented canoes from Marilyn and spent a day on Moosehead near Sugar Island - eating our picnic lunch on our 'own' mini 'desert' island.

On the way back South we called in at Bingham to go rafting on the Kennebec (Marilyn can help with the booking). This was with a company called North Country Rivers - I can definitely recommend them and the Kennebec for first time family rafters.

Next time we would possibly take a moose safari, visit the B52, the Katadhin Iron works and drive/hike to the Moxie Falls. We didn't need to go into Greenville having stocked up at the Shop n' Save on the way into town.

  • Liked — Lakeside location
  • Disliked — Still a bit close to civalisation
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cazzer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

When we first arrived, the cabin seemed a little too rustic to us with no TV, bare plywood walls, and it was kind of dark plus the drive in on the dirt road. But, we ended up loving this place. The best part was sitting out on the dock and watching the sunset. The lake is a nice clean glacial lake and would be good for swimming. The lakeside setting could not be more beautiful, plus the location is very quiet. However, the night we were leaving, a group of people with really loud kids arrived, but they quieted down later that night. To see moose, everybody seems to say, drive 10 miles up the main road early in the morning like 5 or 6 or 8 or 9 at night and you are bound to see a moose. We did. And we saw 3 of them. Amazing creatures!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank asdaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2007

I was absolutely amazed by the number of high ratings for this establishment and felt compelled to share my experience. Most of the ratings are somewhat dated and perhaps the property has gone down hill in a short amount of time. I almost can't believe we are talking about the same place.

I have lived in Maine all my life and spend time on Moosehead Lake every summer (thankfully in much nicer places than this). This year we made last minute plans and this was the only place with any availability. I can't explain how horribly disappointed we were when we arrived.

The cabins are built in very close proximity to each other (no privacy whatsoever), with the owner's house placed nearly in the middle of the grounds. The cabins are barely (and I mean barely) fit for hunting camps. The cabin we rented could only be described as filthy with the kind of noxious odor that makes you want to pass out. There was no view of the water and the dock was in serious need of repair. It appears that there has been little to no maintenance done on the property since it was built.

On top of the poor layout and filthy condition of the cabins the rental rate is way over the top. On a week by week basis there are a number of well built and private camps that can be rented for the same price. Do yourself a favor and view their website. Any good advertiser shows their best pictures on their website. I should have known that if the pictures shown were the best this place had to offer I'd be in trouble. The owners were nice, but it's too bad they have not seen the need to reinvest in the property. I can assure you I will never return.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmieMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 July 2006

My Wife and I truly enjoyed ourselves, this camp is very relaxing, with beautiful views, tranquil settings, and lots of activities to bring you back to a time when there were no T.V.s, cell phones, clocks, radios, or anything else that serves to be something that hinders your mental health. This camp is every thing its brochure says it to be, "A restful adventure in the Maine woods. Swimming,Boating, Canoeing, Hiking, Fishing, Tours, Or just staying at the campsite in front of a roaring campfire you get to make. This was the only getaway where we felt we could get involved in just about anything we wanted. I would recommend this place to any one who just wants to " Get away from it all."

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 February 2006

Martin Luther King weekend 2006. We found Marilyn preparing our cabin as we drove in. We were allowed to check in several hours before our scheduled arrival. We had everything we needed, and enjoyed our time there. Easy access to the lake. Thanks for everything! Have already made arrangements for next year, getting a bigger cabin, and bringing more guys for the trip!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 September 2005

For the second year in a row, my family enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Beaver Cove Camps. The camp features a handful of cabins, about 100 years old each, two of which are perched on a bluff overlooking the lake. The sunsets over the lake are beautiful, either from the bluff or from the deck chairs on the dock below. The cabins are rustic and plain, which I found appealing. At night, if you sleep with the windows open, you can hear the call of the loons out on the water. The owners have been extremely accommodating, giving us advice about the best things to do in the Moosehead Lake area, and making us feel like welcome guests. I look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 September 2005

It is so rare to find a beautiful vacation spot that isn't overcrowded and noisy with tourists. Beaver Cove Camps is located on a breathtaking portion of Moosehead Lake, a lake so massive I'm not sure it could ever be crowded with boaters. If you are looking for a lake camp getaway that makes you feel at home (without the chores), you should consider staying with Marilyn and Dave in one of their six cabins. No phones, television, and a 10 p.m. noise curfew contribute to a peace and quiet we have yet to find elsewhere in New England. Each time we visit (5 times so far) we spend a large percentage of our time either at the large inviting dock and shoreline or around the picnic table/firepit area behind our cabin. Each cabin has a guestbook where others have faithfully recorded their adventures and tips (like the best places to see moose), which adds to the homelike atmosphere. Marilyn and Dave are great hosts and doglovers as well (our dog enjoys her vacations there as much as we do!).

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
4.5 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
6.8 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
13.5 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#3 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
25.0 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaver Cove Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaver Cove Camps

Property: Beaver Cove Camps
Address: PO Box 1233, Greenville, ME 04441-1233
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Greenville
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east shore of beautiful Moosehead Lake, we have been entertaining guests since 1905. Our six housekeeping cabins offer all of the necessities for a comfortable getaway, any time of the year. Each is outfitted with a fully equipped kitchen and full bath with shower. We also have a dock and boat launch facilities for our guests. We are only a 10 minute drive from Greenville which affords access to shops, services and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaver Cove Camps Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing