We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRIME RIB”
Review of Rod-N-Reel Cafe

Rod-N-Reel Cafe
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Two story white building located in Downtown Greenville, across the street from beautiful Moosehead Lake. Small family owned and operated restaurant. Featuring a large menu, full bar, craft beer and a large wine menu. We specialize in fresh baked and fried seafood, Ray's Famous Prime Rib, home made spaghetti sauce, Vegan Spaghetti sauce, hand cut steaks, chicken fingers, soups, chowder, crispy salads and desserts. We have a lighter side menu for people with smaller appetites and a children's menu for kids 10 and under.
West Bowdoin, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“PRIME RIB”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Amazing staff, and dedicated owners work together to give you some great meals at a fair price. Our favorite followed by the salmon.would be the Prime Rib. I

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Curlybrowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    52
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Local flavor”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

While staying in Greenville, we visited R & R and enjoyed it. It has a very local flavor with good food and friendly service. It isn't haut cuisine, it's Maine family oriented food. The owner visited the table and was very friendly. Price is right.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEHDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK but not exceptional”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I suppose with a name like Rod-N-Reel cafe I should have gone for the fish. Unfortunately I chose a chicken and pasta dish which was a bit bland. I can't remember what I had for either my starter or dessert so they couldn't have been that great.

The service was a bit like the food adequate but not memorable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Home Cooked Meals at a very good price”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We had lunch twice this week at the Rod-N-Reel. Both times the lunch and the service were great. This is a nice cheery bright restaurant where you can get a drink without walking into a dark room. The owners were very friendly and I would highly recommend having lunch or dinner there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LKSnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenfield
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've had dinner at the Rod and Reel several times now when visiting Greenville. Every meal has been delicious and well prepared. Staff is friendly and well versed with knowledge of the offerings. Meals are served in a timely fashion. We'll go back again and again as long as it stays as predictable as it is now!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenfieldVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rod-N-Reel Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rod-N-Reel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing