We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AMC Little Lyford Pond Lodge and Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Moose Mountain Inn(Greenville)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kineo View Lodge(Greenville)(Great Value!)
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Lodge at Moosehead Lake(Greenville)
US$326
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Herbert Grand Hotel(Kingfield)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugarloaf Inn(Carrabassett Valley)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
134
6
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
6
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomposting toiletswood stovemaine woodsski weekendgroomed trailsrunning waterfamily styletrail conditionscross country skix countryweather reportamazing mealshut to hutno electricitymountain clubgorman chairbackbath house
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Our family -- two adults and two kids, ages 9 and 12 -- had a fabulous three-day, two-night cross-country skiing trip to Little Lyford and Gorman Chairback. Each day, we skiied six to eight miles over well-groomed trails through beautiful, peaceful (except for the occasional distant snowmobile engine) country. Both lodges provide hot showers and excellent food. Gorman Chairback even provides comfy flannel sheets. So, this was a big step up from other AMC huts or huts in the Alps. Also, AMC snowmobiles carried our bags from lodge to lodge, so only carried day-packs.

Room Tip: At Gorman Chairback, cabin 11 apparently has its own bathroom, but we didn't see it.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franny820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Spend a week or at least a weekend where you may see a moose, red fox at the camp. Kayaks, canoes are at each of the two ponds. See beaver dams and houses to investigate by food or by paddling. Many great walking/hiking trails right from your cabin. The meals can taste no better especially when so far from home. Retiring to your cabin with its gas lanterns and wood stove can be as far away from the city as possible.

Room Tip: All cabins are great.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ptravelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My son, age 12, and I had a fantastic weekend at Little Lyford. We can't wait to go back. Little Lyford was the perfect balance of adventure and relaxation. We were sort of wilderness rookies.The cabins were quaint, clean and comfortable. The wood stove and the gas lamps were nice amenities. The food was fantastic. The bathhouse was extremely clean. The staff was so helpful and friendly. There were multiple trails to hike ranging from an easy stroll to a strenous ascend, and all with gorgeous scenery. We had a great time kayaking the ponds. All the equiptment was in great condition and there was plenty available. Initially I was a bit nervous, being a city girl, but this was a great way to get unplugged. It was so great to have some quality, peaceful time with my son. Neither of us will ever forget the experience of the 12 mi of gravels roads to the entrance. We might even try it in the winter.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Leave the cell phones & computers home along with the day to day cares. Little Lyford is off the grid, way off! It is a beautiful secluded place that will keep you coming back. There are kayaks & canoes along with paddles & life jackets just waiting for you. There are fishing poles available for your use. And of course there are miles of trails to be explored. The cabins are sturdy & quiet. Each cabin has running, drinkable water. The meals are the best, everything made fresh at each meal. Some of the veggies even came out of their garden. The cook & staff are knowledgeable & freindly & happy. They will take the time to answer any questions you may have. It really doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Have been to many AMC facilities over the years and never been disappointed - Little Lyford was no exception! A real get-away-from-it-all place, quiet and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and pleasant, though they did overcook the evening meal twice. The surroundings and serenity made up for it. Hiked a bit on the AT and through Gulf Hagas right into camp. Next time I may hike less and paddle more!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoBo29521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews