We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TERRIBLE. worst campground i've ever been to.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casey's Spencer Bay Camps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casey's Spencer Bay Camps
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE. worst campground i've ever been to.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Let me begin by saying i am a very polite and reasonable person. I dont get worked up about too much but with this place there were just too many bad things all together not to say something. I have been camping in all sorts of places and campgrounds and caseys campground is BY FAR THE WORST. when my friend and I arrived we were met by a hostile woman at the camp office who made us feel VERY unwelcome from the start. Maybe she doesnt like mid twentysomethings? Maybe she was having a bad day? Im not really sure, but what i do know was that i have NEVER BEEN treated so rudely by someone in the service business. She was short with us as I guess she 'didn't know" that we were coming as visitors to our friends campsite and wasn't sure there would be enough room on the site for our two small tents (my friend had called +4 times 2 weeks before and no one ever answered the phone or called back after she left a message). She then charged us $16/night per person. for us to squat on our friends campsite but the part that really gets me is that there were FOUR VACANT CAMPSITES DIRECTLY ACROSS from our friends campsite that were empty the ENTIRE time we were there. We of course would have taken an available campsite had we known there were some available! Not only that but my friend was told it was a "beach front" site and there was no beach to be had, yes we were on a rocky cove next to the water but there was no place to get any sun and the water was very rocky. but Very very poorly managed. Next we were given a list of "NO's" NO hairdryers NO dishwashing NO firewood bigger than 18" just to name a few. There were no signs everywhere which added to the unwelcoming environment . next the showers are only open 7am-10am and 7pm-10pm and while my friends and I were taking showers not only was there no temp regulation I.e. scalding hot and burning cold but the power went out 4 TIMES while were trying to take 5 min showers and we had to get someone to go get the mgr to turn them back on. NOT COOL. Overall it was a very unwelcoming environment with not nearly enough good stuff to ever make you want to go back(no beach, no place to lay in the sun, terrible showers, rude staff, campsites right on top of each other)I'd rather stay home then go back to this place. I'm sorry but I really wish I had known this stuff before and steered clear of Casey's. There's way friendlier and nicer places to stay in Greenville.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank megsymaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    9
    3
    1
    11
See reviews for
31
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

A group ( 8 to 12 guys) of us who love the fishing on Moosehead and have tolerated Mr Nasty and Mrs. Rude for 8 out of 11 years. We would go there at ice out, rent 2 cabins and 4 boats and motors for 4 days. Spend a ton of money, fish all day come back to the cabins, cook out and have a beer or 2. Which would really make Mr Nasty angry and he would start screeming at us about the beer or if we wanted some firewood he would moan and complain. One night he just barged into our cabin to see what we were doing no knock or nothing. When we went to check out Sarah would try to pad the bill with paying of extra gas for the boats or some other thing. We were never roudy or noisy and always nice to them but that was never retuned. These are 2 who should not be allowed to run anything much less a campground. It's like you pay them to be waterboarded.

Room Tip: Spenser Bay side is the best cabin site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jarhead1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have been going to Casey's with my family for 7 years. We love it. It is very quiet and peaceful. The owners (Sarah & Casey) are great. They are helpful in finding day trips, hikes, and anything else we need. We camp with small children and 3 or 4 dogs. We have always felt welcome at Caseys!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainer0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

As has been said, Casey missed out on finishing school. But looking out at Spencer Bay you know this is a truly special place like no other. I've canvassed all of the Northeast for a comparably scenic semi-wilderness location, but it doesnt exist, not anywhere and not anywhere else on Moosehead. So I deal with bugs, dirt roads, noisy generators and Casey (who really isnt a bad guy at all; he just knows he's got the most gorgeous views in New England).

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ExRIGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We have been going to Casey's since 1999, it has been a great experience every time. Sarah and Casey allways go out of their way to make our vacation relaxing and a blast. It is a very clean and well maintained campground. We have stayed in campgrounds from Key West to here and love Casey's the most. We have met several families over the years and keep in touch with them. The fishing is great, the air is clean and cool, and the store is wonderful. There is alot to do from swimming, trail riding, fishing, boating hiking, sitting around the campfire and relaxing. You can rent boats and canoes, fly fish and go tubing. You can boat all over Moosehead lake, we have taken our boat to Greenville for lunch and dinner. The price to camp here is very reasonable, we go here every year to get away from the rest of the world. Thank you Sarah and Casey, we will see you in August. Don Micken, Stevensville Md.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank DONMICKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We loved this place. Our standard poodle did too! The 6.5 mile graded road into the camp seemed a lot longer coming in than going out. We saw no moose but kept a close eye as the website suggested. We pulled into a beautifully shaded site near the head of a trail leading to a nice pebble beach. About 10 minutes further there is a much larger pebble beach for swimming, Lots of privacy at both places. The campground is old, rustically beautiful, and quiet. The owners, Casey and Sarah were extremely welcoming and kind from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Keep in mind, electricity 6 hours a day only. If you can live with that, you will not be disappointed. We will hopefully get back there again next summer!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank debpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardner
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

I have stayed at Casey's probably 3 or 4 times over the years, and thoroughly enjoyed my visits. As some of these reviews have stated, Casey can be a little testy and rude at times, but Sarah, although not overt, has been helpful and friendly. The guy from New York City who gave such a bad review probably never new anything more than a 8 x 12 cement back yard with a pit bull! If you enjoy nature, boating, fishing, wildlife viewing, nature photography and such, then this is definitely the place for you. If you want rec rooms, wi fi and cable tv, then go to a Yogi Bear Jellystone RV Park. If you want to introduce your kids to something that doesn't plug into a wall or work off of batteries, then bring them along to. Years down the road, and it might end up being an unforgettable experience for them. You cannot beat Casey's for natural scenic beauty. Boat rentals, launch and slips are available, and the grounds are generally kept neat and clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaleSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
11.3 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#3 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
13.6 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Casey's Spencer Bay Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casey's Spencer Bay Camps

Property: Casey's Spencer Bay Camps
Address: 1397 Casey_s Road, Greenville, ME 04441
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Greenville
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Casey`s Spencer Bay Camps Hotel Greenville
Casey's Spencer Bay Camps Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing