We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bets place in Moosehead Lake to stay!”
Review of Kineo View Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kineo View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2011

What makes this place special are the hosts, George and Diane. There is no local question they can't answer and no request that is inconvenient. They love what they do and it shows!
The views are marvelous, the rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is just right. We have stayed here a few times and would not think of staying any where else. Great for kids or couples too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GoldenRetriever60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

We spent two nights at Kineo View Motor Lodge and had a really enjoyable stay. Our stay in the Moosehead Lake area was enhanced greatly by the sage advice passed on by our host, George. All questions we had for things to do with the children were answered with very appropriate and considered advice.

All of the rooms have excellent views over the lake and surrounding hills and forests and the room was well maintained and very clean. Breakfast was in a friendly room with lots of chatting amongst the guests.

The motel is a couple of miles out of town in an elevated position which reduces the lake views but compensates for this will lovely sunsets and sunrises and is also very quiet. This last bit was welcome as the Greenville's pubs were jumping on the Friday night.

The highlight for us was the Mt Kineo climb which offers absolutely stunning views after a short ferry ride and 1 hour walk.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in the Overlook suite which had a king size bed and a double bed in a separate bedroom. Very clean and well kept place. The view was wonderful and we enjoyed sitting on our own deck and watching the sunset. The owners were very accommodating. We were even able to use the BBQ for our dinner. Basic continental breakfast items.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adaptabletourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

A friend and myself recently went to Moosehead Lake in Maine to photograph wildlife and we stayed at the Kineo View Motor Lodge and loved it. It is a small family run lodge with very clean rooms. Our room had a micro wave, refrige, cable TV, free WiFi, and a private balcony with a view of Moosehead Lake and the surrounding mountains that will take your breath away. It is off the main road so it is very quiet and very Maine. Service was great and price was fantastic. We will stay there the next trip for sure.

Room Tip: not a bad room in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyMattuchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We were blown away by the view. They are very pet friendly and our room was very clean, spaceous and had comfortable beds. Being up off the road made for a peaceful stay.

We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikermom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Four of us rode bikes & stayed 1 night. We stayed in the family suite with 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms; more than enough room. Room was simple yet clean. Price was reasonable & the view was great. Owners were extremely friendly and there is a great gift shop. There is a short ride to town but this location is quiet and nice. If riding bikes the driveway is dirt but parking on tar is available. We are planning to make the same trip this summer & will stay here again. Check this place out!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adamnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

While staying in the Moosehead Lake area, we overnighted at this motor lodge. The owner/manager was very friendly at check-in and gave us a good recommendation for an evening meal in Greenville - Flatlanders (go there - the chicken is excellent). The room itself had a nice little balcony (ours had some old beer cans on it). The bed was fine - nothing too fancy. it had wi-fi (on and off) which was a surprise. It is a 5-10 minute drive back to Greenville - there is nothing at the hotel itself. I thought it was a fair value. The clientele tended towards the hunting crowd that were a bit rowdy and noisy at night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europhile62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
4.5 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
77 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
257 reviews
2.9 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kineo View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kineo View Lodge

Address: 50 Overlook Drive, P.O. Box 514, Route 15, Greenville, ME 04441
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have their own private deck, air conditioner and thermostat. Every room is equipped with refrigerator, microwave, WiFi, flat screen tv, coffee maker, iron & ironing board, and private bathroom. Daily housekeeping service is included in room rate. Free continental breakfast is available Memorial weekend through Columbus Day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kineo View Lodge Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing