We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AMC Little Lyford Pond Lodge and Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Kineo View Lodge(Greenville)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Herbert Grand Hotel(Kingfield)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugarloaf Inn(Carrabassett Valley)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel(Carrabassett Valley)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
134
6
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
6
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomposting toiletswood stovemaine woodsski weekendgroomed trailsrunning waterfamily styletrail conditionscross country skix countryweather reportamazing mealshut to hutno electricitymountain clubgorman chairbackbath house
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We just returned from three nights at Little Lyford and had the best time - skiing, snow shoeing and hiking. We had four days of sun and spring like conditions. The food and staff were excellent and there are many different trails to choose from including the dramatic Gulf Hagus. I wish winter would last a bit longer but I think we are close to the end of it. We will definately schedule a trip for next winter. Don't let the six mile ski in deter you. The trail along the road is very easy (only one big hill at the begining) and the Hedgehog trails looks like lots of fun. Go for it!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

My daughter and I stayed at Little Lyford last summer and had a fantastic time. The staff was warm, and caring with a great sense of humor. They came out to check on us our first day when we went canoeing in the rain, just to make sure we were o.k. The chef used to work on an Alaskan oil rigger so the food never stopped coming and was excellent! We were fortunate enough to be placed in a cabin that had just been completely rebuilt and it was completely tight to keep out the weather, and charming with comfortable beds, gas lights and a cozy wood stove. The atmosphere is very rustic-it's truly in the middle of the Maine wilderness with lots of wildlife to be found right near the camp. Little Lyford is a hidden gem...

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outdoordiva3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

A wonderful winter experience. If you want something more challenging and rustic than a ski resort or X-country touring center but are not equipped for winter camping, this is a great choice. Originally built as a logging camp,the individual cabins have gas lights and wood stoves but no electricity (headlamps are a must). Central lodge serves breakfast and dinner. Huge quantity, simple preparation but high quality. They provide lunch materials for you to make your own to take on the trail. Central bathhouse with showers are heated all the time and an outhouse is nearby if you don't want to walk at night.. Very relaxed, very rustic, very beautiful. Caretaker is gregarious and thoughtful. We skied in (6.5 miles form where you leave the car) and he came out to check on us and offer a lift to anyone fading (we declined). A great place to go to really, truly get away from email, cell phones, TV etc.. When you ski or snow shoe you will get sweaty. be sure you have dry clothes to change into, including long underwear, socks, dry gloves and dry hat. We all packed down coats in our luggage (they compress to a small bundle) and that was nice to slip into while the fleece and wind proof layers dried. We also brought snacks but didn't need them. Cookies, fruit and hot beverages were available 24/7. BYOB if you want a cocktail

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IronOrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

We recently spend three nights at this camp - in fact, the first three of their winter season starting December 26th. It was awesome and we can't wait to do this again.

I cannot speak highly enough of the host caretaker couple that runs the camp for the Appalachian Mountain Club (AMC) who recently purchased it. They were truly outstanding people who went the extra mile including getting the sauna in order for us the first night we arrived even though we were coming in after dark. They were both very friendly and talkative. The food far exceeded my expectations for a "rustic camp" - I came back a couple pounds heavier than I left despite many miles of skiing!

The cabins are very authentic and rustic - don't expect a normal hotel experience. Most are original from the late 1800s and have woodburning stoves that if not careful, will put out so much heat that you'll be sleeping with the door open. We were never cold or uncomfortable anywhere we went in the camp.

There is a common central bathhouse that is brand new - also very clean - and the composting toilets have no smell thanks to a ventilation system that pulls air downward to control odor and drive decomposition. There is plenty of hot water for showers and a really nice wood-fired sauna which we enjoyed daily.

The skiing was ungroomed and generally broken in with a snowmobile at most - just what we were looking for as we don't enjoy large grommed x-c centers as much. Some people were on touring skis - probably OK if you're very experienced; we had NNN-BC skis with moderate shape and metal edges that were probably a little more appropriate and versatile. We felt like we could go anywhere on those. Lots of really nice trails looping around ponds and easy access to Gulf Hagas which was cool to see.

Gear is shuttled in for you which makes for a much easier and fun ski into the camp.

The experience could vary a lot based on weather in terms of the ski in and around the camp - we were lucky to get some nice fresh powder our second day. You can also skip the ski in if things are rough by riding in their snowmobile coach for an extra fee. But I can't imagine any scenario where you wouldn't be warm and comfortable in the cabins/lodge buildings.

Read about it on the web and make sure you know what you're booking as again, it's unique and not a "resort" - if you think this is something you'll like based on the reviews, I'm pretty sure you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbrodsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews